For half-term breakfasts and snacks, an 8 x 1L almond-drink pack makes sense if your household will use the cartons and follow each carton’s storage instructions after opening; otherwise, consider a single carton. If a child aged 1 or over regularly drinks it instead of dairy, NHS guidance supports choosing an unsweetened, calcium-fortified alternative, while Kingston and Richmond NHS Foundation Trust advises checking iodine when dairy is excluded. NHS guidance says almond drink must not replace breast milk or first infant formula for a baby under 12 months; also check for almond allergy before buying.
Who is this for?
Families planning breakfasts and snacks
If almond drink goes into cereal, smoothies, porridge or baking, compare the number of cartons with what your household is likely to use during half term. Check the storage instructions for each carton after opening.
Dairy-free households with children aged 1 or over
When almond drink regularly replaces dairy for a child, fortification matters more than pack size alone. NHS guidance covers unsweetened, calcium-fortified alternatives from age 1; Kingston and Richmond NHS Foundation Trust also highlights iodine where dairy is excluded.
Households comparing ingredients
A short ingredient list and nutrient fortification are separate things to check. Plenish Drinks lists water, organic almonds and salt for its multipack; read the current label if calcium or iodine is important to your choice.
What should you check?
Start with the quantity you will use, then check storage, age guidance and the label for everyone who may drink it.
| Priority |
What to check |
Your needs |
| Pack size |
Compare carton count and volume. Alpro’s long-life pack and Plenish Drinks’ multipack are each listed as 8 x 1L; M&S lists a 1L carton. |
I want enough for half-term breakfasts without buying more cartons than we are likely to use. |
| Opened-carton storage |
Follow the instructions on the particular carton. M&S says to refrigerate its almond drink at 0°C to +5°C after opening and use it within three days. |
We use almond drink slowly, so the time allowed after opening may matter more than the size of the multipack. |
| Fortification |
For a child aged 1 or over using it instead of dairy, check that the drink is unsweetened and calcium-fortified. Kingston and Richmond NHS Foundation Trust also advises checking iodine when dairy is excluded; compare the current labels rather than assuming all almond drinks contain it. |
If almond drink regularly takes the place of dairy for my child, I need to check calcium and iodine, not just whether the carton says dairy-free. |
| Age guidance |
NHS guidance permits unsweetened, calcium-fortified almond drinks from age 1, but says first infant formula is the only suitable alternative to breast milk during the first 12 months. Rude Health states that its Almond Drink is for adults and children from age 5 onwards. |
I need to check the guidance for the particular child and product, especially if younger children will drink it. |
| Allergens |
The Food Standards Agency classifies almonds as tree nuts. Read the current product’s ingredients and allergen information; a dairy-free description does not address almond allergy. |
Someone in our household has an almond or relevant tree-nut allergy, so an almond drink is not an appropriate choice for them. |
Common buying mistakes
-
Assuming every dairy-free drink can replace dairy for a child
A drink used occasionally in a recipe plays a different role from one a child drinks regularly instead of dairy. NHS guidance addresses calcium fortification from age 1, while Kingston and Richmond NHS Foundation Trust highlights both calcium and iodine when a child cannot consume dairy.
Check whether the drink is unsweetened and fortified, and consider the child’s wider diet with a healthcare professional if dairy exclusion is medically necessary.
-
Buying eight cartons without checking opened-carton instructions
Long-life pack size does not tell you how long an opened carton can be kept. For its own 1L almond drink, M&S specifies refrigeration at 0°C to +5°C and use within three days of opening.
Compare the pack with how quickly your household finishes each opened carton, and follow the instructions on the product you buy.
-
Reading dairy-free as allergy-safe
The Food Standards Agency classifies almonds as tree nuts. Removing dairy does not remove the almond ingredient or make an almond drink suitable for someone allergic to it.
Do not choose almond drink for someone with an almond allergy; check the current label for the product’s full allergen information.
-
Equating a short ingredient list with fortification
Plenish Drinks describes its multipack as water, organic almonds and salt. That description does not establish whether its current pack meets a household’s calcium or iodine requirements; M&S, by contrast, explicitly lists both nutrients for its own almond drink.
If fortification matters to your choice, check the ingredient and nutrition labels rather than deciding by ingredient-list length.
Relevant brand options
These examples show different pack formats and label details; check the particular product rather than applying one drink’s features to a whole brand.
Alpro
Joybuy lists Alpro Almond No Sugars Long Life Drink as an 8 x 1L pack for households using several cartons.
- The Joybuy listing names calcium and vitamins B2, B12 and D2 among its ingredients.
- Check the current label for iodine and the calcium amount if the drink will regularly replace dairy for a child.
Plenish
Plenish Drinks describes an 8 x 1L organic almond-drink multipack with water, organic almonds and salt.
- The stated pack format offers eight separate 1L cartons.
- The stated ingredient description does not specify calcium or iodine; check the current pack if fortification matters.
M&S
M&S lists a 1L unsweetened almond drink for households buying a single carton.
- M&S lists added calcium, iodine and vitamins D and B12.
- M&S instructs customers to refrigerate it at 0°C to +5°C after opening and consume it within three days.
Rude Health
Rude Health’s Almond Drink is an option to assess for adults and older children rather than an established family multipack.
- The manufacturer states that its Almond Drink is suitable as part of a balanced diet for adults and children from age 5.
- Do not extend that product-specific age statement to younger children.
Almond drinks on Joybuy
These Alpro options include an 8 x 1L long-life pack and another listing labelled 1L whose carton count needs checking before you treat it as a multipack.
No image available
Alpro Almond No Sugars Long Life Drink 8 x 1L
The eight 1L cartons offer a pack format for households using almond drink across several breakfasts or snacks. Joybuy lists calcium and vitamins B2, B12 and D2; check the current label for iodine and the calcium amount if it will regularly replace dairy for a child, and follow its opened-carton storage instructions.
View on Joybuy
No image available
6 Alpro Almond Drink 1L
For half-term breakfasts, confirm the quantity before buying: the title begins with “6” and specifies 1L, but does not establish how many cartons are included. Check the current ingredient and nutrition labels if sugar content or fortification matters to your choice.
View on Joybuy
Frequently asked questions
Can almond drink replace a baby’s main milk drink?
No, not during the first 12 months. NHS guidance says first infant formula is the only suitable alternative to breast milk during that period; do not substitute almond drink for it.
What matters if a child regularly drinks almond milk instead of dairy?
For a child aged 1 or over, NHS guidance covers unsweetened, calcium-fortified almond drinks. Kingston and Richmond NHS Foundation Trust advises checking iodine as well as calcium when a child cannot consume dairy; read the particular product’s label.
Is almond milk suitable for someone with an almond allergy?
No. The Food Standards Agency classifies almonds as tree nuts. Do not choose an almond drink for someone allergic to almonds, and read current labels for other allergen information.
How long can I keep an opened carton?
Follow that carton’s instructions rather than applying one brand’s timeframe to every drink. M&S, for example, instructs customers to refrigerate its almond drink at 0°C to +5°C after opening and consume it within three days.
Does a short organic ingredient list tell me whether the drink is fortified?
No. Plenish Drinks lists water, organic almonds and salt for its 8 x 1L multipack, but that description does not specify calcium or iodine. Check the current ingredient and nutrition labels when fortification matters.