For a dairy-free almond drink in a keto-oriented shop, compare total carbohydrate on the exact carton: Alpro UK lists 0 g per 100 ml for Roasted Almond No Sugars, Sainsbury’s lists less than 0.5 g per 100 ml for its Unsweetened Almond Drink, and M&S lists 0.8 g per 100 g for its own version. The M&S figure uses a different measurement basis, so do not treat these as a precise three-way ranking; check your portion, nut-allergy warnings and, if coffee foam matters, the barista drink’s own nutrition panel.
Who is this choice for?
Dairy-free shoppers watching carbohydrate intake
If you are choosing an almond drink for a keto-oriented diet, compare total carbohydrate on the carton and work from the amount you actually pour. An “unsweetened” name alone cannot tell you whether a serving fits your plan.
Coffee drinkers
If foam matters in a latte or cappuccino, a barista-labelled drink is worth considering. Check that variant’s nutrition panel separately rather than assuming it matches a standard unsweetened drink.
Shoppers looking for a fortified dairy alternative
If you want an almond drink listing calcium, iodine or selected vitamins, check the individual carton. Fortification does not settle its carbohydrate content or whether its allergen information suits you.
What matters when choosing an almond drink?
Start with the nutrition and allergen information for the exact drink, then consider how you will use and store it.
| Priority | What to check | Your needs |
| Total carbohydrate |
Read total carbohydrate, not just sugars. Compare figures with the same per 100 ml or per 100 g basis, then account for the amount poured. |
I want to know how much carbohydrate my usual serving adds. Alpro UK lists 0 g per 100 ml for Roasted Almond No Sugars; Sainsbury’s lists less than 0.5 g per 100 ml for its Unsweetened Almond Drink. M&S lists 0.8 g per 100 g for its version, which is a different basis. |
| Allergens |
Read the current pack for almond ingredients and any peanut or other-nut warning. Check each variant rather than relying on its dairy-free description. |
For an almond, peanut or other-nut allergy, I need the warning for the particular drink. M&S says its Unsweetened Almond Drink is not suitable for nut or peanut allergy; Sainsbury’s warns that its product is not suitable for customers allergic to other nuts because of manufacturing methods. |
| Fortification |
Look for the particular nutrients listed on the carton, alongside its carbohydrate, protein and fat figures. Do not assume formulations match across brands. |
If I am using almond drink regularly instead of dairy milk, I may want to compare calcium, iodine and vitamin declarations. The Alpro, Sainsbury’s and M&S products described here list fortification, but I still need to check the exact variant. |
| Coffee use |
Check whether the product is described as foamable and read its own nutrition panel. Follow any instructions for adding it to hot drinks. |
Foam matters more to me in coffee than it does in cereal. Plenish describes Barista Almond M*lk as foamable; for its Unsweetened Long Life Almond Drink, Sainsbury’s advises letting water cool slightly before adding the drink to reduce separation. |
| Storage and pack size |
Check whether the carton is chilled or long-life, the pack quantity and the instructions after opening. |
I want a format I can use before the opened cartons need finishing. I would check storage instructions for the specific pack rather than assume every almond drink has the same timescale. |
Mistakes to avoid
-
Taking “dairy-free” or “unsweetened” as a carbohydrate figure
Those descriptions do not state the total carbohydrate in your serving. The compared products also use different measurement bases on their labels.
Read the total carbohydrate line and calculate from the amount you pour. Keep per 100 g and per 100 ml figures distinct rather than treating them as identical.
-
Overlooking nut warnings on a dairy-free carton
Almond drink contains almond, while some individual products also carry peanut or other-nut suitability warnings.
Check the current pack’s ingredients and allergen statements. If an allergy is relevant, do not use the dairy-free claim as a substitute for that check.
-
Assuming a barista drink matches a standard variant
A drink chosen for foam should not be assumed to have the same carbohydrate content as another almond drink from that brand.
Choose the coffee format for its intended use, then read the nutrition panel for that exact carton if carbohydrate intake matters.
-
Using a drink label to plan treatment for type 1 diabetes
A carton’s carbohydrate figure cannot address the clinical considerations involved in a major dietary change.
If you have type 1 diabetes, discuss a low- or very-low-carbohydrate diet with your diabetes care team rather than using an almond-drink choice to manage treatment.
Relevant almond drink brands
Alpro
Alpro UK lists Roasted Almond No Sugars as a dairy-free almond drink with 0 g carbohydrate and 0 g sugars per 100 ml.
- The manufacturer lists calcium, iodine and vitamins D2, B12 and E for this product.
- It contains almond as well as stabilisers and lecithins; it is not an ingredient-minimal option or suitable for an almond allergy.
Rude Health
Rude Health lists separate Pure Almond and No Sugars Organic Almond Drink products with different ingredient lists.
- The manufacturer lists water and 5% organic Italian almonds for Pure Almond; its No Sugars Organic variant lists spring water, 3% organic almonds, carob seed flour and sea salt.
- The No Sugars Organic product may contain traces of other nuts. Check the chosen carton’s carbohydrate figure before fitting either variant into a strict plan.
Plenish
Plenish offers an everyday Almond M*lk and a separate Barista Almond M*lk intended for coffee.
- Plenish lists almonds, spring water and salt for the everyday drink and describes the Barista version as foamable.
- A no-added-sugar description does not establish either variant’s total carbohydrate figure; check the exact carton if that figure governs your choice.
Tesco
Tesco lists an own-label Unsweetened Almond Drink 1L among its almond drinks.
- Tesco lists added calcium, iodine, vitamins E, B12 and D2, and riboflavin for this drink.
- Check the carton’s total carbohydrate and allergen information before deciding whether this particular drink fits your needs.
Sainsbury’s
Sainsbury’s lists chilled and long-life Unsweetened Almond Drinks, each with less than 0.5 g carbohydrate per 100 ml.
- The product information lists calcium, iodine, vitamin D and vitamin B12 for the compared drinks.
- Sainsbury’s warns that the product is not suitable for customers allergic to other nuts because of manufacturing methods. Check the current label for the variant you choose.
M&S
M&S lists an Unsweetened Almond Drink with 0.8 g carbohydrate and 0.2 g sugars per 100 g.
- Its listing includes calcium, iodine, vitamin D and vitamin B12.
- M&S says this drink is not suitable for nut or peanut allergy. Its per 100 g figure should not be presented as a per 100 ml value.
Joybuy almond drink options
This long-life Alpro multipack is an option to consider if you use dairy-free almond drink regularly; check the exact carton’s carbohydrate and allergen information for your intended servings.
No image available
Alpro Almond No Sugars Long Life Drink, 8 × 1L
For regular use in drinks or cereal, consider whether eight 1L cartons suit the amount you expect to use. Check this exact variant’s nutrition panel for total carbohydrate per serving; it is a different named product from Alpro Roasted Almond No Sugars discussed above.
View on Joybuy
Almond drink questions answered
Is every dairy-free almond drink suitable for a keto-oriented diet?
No. Dairy-free does not specify total carbohydrate. Alpro UK lists 0 g per 100 ml for Roasted Almond No Sugars, Sainsbury’s lists less than 0.5 g per 100 ml for its Unsweetened Almond Drink, and M&S lists 0.8 g per 100 g for its version. Check the exact carton and the amount you use, keeping those measurement bases distinct.
Does “no added sugar” mean zero carbohydrate?
No. It does not state the product’s total carbohydrate content. Read the carbohydrate line on the nutrition panel rather than using “no added sugar” as a substitute for a figure.
What if I have a nut or peanut allergy?
An almond drink contains almond, and warnings about other nuts or peanuts vary by product. M&S says its Unsweetened Almond Drink is not suitable for nut or peanut allergy; Sainsbury’s warns about other-nut allergy for its product because of manufacturing methods. Check the current pack and seek appropriate clinical advice if you are unsure what is safe for you.
Which almond drink should I consider for coffee?
If foam is the priority, a barista-labelled drink is a relevant starting point: Plenish describes its Barista Almond M*lk as foamable. Check that product’s own nutrition panel if carbohydrate matters. For Sainsbury’s Unsweetened Long Life Almond Drink, the retailer advises letting water cool slightly before adding the drink to reduce separation.
Can an almond-drink choice guide a ketogenic diet for type 1 diabetes?
No. Selecting a drink by its carbohydrate label does not address treatment decisions. University Hospitals Sussex NHS Foundation Trust’s patient guidance discusses clinical considerations for low- and very-low-carbohydrate diets in type 1 diabetes; speak with your diabetes care team before making a major dietary change.