Who is choosing?

Hosts serving dark-chocolate shortbread

If the biscuits are going straight onto a plate, decide whether your guests would prefer chocolate chips, chunks or a coating. Those formats do not tell you the chocolate’s cocoa-solids percentage.

Shoppers checking cocoa content

Look for a cocoa-solids declaration for the chocolate itself. The amount of chocolate in a biscuit answers a different question.

Hosts accommodating dietary needs

Compare butter-based and vegan-labelled recipes, then check each product’s ingredients and precautionary allergen warnings against your guests’ requirements.

What matters when choosing?

Decide whether you want a precombined biscuit or control over the chocolate you serve alongside it. Then compare the declarations on the specific products.

Dark-chocolate shortbread

Choose when: You want ready-to-serve shortbread with dark-chocolate chips, chunks or a coating.

Bear in mind: A dark-chocolate description alone does not establish a particular cocoa-solids percentage.

Mixed-chocolate shortbread

Choose when: Guests would prefer milk chocolate alongside dark chocolate.

Bear in mind: Waitrose lists more milk-chocolate than dark-chocolate chunks in its four-piece bakery product.

Plain shortbread with separate chocolate

Choose when: You want to select chocolate with its own stated cocoa-solids percentage.

Bear in mind: You need to buy and check two products; the chocolate’s declaration does not describe the shortbread.

PriorityWhat to checkYour needs
Cocoa declaration Check the cocoa-solids percentage of the chocolate and, separately, the chocolate’s share of the biscuit. Marks & Spencer and Sainsbury’s each list 19% dark-chocolate chunks with 39% minimum cocoa solids in that chocolate. I want to know how dark the chocolate itself is, rather than relying on the word “dark” or the biscuit’s chocolate percentage.
Serving format Compare chips, chunks, a coating and mixed-chocolate pieces. Check the piece count when planning what to serve: Walker’s lists nine biscuits in its chocolate-chip box, while Waitrose lists four in its mixed-chocolate bakery pack. For a shared plate, I’d choose the format my guests prefer and check how many biscuits are in the pack.
Ingredients and allergens Read the exact product’s ingredients and precautionary warnings. Farmhouse Biscuits labels its half-coated shortbread suitable for vegans but warns that it may contain milk, egg and tree nuts. Some guests need an ingredient check, and a vegan label alone would not answer an allergy question.
Separate chocolate If a particular cocoa declaration is important, compare separately labelled chocolate. Waitrose & Partners lists 70% minimum cocoa solids for a Lindt Excellence dark chocolate bar; that figure applies to the bar, not to any shortbread. I’d rather serve plain shortbread with chocolate chosen separately than assume a ready-made biscuit meets a cocoa preference.

What is easy to misread?

  • Confusing chocolate quantity with cocoa content

    “19% dark-chocolate chunks” describes how much of the biscuit is chocolate, not the cocoa-solids percentage of those chunks. Marks & Spencer and Sainsbury’s separately state 39% minimum cocoa solids for the chocolate in their chunk rounds.

    Read both declarations where they are given. If you need a particular cocoa-solids declaration, check chocolate sold separately as well.

  • Treating “vegan” as an allergen-free claim

    Farmhouse Biscuits labels its half-coated shortbread suitable for vegans while warning that it may contain milk, egg and tree nuts.

    For a guest with an allergy, use the ingredients and precautionary information on the exact product you buy.

  • Assuming a mixed-chocolate biscuit is mainly dark

    Waitrose lists 15% milk-chocolate chunks and 7% dark-chocolate chunks in its four-piece bakery shortbread. Tesco describes its triple-chocolate shortbread as containing white, milk and dark chocolate.

    Check which chocolate types are present and their stated amounts before choosing a mixed-chocolate pack.

Which brand products illustrate the options?

These examples describe specific products, not every shortbread made by each brand.

Walker’s

A boxed chocolate-chip shortbread option.

  • Walker’s lists nine biscuits and 10% dark-chocolate chips in its Chocolate Chip Shortbread Box.
  • Check the pack for wheat, milk, soya and its precautionary nut warning. The listed chip percentage does not state the chips’ cocoa-solids content.

Dean’s

Chocolate-chip shortbread rounds containing butter and vegetable margarine.

  • Dean’s lists 15% mini chocolate chips in its Choc Chip Shortbread Rounds.
  • The listing does not identify those chips as dark chocolate or give a cocoa-solids percentage.

M&S

All-butter shortbread rounds with Belgian dark-chocolate chunks.

  • Marks & Spencer lists 19% dark-chocolate chunks and 39% minimum cocoa solids in the chocolate.
  • M&S marks this product unsuitable for people with nut or peanut allergies and advises checking current pack information.

Waitrose

Four-piece bakery shortbread with both milk- and dark-chocolate chunks.

  • Waitrose lists 15% milk-chocolate chunks and 7% dark-chocolate chunks.
  • It is a mixed-chocolate choice, not a biscuit containing only dark chocolate.

Sainsbury’s

Own-label shortbread rounds offered in dark-chocolate chip and chunk versions.

  • Sainsbury’s lists 14% dark chips in one product and 19% dark chunks in another; each listing states 39% minimum cocoa solids for its chocolate.
  • The chip and chunk figures belong to different products, so check which pack you are buying.

Tesco

Finest bakery shortbread described as combining white, milk and dark chocolate.

  • The Tesco listing identifies all three chocolate types in its four-piece product.
  • Check current availability and the product’s ingredient information before relying on it for a gathering or an allergy decision.

Farmhouse Biscuits

Half-coated dark-chocolate shortbread made with vegetable oils and labelled suitable for vegans.

  • Farmhouse Biscuits lists 15% dark chocolate in this product.
  • It does not state a cocoa-solids percentage and warns that the biscuits may contain egg, milk and tree nuts.

Joybuy biscuit options

These are dark-chocolate biscuit alternatives for the gathering, not shortbread. Check the biscuit type before choosing one in place of shortbread.

McVitie’s Dark Chocolate Digestives Twin Pack, 2 x 266g

McVitie’s Dark Chocolate Digestives Twin Pack, 2 x 266g

A dark-chocolate biscuit option if a digestive is acceptable instead of shortbread. The twin pack contains 2 x 266g; check the exact pack’s ingredients and allergen information before serving.

View on Joybuy
Nairns Gluten Free Biscuit Breaks, Chunky Oats, Dark and Coconut 160g

Nairns Gluten Free Biscuit Breaks, Chunky Oats, Dark & Coconut 160g

A gluten-free oat-biscuit option if shortbread is not essential. The pack is 160g; check its current ingredients and precautionary allergen information for your guests.

View on Joybuy

Common questions

Does “dark chocolate” shortbread have a particular cocoa content?

No particular cocoa-solids percentage follows from the word “dark”. Marks & Spencer and Sainsbury’s state 39% minimum cocoa solids for the chocolate in their cited chunk rounds; check the chocolate declaration on any other product you are considering.

Is vegan-labelled dark-chocolate shortbread suitable for someone with a milk allergy?

Do not assume so from the vegan label. Farmhouse Biscuits labels its half-coated shortbread suitable for vegans but warns that it may contain milk; check the exact pack and the guest’s requirements before serving it.

How should I keep shortbread after opening the pack?

Marks & Spencer and Sainsbury’s advise keeping their cited shortbread in a cool, dry place and using an airtight container after opening. Follow the storage instructions and best-before date on the pack you buy.

Where can I check allergens for bakery shortbread?

Ask for the allergen information provided for the specific bakery item before buying it. The Food Standards Agency says food businesses provide allergen information for both prepacked and non-prepacked food; for a prepacked biscuit, also read the exact pack’s ingredients and warnings.