Who is each format for?

Decide whether your mid-morning break calls for a ready-to-drink coffee, an oat-based latte or a drink chosen chiefly for its decaffeinated formulation.

Shoppers looking for a bold-tasting coffee

If a lightly flavoured latte is not what you want with a snack, Jimmy's describes its Strong can as its strongest iced coffee. M&S describes its Classic and Oat cold-brew lattes as double-shot drinks. Neither description tells you how their caffeine amounts compare.

Dairy-free latte buyers

M&S describes its Oat Latte Cold Brew Coffee as dairy-free and made with a double shot of espresso. Check the exact variant's allergen statement: M&S says this oat latte is not suitable for coeliacs or people with a wheat allergy.

People keeping track of caffeine

If avoiding caffeine matters more than choosing a caffeinated strong coffee, Sainsbury's lists Nolo Decaf Classic Cold Brew Oat Latte as a decaffeinated option. For a caffeinated drink, use the current pack's serving information rather than its flavour description to assess your intake.

What matters when choosing?

Start with the drink format and ingredients you want, then compare caffeine and nutrition information on the basis shown on each label.

PriorityWhat to checkYour needs
Coffee character Check whether “strong” is a claim about the named product or whether a latte is described as double-shot. Check whether the drink is ready to serve or must be diluted. I want a pronounced coffee flavour with my snack. If I cannot mix a drink during my break, a ready-to-drink can suits that routine better than a concentrate.
Milk and oats Read the ingredients and allergen statement for the exact variant. Jimmy's Strong and M&S Classic contain milk; M&S says its dairy-free Oat Latte is unsuitable for coeliacs and people with a wheat allergy. A milk latte works for me, or I need a dairy-free base. If wheat or gluten suitability matters, I need more than the word “oat” on the front of the can.
Sugars and serving size Read the sugars entry and its stated basis, such as per 100 ml, per 100 g or per serving. Check the prepared-drink directions for a concentrate; “no added sugar” does not mean zero sugars. When coffee accompanies a snack, I want to compare the drink and portion I would actually have, without treating unlike label measurements as interchangeable.
Caffeine Look for a numerical amount and its serving basis on the current pack. A Joybuy product listing states 57 mg per 100 ml for Jimmy's Strong, but Jimmy's own product page does not give that figure; confirm the pack before using it to track intake. If I am limiting caffeine, a flavour claim or “double shot” is not enough to calculate my intake. If avoiding it is the priority, I would look at a decaffeinated option instead.

Common buying mistakes

  • Reading “extra-strong” as a caffeine measurement

    A strength description can refer to flavour or a brand's positioning. It does not give a comparable amount of caffeine per drink.

    Check the numerical caffeine declaration and serving size on the current pack before using the drink to track intake.

  • Assuming every dairy-free oat latte meets gluten-related needs

    M&S explicitly says its Oat Latte Cold Brew Coffee is not suitable for coeliacs or people with a wheat allergy.

    Read the allergen statement for the exact drink rather than judging suitability from its dairy-free description.

  • Assuming cold brew is unsweetened

    Cold-brew drinks have different formulations. Sainsbury's lists Nolo's decaffeinated oat latte as having no added sugar or sweeteners, which is not the same as a zero-sugars declaration.

    Compare the sugars entry on each nutrition label using the stated per-100 g, per-100 ml or serving basis.

Brands and product lines to compare

These examples cover different drink formats and requirements; a brand name alone does not establish the strength or suitability of a particular variant.

Jimmy's Iced Coffee

Jimmy's calls its 250 ml Strong SlimCan its strongest iced coffee; Waitrose lists the Strong drink as a milk-based product.

  • A named ready-to-drink variant with an explicit brand strength claim.
  • It contains semi-skimmed milk and demerara sugar. The brand's strength claim is not a numerical caffeine declaration.

M&S

M&S describes its Classic Latte and Oat Latte cold-brew coffees as double-shot drinks, with dairy and dairy-free bases respectively.

  • The two named variants offer a choice between semi-skimmed milk and an oat-based latte.
  • M&S says the Oat Latte is not suitable for coeliacs or people with a wheat allergy. “Double shot” does not specify its caffeine amount.

Nolo

Sainsbury's lists Nolo Decaf Classic Cold Brew Oat Latte as a 250 ml decaffeinated, dairy-free drink.

  • Its listed decaffeinated formulation addresses a different requirement from a caffeinated strong coffee.
  • It contains oat and is not the choice for someone specifically seeking a caffeinated drink.

Sandows

Sandows London says it makes cold brew in its London brewery.

  • A specialist cold-brew brand to consider when comparing named products.
  • Check the particular variant's ingredients, serving format and caffeine declaration before choosing it for a strong mid-morning coffee.

Joybuy cold-brew options

This portioned cold-brew concentrate suits a break where you can add water and mix a drink; it is a different format from the ready-to-drink lattes discussed above.

J.ZAO Extra-Strong Americano Cold Brew Coffee, ten 25 ml pouches

J.ZAO Extra-Strong Americano Cold Brew Coffee, 10 × 25 ml pouches

For a mid-morning break when water and mixing are available, this is a portioned concentrate, not a ready-to-drink can. The product directions say to mix one 25 ml pouch with about 200 ml of cold water; changing the amount of water changes the prepared drink's strength. If caffeine or energy information affects your choice, check the current pack's declarations before comparing servings.

View on Joybuy

Questions about strong cold brew

Does “strong” tell me how much caffeine is in a cold brew?

No. Jimmy's calls its Strong SlimCan its strongest iced coffee, but that wording does not specify a caffeine amount. A Joybuy listing states 57 mg per 100 ml for that product; check the current pack before relying on the figure to track intake.

Which double-shot cold-brew latte is dairy-free?

M&S describes its Oat Latte Cold Brew Coffee as dairy-free and made with a double shot of espresso. M&S also says it is not suitable for coeliacs or people with a wheat allergy, so check the exact variant's allergen statement.

What if I want cold-brew flavour without choosing a caffeinated strong drink?

Sainsbury's lists Nolo Decaf Classic Cold Brew Oat Latte as a decaffeinated, dairy-free option. It contains oat, so check its current ingredients and allergen information if that affects your choice.

How should I assess a strong cold brew during pregnancy?

The NHS advises having no more than 200 mg of caffeine a day during pregnancy, counting caffeine from other drinks, foods and supplements too. Do not use “strong” or “double shot” to calculate a serving's contribution; check its numerical caffeine declaration before making that assessment.