Who is each option for?

Shoppers who want a cone

Cornetto Chocolate combines a wafer cone with dark chocolate pieces, according to Sainsbury's. If you are considering Tesco's chocolate-related cones instead, check the individual pack for the chocolate description you want; the Tesco cone listing does not establish a high-cocoa option.

Shoppers looking for a stated cocoa percentage

Check which part of the product the percentage describes. Sainsbury's describes Magnum Intense Dark as a stick with a dark chocolate coating made with 70% cocoa; its Cornetto listing gives no cocoa percentage for the cone's dark chocolate pieces.

Shoppers checking allergens

Read the label on the pack you receive before eating it. Tesco's Cornetto listing includes may-contain warnings for several cereals, soya and nuts; declarations can differ between products.

What should you check?

Decide whether cone format or a stated cocoa percentage is essential, then compare portion counts and check the individual pack.

PriorityWhat to checkYour needs
Pack sizeCheck the number of portions, volume per portion and total volume. Compare the same measures across packs.For a budget shop, I want enough portions for the people I am buying for, rather than choosing by pack size alone.
Cocoa contentLook for a stated cocoa percentage and identify whether it describes the coating, pieces or another component. A component's share of the product is a different measure.A dark chocolate description is not enough for me if I specifically want a stated cocoa percentage.
FormatCheck whether the product is a wafer cone, stick or choc ice. Sainsbury's lists Cornetto Chocolate as a cone and Magnum Intense Dark as a stick; ASDA lists Dark Choc Ices as choc ices.If I want a wafer cone, a dark-coated stick or choc ice will not meet that requirement.
Allergens and storageRead the supplied pack's ingredients, allergen statements and frozen-storage instructions. ASDA's Dark Choc Ices listing says not to refreeze the product once defrosted.I need to check the exact pack for relevant allergens and follow its storage instructions after bringing it home.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Reading “dark chocolate” as a cocoa percentage

    Sainsbury's says dark chocolate pieces make up 3% of Cornetto Chocolate, but that is not the cocoa percentage of the pieces. ASDA describes a dark chocolate flavour coating on its choc ices without stating its cocoa percentage.

    Look for a percentage that explicitly applies to the chocolate component if cocoa content is your deciding factor.

  • Overlooking the product format

    Magnum Intense Dark is a stick and ASDA Dark Choc Ices are choc ices; neither provides the wafer cone you may be shopping for.

    Filter for cones first if the cone matters, and consider other formats only if you are happy to change that requirement.

  • Judging a pack by its portion count alone

    The listed products differ in both portion count and volume per portion. The same number of items need not provide the same total volume.

    Read the count and millilitres per portion together, especially when choosing a pack to share.

  • Using an online flavour description for an allergy decision

    A flavour name does not convey the full ingredient and may-contain statements needed to assess a particular product.

    Check the label on the pack supplied, including any substitute, before eating it.

Relevant brand references

Cornetto

Cornetto Chocolate is a wafer-cone option with chocolate and vanilla ice cream and dark chocolate pieces, as described by Sainsbury's.

  • The Sainsbury's listing specifies six 90 ml cones.
  • Its dark chocolate pieces account for 3% of the product; the listing gives no cocoa percentage for those pieces.

Magnum

Magnum Intense Dark is a stick alternative for shoppers prioritising a stated cocoa percentage over cone format.

  • According to Magnum's own UK description, its intense dark chocolate is made with 70% cocoa; Sainsbury's describes the coating on the listed sticks the same way.
  • The listed three 100 ml portions are sticks, not cones.

ASDA

ASDA Dark Choc Ices offer a dark-chocolate-flavour-coated option in choc-ice form.

  • ASDA lists six 70 ml choc ices and describes the dark chocolate flavour coating as 29% of the product.
  • They are not cones, and the coating description does not state a cocoa percentage.

Nuii

Nuii Dark Chocolate & Nordic Berry is a berry-flavoured stick alternative in ASDA's listing.

  • ASDA describes dark chocolate as 34% of the listed product.
  • It is not a cone, and that figure does not establish the chocolate's cocoa percentage.

Tesco

Tesco's chocolate-related own-label cones provide other cone-format choices to examine.

  • Tesco lists Chocolate & Nut Cones and Mint & Chocolate Cones in four-packs of 110 ml portions.
  • The cone-category listing does not establish a dark chocolate or high-cocoa description for either product; check the individual pack.

Joybuy stick option

This Magnum option is for shoppers willing to choose a dark chocolate ice-cream stick instead of a cone.

Magnum Intense Dark Chocolate Ice Cream, three 100 ml sticks

Magnum Intense Dark Chocolate Ice Cream 3 x 100 ml

Consider this stick if a stated cocoa percentage matters more to you than a wafer cone. Sainsbury's describes the dark chocolate coating on Magnum Intense Dark's three 100 ml sticks as made with 70% cocoa; the product is not a cone.

View on Joybuy

Common questions

Is Cornetto Chocolate a high-cocoa dark chocolate cone?

Its stated details do not establish that. Sainsbury's describes a wafer cone with dark chocolate pieces making up 3% of the product, but gives no cocoa percentage for those pieces.

What if I want a stated 70% cocoa component?

Magnum Intense Dark is an option if you are willing to choose a stick rather than a cone. Magnum's own UK description and the Sainsbury's listing say its dark chocolate coating is made with 70% cocoa.

Does a dark chocolate flavour coating tell me the cocoa percentage?

No. ASDA describes the coating on Dark Choc Ices as a dark chocolate flavour coating but does not state a cocoa percentage for it. Check for a percentage explicitly attached to the chocolate component if that is essential to your choice.

What should I check if allergens matter?

Read the ingredients, highlighted allergens and may-contain statements on the pack supplied before eating it, including any substitute. Tesco's Cornetto listing, for example, gives may-contain warnings for rye, barley, oat, soya, almond, hazelnut and pistachio.

Can I refreeze these treats after they defrost?

Follow the instruction on the individual pack. ASDA's Dark Choc Ices listing says not to refreeze them once defrosted, and its Nuii listing gives the same instruction.