Who is each pack format for?

Hosts serving mainly custard creams

If these biscuits are the centre of the selection, look for a custard-cream-only pack with a stated breakdown. Tesco Groceries lists five separate 150g packs within its 750g product, but its listing showed the item out of stock.

Hosts putting out several biscuit types

If custard creams are one choice among others, M&S lists a 530g triple pack with Extra Cream Custard Creams, Malted Milk Biscuits and Extra Cream Bourbon Creams. The listing does not specify how much of the pack is custard creams.

Hosts checking guests’ allergens

Check the ingredients and precautionary statements on the exact packs you will serve. The Tesco 750g listing includes wheat, milk and soya ingredients; other listed custard creams also identify allergens that may matter to your guests. Keep the wrappers available so guests can read them.

What should you check before choosing?

Decide whether the party needs a substantial supply of custard creams or a choice of biscuits, then check the pack breakdown and labels rather than relying on the outer weight alone.

Priority What to check Your needs
Pack format Check the net weight and whether the listing states the number and size of inner packs. Tesco Groceries lists its 750g custard creams as five 150g packs. I want to open biscuits in stages and leave the remaining inner packs unopened.
Biscuit mix Check which biscuits are included. M&S lists custard creams, malted milk biscuits and bourbon creams in its 530g triple pack, without stating the custard-cream portion. Variety matters more to me than knowing exactly how many custard creams the pack contains.
Allergens Read the exact pack’s ingredients and precautionary statements. Tesco’s 750g listing includes wheat, milk and soya ingredients; other products may have different statements. GOV.UK says allergens in prepacked food must be clearly identified in the ingredients list. Before sharing biscuits, I need to check each product against the allergens my guests avoid.
Nutrition label Check whether values are given per biscuit, per serving or per 100g before comparing products. Sainsbury’s lists 3.3g sugars and 1.2g saturates per biscuit for its 200g custard creams; M&S gives per-100g values for its separately listed Extra Cream Custard Creams. I want to know what the label values refer to when deciding how many biscuits to put out at once.
Availability Confirm that the chosen format can be obtained before planning around it. Tesco’s 750g listing showed the product out of stock, while M&S directs shoppers to select a local store to check stock. I need a pack I can obtain in time for the party, rather than a format that only looks suitable on a listing.

Common multipack mistakes

  • Assuming a large pack has smaller packs inside

    Outer weight does not tell you how the biscuits are divided. Tesco Groceries explicitly lists five 150g inner packs for its 750g custard creams.

    If unopened portions matter, check the stated inner-pack count and weight before choosing.

  • Counting a mixed pack as a full pack of custard creams

    M&S’s 530g triple pack contains three biscuit types, and its listing does not give the quantity of custard creams separately.

    Choose the mixed pack for variety; if custard creams are the main requirement, look for a pack containing only that biscuit.

  • Assuming every custard cream has the same allergen label

    Listed products identify different ingredients and precautions. For example, Tesco’s 750g pack lists wheat, milk and soya ingredients, while the Crawford’s listing carries a possible-sesame statement.

    Read the label on the pack you will serve and keep its wrapper available to guests. Where an alternative is needed, check that product’s label too.

  • Planning around a listing without checking stock

    Tesco’s 750g custard creams were marked out of stock on the cited listing. A suitable pack format is not, by itself, a purchase plan.

    Check availability close to the party and use the label on the pack you receive for the final ingredient check.

Brand and retailer references

These examples illustrate pack formats and label checks; they do not establish that each product is currently available.

Tesco

Tesco Groceries lists custard creams in a 750g, custard-cream-only format divided into five 150g packs.

  • The stated inner-pack breakdown helps with staged serving.
  • The cited listing showed this product out of stock; check availability before relying on it.

M&S

M&S lists a 530g Triple Pack Biscuits product containing Extra Cream Custard Creams, Malted Milk Biscuits and Extra Cream Bourbon Creams.

  • The pack combines custard creams with two other biscuit types.
  • The listing does not specify the weight or count of custard creams within the triple pack.

Crawford’s

Tesco Groceries lists Crawford’s Custard Creams as a 300g pack of vanilla-flavoured cream-filled biscuits, rather than a stated multipack.

  • The listing identifies a single-flavour custard cream option.
  • Its listing showed the pack out of stock and includes a possible-sesame statement.

McVitie’s

McVitie’s Tasties Custard Creams are listed as a 300g single pack, not an internally divided party multipack.

  • The listing identifies a custard-cream-only biscuit pack.
  • Its listed allergens include milk and wheat, with a possible-sesame precaution; check the current pack before serving.

Sainsbury’s

Sainsbury’s lists its own-brand custard creams in a 200g pack, useful for checking a smaller-pack label rather than selecting an internally divided multipack.

  • The listing gives nutrition values per biscuit.
  • It lists wheat and milk and says the product is not suitable for customers with a barley allergy because of manufacturing methods.

Joybuy product options

These options cover a small custard cream biscuit pack and a larger custard-filled pastry pack. The pastry is a different type of food, so choose it only if that change suits your party menu.

Schar Gluten Free Custard Creams 125g pack

Schar Gluten Free Custard Creams 125g

This is a custard cream biscuit option if a guest needs a gluten-free product, but the 125g pack is not a party multipack. Check the exact pack’s full ingredient and allergen information against that guest’s requirements before serving.

View on Joybuy
MarineGold Bungeoppang Custard Family Pack 1kg

MarineGold Bungeoppang Custard Family Pack 1kg

This 1kg family pack is a custard-filled pastry option for a party, not a custard cream sandwich biscuit. If serving it to guests with food allergies, check the exact pack’s ingredients and allergen statements.

View on Joybuy

Questions about buying and serving

How do I choose between a custard-cream-only pack and a mixed pack?

Choose a custard-cream-only pack when those biscuits are the main attraction, or a mixed pack when guests should have several biscuit types. Tesco Groceries lists a 750g custard-cream pack divided into five 150g packs, though its listing showed it out of stock. M&S lists a 530g triple pack with custard creams and two other biscuit types, without specifying the custard-cream portion.

Can I assume standard custard creams suit guests avoiding wheat or milk?

No. The listed Tesco and Sainsbury’s custard creams include wheat and milk ingredients, and individual products can carry other allergen information. Check the exact pack against each guest’s requirements and select a suitably labelled alternative where needed.

What should I check on a multipack label before serving?

Check the ingredients, highlighted allergens, precautionary statements, storage instructions and best-before date on the pack you receive. GOV.UK says allergens in prepacked food must be clearly identified within the ingredients list. Keep the packaging available for guests who need to check it themselves.

Do England’s HFSS promotion rules ban custard creams at a private party?

No blanket ban on a private party purchase follows from those rules. According to the Department of Health and Social Care, England’s regulations address specified product promotions and placements by qualifying medium and large food retailers; that is a different question from what a host serves at a private gathering. School-food requirements are separate and should not be inferred from retail promotion rules.