Who is each format for?

The useful distinction for a student moving in is whether biscuits need to travel in ready-made portions or will mostly stay in a shared cupboard.

Packed-lunch student

If you want a serving to put straight into a bag, compare individually wrapped packs with the effort of portioning biscuits from an opened packet. Asda lists Schär custard creams as five individual packs of two biscuits.

Shared-flat cupboard shopper

If several people will use the biscuits, decide whether a standard packet is enough or whether individually wrapped portions across several varieties would suit the flat. Vending Superstore lists Crawford’s box as 100 packs containing six biscuit varieties.

Student checking ingredients

Recipes and dietary labels differ. Tesco and Asda list wheat and milk in their standard custard creams; check the exact pack’s ingredients and precautionary information if you need to avoid particular allergens.

What should you check before choosing?

Start with the pack format you will actually use, then check storage and the ingredients of that specific product.

PriorityWhat to checkYour needs
Lunch portions Check the number of separately wrapped packs and biscuits in each. Asda lists Schär as five 25g packs with two biscuits per pack; a packet’s total weight alone does not establish separate portions. I want to put custard creams in a lunchbox without dividing an opened packet each morning.
Shared quantity Check both the number of packs and the varieties. Vending Superstore lists 100 Crawford’s packs of three biscuits across six varieties, without specifying the custard-cream count. Will the flat use a mixed box, or would a smaller custard-creams-only purchase suit us better?
Storage Read the instructions for the packet you choose. Tesco and Asda both specify airtight storage after opening their standard 400g packets. I can keep an opened packet airtight, or I would rather take separately packaged servings out on different days.
Ingredients Compare the exact product’s ingredients, dietary claims and precautionary allergen information. Tesco and Asda list wheat and milk in their standard recipes; Asda labels its separate Free From 125g packet milk- and gluten-free. If someone eating the biscuits avoids an ingredient, I need the label for the particular pack—not an assumption based on the words “custard creams” or “vegan”.

Pack-format mistakes to avoid

  • Assuming a large packet is a lunchbox multipack

    The Tesco and Asda 400g listings describe standard packets, not separately wrapped servings. Both instruct shoppers to store the biscuits airtight after opening.

    If ready-made portions matter, check the number of individual packs rather than relying on total packet weight.

    Portioning from an opened packet also means arranging suitable storage.

  • Expecting 100 packs of custard creams in a mixed box

    Vending Superstore describes Crawford’s 100-pack box as an assortment of six varieties; it does not specify how many packs contain custard creams.

    Choose it only if the mix suits the people sharing it. If the custard-cream quantity decides the purchase, ask the seller for the breakdown.

    A box of 100 packs also needs cupboard space.

  • Treating a vegan label as an allergen check

    The Food Standards Agency cautions that vegan labelling alone should not be used in place of allergen information for people with food hypersensitivities.

    Read the exact packet’s ingredients and precautionary allergen statements against the eater’s restrictions.

Brand and retailer references

These examples illustrate different packet formats and recipes; a brand name alone does not tell you whether a product contains individual portions.

Schär

Asda lists a 125g custard-creams product containing five individual 25g packs, with two biscuits per pack.

  • The Asda listing describes the product as gluten-free and vegan.
  • Check the physical pack’s ingredients and precautionary statements for individual allergen needs; vegan labelling alone is not an allergen assurance.

Crawford’s

Vending Superstore lists a box of 100 individually wrapped, three-biscuit packs across six varieties, including custard creams.

  • Individual packs offer a format that can be divided among flatmates.
  • The listing does not specify the number of custard-cream packs. A separate seller’s three-biscuit custard-cream listing is for one packet, not a multipack.

Tesco

Tesco lists a standard 400g custard-cream packet for shoppers who will portion biscuits themselves.

  • The product listing identifies the packet weight and provides storage instructions.
  • Its listed ingredients include wheat and milk, and Tesco says to store the biscuits airtight after opening.

Asda

Asda lists a standard 400g custard-cream packet and a separate 125g Free From recipe.

  • Asda labels the Free From packet milk- and gluten-free.
  • The standard packet lists wheat and milk. Neither listing establishes that its biscuits come in individual portion packs.

McVitie’s

Iceland Foods lists McVitie’s Tasties custard creams as a 300g packet.

  • The listing identifies a standard biscuit packet rather than a mixed assortment.
  • Iceland Foods lists wheat and milk; the packet listing does not establish separately wrapped lunch portions.

Sainsbury’s

Sainsbury’s lists a 200g standard custard-cream packet, a smaller format than the 400g Tesco and Asda packets described here.

  • The listing gives the packet weight and says to store it airtight after opening.
  • Its product page marks the packet out of stock; check current availability before planning a shop around it.

M&S

M&S describes its Extra Cream custard creams as a 165g packet with extra vanilla filling.

  • The product page provides a weight and nutrition information for comparing the labelled product.
  • The listing does not establish individual portions; M&S asks shoppers to select a store to see availability.

Joybuy product options

These options cover a custard-cream product with five servings and a six-pack of custard pies. Custard pies are a different type of snack, so compare them only if the lunchbox format matters more to you than buying custard-cream biscuits.

Schär Gluten Free Custard Creams 125g

Schär Gluten Free Custard Creams 125g

A custard-cream option for someone considering smaller servings for lunches. The Joybuy product description states that the 125g pack contains five servings; check the pack’s wrapping and allergen information for your needs.

View on Joybuy
Orion Custard Pie 138g, six small packs

Orion Custard Pie 138g, six small packs

The six-pack format may suit someone packing individual snacks. This is a custard pie, not a custard-cream biscuit, so it is not a substitute if the biscuit itself is what you want.

View on Joybuy

Common questions

Is a 400g packet the same as a lunchbox multipack?

No. Tesco and Asda list standard 400g custard-cream packets, whereas Asda specifies five individual 25g packs for Schär’s product. If you need ready-made lunch portions, check the number of separately wrapped packs rather than the total weight alone.

How should I store an opened packet of custard creams?

Follow the instructions on the packet you receive. Tesco and Asda both instruct shoppers to store their standard custard creams in an airtight container after opening.

What does a best-before date mean when I stock up?

GOV.UK explains that a best-before date concerns food quality, while a use-by date concerns safety. Check the date and storage directions on the biscuits you buy, particularly if a shared flat may take time to finish them.

Does a vegan label settle whether custard creams suit someone with a milk allergy?

No. The Food Standards Agency cautions that vegan labelling alone is not a substitute for allergen information. Check the exact pack’s ingredients and precautionary statements; Tesco and Asda list milk and wheat in their standard custard creams.