For a Mother’s Day-style gift, Tesco and Sainsbury’s dark choc ices suit someone who wants vanilla ice cream with a dark-chocolate-flavoured coating, but neither retailer’s product page states a cocoa-solids percentage. If a particular cocoa level matters, check the actual pack or manufacturer information before choosing; also check the recipient’s allergens and how the treat will stay frozen.
Who is this for?
Dark-coated choc ice shoppers
If the gift is about a vanilla ice cream with a dark-chocolate-flavoured coating, Tesco Groceries and Sainsbury’s each list an eight-pack of 70 ml choc ices. The coating description alone does not establish a high cocoa level.
Shoppers seeking a stated cocoa level
If the recipient has a particular cocoa level in mind, look for a cocoa-solids declaration or direct manufacturer information for the exact frozen product. Neither the Tesco Groceries nor the Sainsbury’s dark choc-ice page states that percentage.
Allergy-aware gift shoppers
Check the exact pack before serving. The Tesco Groceries and Sainsbury’s listings identify milk and soya ingredients, and their nut-related warnings differ.
What should you check?
Start with whether dark coating is enough or a stated cocoa level is essential, then check the recipient’s allergens, the pack format and freezer arrangements.
| Priority |
What to check |
Your needs |
| Cocoa content |
Read the coating description separately from any cocoa-solids percentage. Tesco Groceries and Sainsbury’s describe a dark-chocolate-flavoured coating on their choc ices, but neither product page states a cocoa-solids percentage. |
Is a darker-style coating enough for the gift, or do I need evidence of a particular cocoa level? |
| Allergens |
Check the exact pack for milk, soya and nut warnings. Tesco Groceries says its choc ices may contain peanuts and nuts; Sainsbury’s says its product is unsuitable for customers with a nut allergy because of manufacturing methods. |
I need to know whether the person receiving the treat can have its ingredients and whether any precautionary warning matters to them. |
| Pack format |
Check the number and size of individual portions. The Tesco Groceries and Sainsbury’s dark choc ices are each listed as eight 70 ml items; check nutrition information on the product you actually buy. |
Will there be enough individual treats for the people I plan to serve? |
| Freezer handling |
Read the product’s storage and thawing instructions before travelling with it. Tesco Groceries specifies −18°C or colder and says not to refreeze after thawing; Sainsbury’s says to keep its choc ices frozen. |
If I am taking the gift elsewhere, I need a way to keep it frozen and space for it on arrival. |
| Fruit or chocolate |
Confirm the flavour and frozen-product type rather than relying on the ice-lolly category. Sainsbury’s lists Calippo and Twister fruit varieties, which its listing does not establish as dark-chocolate options. |
Would the recipient prefer a fruity lolly, or is a chocolate-coated treat the point of the gift? |
Buying pitfalls
-
Reading “dark chocolate flavoured” as a cocoa percentage
The Tesco Groceries and Sainsbury’s choc-ice pages describe dark-chocolate-flavoured coatings but do not state a cocoa-solids percentage. That wording cannot establish whether either product meets a particular cocoa-level brief.
If the level matters, check the exact pack or ask the manufacturer for the relevant cocoa information before buying.
-
Using another product’s allergen warning
Both retailer listings identify milk and soya ingredients, but their nut-related warnings are different. One pack’s wording is not a substitute for the other’s.
Read the allergen information on the exact pack you intend to gift or serve.
-
Leaving freezer storage until the gift is delivered
A frozen multi-pack needs freezer space and suitable handling during the journey. Tesco Groceries also instructs shoppers not to refreeze its choc ices after thawing.
Arrange transport and freezer space before purchasing, and follow the instructions on the chosen pack.
Brand and retailer references
Tesco
Tesco Groceries lists Tesco Dark Choc Ices as eight 70 ml vanilla ice creams with a dark-chocolate-flavoured coating.
- The product listing gives ingredients, pack size and freezer instructions.
- Its coating description does not state a cocoa-solids percentage. The listing also says the product may contain peanuts and nuts.
Sainsbury’s
Sainsbury’s lists its Dark Choc Ices as eight 70 ml vanilla ice creams in a dark-chocolate-flavoured coating.
- The product listing identifies the coating ingredients and pack format.
- It does not state a cocoa-solids percentage and says the product is unsuitable for customers with a nut allergy because of manufacturing methods.
Calippo and Twister
Sainsbury’s ice-lolly listing includes Calippo and Twister fruit varieties for shoppers considering a fruity frozen treat instead.
- The listed fruit varieties offer a different flavour route when dark chocolate is not required.
- That listing does not establish them as dark-chocolate or high-cocoa options.
Joybuy product options
The Joybuy option below is a three-bar dark-chocolate ice cream pack rather than a fruit ice lolly. Check the pack’s cocoa information if a particular level is important to the gift.
Image unavailable
Magnum Intense Dark Chocolate Ice Cream 3x100ml
A three-bar ice cream pack for someone who wants a dark-chocolate frozen treat rather than a fruit lolly. Check the exact pack for milk, soya and almond warnings, cocoa information, and freezer and thawing instructions before gifting it.
View on Joybuy
Common questions
Are Tesco and Sainsbury’s Dark Choc Ices confirmed high-cocoa products?
Their retailer pages do not establish a high cocoa level. Tesco Groceries and Sainsbury’s describe dark-chocolate-flavoured coatings but do not state a cocoa-solids percentage for these choc ices; check the actual pack or manufacturer information if a particular level matters.
Which allergens matter when choosing these dark choc ices?
Check the exact pack for milk, soya and nut-related warnings. The Tesco Groceries and Sainsbury’s listings identify milk and soya ingredients; Tesco says its product may contain peanuts and nuts, while Sainsbury’s says its product is unsuitable for customers with a nut allergy because of manufacturing methods.
How should I handle dark choc ices before serving?
Keep them frozen and follow the chosen pack’s instructions during transport and storage. Tesco Groceries specifies −18°C or colder and says not to refreeze its choc ices after thawing; Sainsbury’s also instructs shoppers to keep its product frozen.