Who might choose these biscuits?

Shoppers looking for a stated cocoa level

If cocoa content matters more than the word “dark”, Tesco states a minimum of 48% cocoa solids in its chocolate. Check the current pack for the figure you require.

Shoppers comparing afternoon portions

McVitie's lists 83 kcal per biscuit and Tesco lists 85 kcal per biscuit in their product information. Check biscuit size and use the per-biscuit panel when deciding on a serving.

Shoppers checking ingredients and allergens

The product information for these dark chocolate digestives lists wheat, milk or soya as ingredients or possible allergens. Read the current pack for the particular biscuit you intend to buy.

What matters when choosing them?

Start with the cocoa information if flavour is your deciding factor, then compare portions and check the ingredients on the exact pack.

PriorityWhat to checkYour needs
Cocoa content Look for a cocoa-solids percentage, not just the proportion of the biscuit coated in chocolate. Tesco states at least 48% cocoa solids in its dark chocolate; McVitie's and M&S state coating proportions but no cocoa-solids figure in their product information. I want a stated cocoa threshold rather than relying on a “dark chocolate” description.
Portion and nutrition Compare per-biscuit figures for biscuits of similar size, or use per-100g figures for a consistent basis. McVitie's lists 83 kcal and Tesco 85 kcal per biscuit; both list 2.1g saturated fat per biscuit. For a biscuit with tea or coffee, I want to know what the portion I plan to eat contains.
Ingredients and allergens Read the current ingredients and allergen statement. McVitie's lists wheat, milk and soya; Tesco lists wheat and soya and says it may contain milk; M&S lists wheat, milk, soya and barley malt extract. I need to check whether the particular pack fits my ingredient requirements, rather than assuming dark chocolate is milk-free.

Common mistakes to avoid

  • Assuming “dark” means high cocoa or less sugar

    A dark chocolate description does not establish a cocoa-solids percentage or a sugar comparison with another biscuit.

    Check the cocoa-solids figure if you have a threshold in mind, and compare sugar figures on the same per-100g or per-biscuit basis.

  • Using an old listing to make an allergy decision

    Ingredients and allergen statements can change, and the dark chocolate digestives described here list or flag wheat, milk and soya differently.

    Read the physical pack each time, especially if you are changing product or pack size.

  • Confusing shop-promotion rules with school-food rules

    England's rules on promotions of certain foods by qualifying retailers address a different question from school-food requirements. A promotion rule alone does not determine whether a particular biscuit can be served in a school meal.

    For school catering, check the school-food requirements that apply in the relevant nation and setting rather than relying on an assumed HFSS classification.

Brand and own-label references

McVitie's

A wheatmeal dark chocolate digestive for shoppers who prefer the familiar McVitie's format with tea or coffee.

  • McVitie's lists a 30% dark chocolate coating and 83 kcal per biscuit.
  • Its product information does not state a cocoa-solids percentage. Check the pack if you require a particular level.

Tesco

An own-label dark chocolate digestive with a stated cocoa standard for its chocolate.

  • Tesco states that the dark chocolate contains at least 48% cocoa solids and lists 85 kcal per biscuit.
  • The product information lists wheat and soya and says it may contain milk.

M&S

An own-label digestive that M&S describes as having dark chocolate and demerara sugar for added crunch.

  • M&S lists chocolate as 32% of the biscuit.
  • Its product information does not state a cocoa-solids percentage; its listed ingredients include wheat, milk, soya and barley malt extract.

McVitie's options on Joybuy

These are McVitie's dark chocolate digestives in a twin pack and a 400g pack for shoppers considering that format for an afternoon snack.

McVitie's Digestives Dark Chocolate Twin Pack, 2 × 266g

McVitie's Digestives Dark Chocolate Twin Pack, 2 × 266g

For an afternoon biscuit with tea or coffee, this format contains two 266g packs. Check the current pack for per-biscuit nutrition, any cocoa-solids figure you require, and its wheat, milk and soya information.

View on Joybuy
McVitie's Digestives Dark Chocolate 400g

McVitie's Digestives Dark Chocolate 400g

For an afternoon snack, this is a single 400g pack rather than the twin-pack format. Check its current serving information and wheat, milk and soya statement; the word “dark” alone does not establish a cocoa-solids percentage.

View on Joybuy

Questions about dark chocolate digestives

Does “dark chocolate digestive” mean high cocoa?

No particular cocoa-solids percentage follows from the word “dark”. Tesco states that its dark chocolate contains at least 48% cocoa solids; McVitie's and M&S do not state a cocoa-solids figure in their product information. If the figure matters to you, check the current pack.

Does dark chocolate mean less sugar than milk chocolate?

The chocolate description alone cannot establish that comparison. McVitie's lists 4.4g sugars per biscuit and Tesco lists 4.2g for their dark chocolate digestives; compare the nutrition panels of the particular dark and milk chocolate products on the same basis.

Which allergens should I check?

Check the current pack for cereals containing gluten, milk and soya. McVitie's lists wheat, milk and soya; Tesco lists wheat and soya and says it may contain milk; M&S lists wheat, milk, soya and barley malt extract. Ingredients can change, so use the label on the biscuit you buy.