Who is this for?

Night-shift treat planners

You want biscuits for a break and need to decide how many to take, alongside food for the rest of your shift.

Cocoa-label comparers

You want to know whether a percentage refers to cocoa solids in the coating or to the amount of chocolate in the biscuit.

Allergen-conscious buyers

You need to check the current pack for wheat, milk and soya information rather than assume all dark chocolate digestives have the same recipe.

What should you check?

Start with the label detail that matters to you, then compare nutrition on the same basis and plan how you will use the pack across shifts.

PriorityWhat to checkYour needs
Break-time portions Check the pack size, per-biscuit information where given and instructions for storing an opened pack. I want to take a planned portion to work rather than carry an open packet through several breaks.
Cocoa labelling Tesco states a minimum of 48% cocoa solids in the chocolate on its 300g digestives. A figure such as McVitie's 30% dark-chocolate ingredient describes how much of the biscuit is chocolate, not the coating's cocoa-solids content. If a stated cocoa percentage is important to me, I need to check what it measures; it cannot, by itself, settle which biscuit I will prefer.
Sugars and saturates Compare both figures per 100g on the current packs, rather than comparing a per-biscuit figure with a per-100g figure. Serving sizes can differ. I want to compare the biscuits on the same weight basis, especially if I expect to take them to work regularly.
Ingredients and allergens Read the physical pack's ingredients and precautionary statements for wheat, milk and soya. Asda lists milk fat; Tesco says its dark chocolate digestives may contain milk. I need a pack whose current label meets my ingredient or allergy requirements, not just a dark-chocolate description online.

Common buying mistakes

  • Treating chocolate content as cocoa content

    McVitie's lists dark chocolate as 30% of its biscuit, while Tesco's minimum 48% cocoa-solids figure describes its chocolate coating. Those percentages measure different things.

    If the coating's cocoa content affects your choice, look for an explicit cocoa-solids statement for that product.

  • Relying on the packet for every break

    A chocolate-coated biscuit is one possible break-time food, but it does not tell you what you will have for other breaks. The British Dietetic Association discusses drinks, lighter meals or snacks during night shifts.

    Decide how many biscuits to take and plan the rest of your shift food separately.

  • Assuming every dark variety has the same allergens

    Dark-chocolate labels do not establish whether a particular biscuit contains milk or carries a precautionary milk statement.

    Check the current physical pack's ingredient and allergen information before choosing a biscuit you need to avoid an ingredient in.

Brand references

These product lines offer different label details to compare; a brand name alone does not establish the coating's cocoa content or the pack's allergen information.

McVitie's

McVitie's lists dark chocolate digestives in several pack sizes.

  • Its dark variant lists 30% dark chocolate and provides per-biscuit nutrition.
  • The manufacturer's product page does not state a minimum cocoa-solids percentage for the coating.

Tesco

Tesco lists a 300g own-label dark chocolate digestive.

  • Tesco states that its dark chocolate contains at least 48% cocoa solids and provides per-biscuit and per-100g nutrition.
  • Its allergy information says the product may contain milk; check the current pack.

Asda

Asda lists a 300g own-label dark chocolate digestive.

  • Its listing gives 30% dark chocolate and 82 kcal per biscuit.
  • Milk fat is listed as an ingredient. Asda instructs buyers to store an opened pack airtight and consume it within seven days.

M&S

M&S describes its 300g dark chocolate digestives as having demerara sugar for crunch.

  • Its listing states 32% chocolate and provides per-100g nutrition.
  • Use the per-100g panel when comparing it with packs that also give per-biscuit figures.

Joybuy product options

These McVitie's dark chocolate digestive packs offer two sizes to consider for night-shift breaks. Check the current pack if its cocoa or allergen details will determine your choice.

McVitie's Digestives Dark Chocolate Twin Pack, 2 x 266g

McVitie's Digestives Dark Chocolate Twin Pack, 2 x 266g

The two 266g packs let you open one at a time if you are taking biscuits across shifts. Check the physical pack for its cocoa statement, storage instructions and current allergen information.

View on Joybuy
McVitie's Digestives Dark Chocolate 400g

McVitie's Digestives Dark Chocolate 400g

This single 400g pack is another size to portion for breaks. Check how the pack says to store it after opening, and read its current wheat, milk and soya information if those ingredients matter to you.

View on Joybuy

Questions about choosing and storing biscuits

Can dark chocolate digestives replace a meal on a night shift?

Plan food for the shift rather than relying on biscuits as the only thing you take. The British Dietetic Association discusses breaks with drinks, lighter meals or snacks during night work, and an NHS dietitian advises planning food ahead.

Does a dark coating mean a digestive contains less sugar?

Not necessarily: the coating's cocoa description does not state the sugar content of the whole biscuit. The checked McVitie's, M&S, Tesco and Asda dark variants list between 24.7g and 29.2g sugars per 100g, so compare the current nutrition panels on that basis.

Is 30% dark chocolate the same as 30% cocoa solids?

No. A 30% dark-chocolate ingredient figure describes the proportion of the biscuit made up of chocolate. A cocoa-solids percentage describes the chocolate itself; Tesco states a minimum of 48% cocoa solids in the coating on its 300g digestives.

How should I store a packet taken to work?

Follow that packet's storage instructions after opening. Asda says to keep its dark chocolate digestives cool and dry, then store them airtight and consume them within seven days of opening; the Tesco and M&S listings also specify airtight storage after opening.

What if the online allergen details differ from the packet?

Read the physical packet before eating the biscuits if an ingredient or allergen matters to you. Recipes and online listings can change; contact the seller if the item delivered is not what you ordered.