Who is choosing?

Party hosts serving a mixed group

Compare the chocolate description, the quantity in the pack and its storage instructions. The word ‘dark’ alone does not tell you how the chocolate will taste or how many biscuits you can serve.

Hosts accommodating food allergies

Check the ingredients and precautionary allergen statement on each pack you intend to serve. The examined listings differ in their milk declarations and also identify wheat or soya.

School birthday-party organisers

Find out whether the biscuits are for a celebration or part of ordinary school food provision, and ask the school about its event and allergy policies. Guidance concerning schools in England should not be assumed to apply throughout the UK.

What should you check?

Start with the exact biscuit and its label, then work out how many packs your planned servings require.

PriorityWhat to checkYour needs
Chocolate description Separate the chocolate’s share of the biscuit from its cocoa-solids content. Tesco Groceries specifies at least 48% cocoa solids in the chocolate of its 300 g dark digestives; that is not a percentage for the whole biscuit. I want to know what a ‘dark’ claim actually describes before choosing a chocolate style for guests.
Servings and storage Match any stated biscuit count to the pack size you are buying. McVitie’s gives a typical count of 16 for its 266 g pack; check after-opening instructions if you will put biscuits out ahead of time. Will the packs cover the servings I plan to offer, and can I store opened biscuits as instructed?
Ingredients and allergens Read the physical pack’s ingredients and allergen statements for every variety served. The examined McVitie’s and M&S products list milk-derived ingredients, while Tesco’s listing says its product may contain milk. I need to check each guest’s relevant allergens rather than assume dark chocolate is milk-free.
School setting Check the school’s event and allergy policies and establish whether food is being served at a celebration or through ordinary school provision. Apply guidance for the relevant UK nation and setting. If the party is at school, I want to know which arrangements apply to this event before bringing biscuits.

Common buying mistakes

  • Reading chocolate content as cocoa content

    A biscuit containing 30% dark chocolate does not thereby contain chocolate with 30% cocoa solids. The two figures use different bases and cannot establish which biscuit will taste more bitter.

    Compare cocoa-solids figures only when they are stated for the chocolate in the exact products you are considering.

  • Assuming ‘dark’ means milk-free

    The examined products include milk-derived ingredients or a ‘may contain milk’ statement. A shared plate also makes it harder to keep guests’ selections separate.

    Read the physical label and check each guest’s relevant allergens before serving.

  • Planning servings from pack weight alone

    A pack’s weight does not state its biscuit count. McVitie’s gives a typical count of 16 for the examined 266 g pack, but that count should not be assigned to a different size.

    Use the count for the precise pack where stated, alongside the number of servings you intend to offer.

    You may need another pack if the actual count falls short of those servings.

Brand and product references

These details concern the specific dark-chocolate digestives described, not every biscuit made by each brand.

McVitie’s

McVitie’s describes a 266 g dark-chocolate digestive pack with a typical count of 16 biscuits.

  • McVitie’s states that dark chocolate makes up 30% of the biscuit.
  • That figure does not state the chocolate’s cocoa-solids content.

Tesco

Tesco’s 300 g dark-chocolate digestives have a stated cocoa-solids minimum for their chocolate.

  • Tesco Groceries specifies at least 48% cocoa solids in the dark chocolate.
  • The product listing says the biscuits may contain milk.

ASDA

ASDA lists a 300 g pack of dark-chocolate digestives.

  • ASDA states 30% dark chocolate and advises storing the biscuits in an airtight container after opening.
  • Check the physical pack’s current ingredients and allergy advice before serving.

M&S

M&S describes its dark-chocolate digestives as having a demerara-sugar crunch.

  • M&S lists chocolate as 32% of the biscuit.
  • The texture description is the brand’s own, not a comparison with other digestives.

Joybuy product options

These McVitie’s dark-chocolate digestives offer two pack formats to consider for a birthday-party biscuit plate. Check the exact pack for ingredients and serving details before buying.

McVitie's Digestives Dark Chocolate twin pack, 2 × 266 g

McVitie’s Digestives Dark Chocolate twin pack, 2 × 266 g

The two-pack format lets you plan around separate 266 g packs; McVitie’s gives a typical count of 16 biscuits for its examined 266 g pack, so check the count on the packs delivered.

Check the physical label for wheat, milk and soya information before serving. Do not use an unstated cocoa-solids figure to judge the chocolate’s flavour.

View on Joybuy
McVitie's Digestives Dark Chocolate 400 g pack

McVitie’s Digestives Dark Chocolate 400 g

This is a single 400 g pack for sharing. Check its own biscuit count when planning servings rather than applying the count stated for McVitie’s 266 g pack.

Read the physical label for wheat, milk and soya information, and check any cocoa-solids claim on the pack if that figure matters to your choice.

View on Joybuy

Questions before serving

Does ‘30% dark chocolate’ mean 30% cocoa solids?

No. It describes how much of the biscuit is dark chocolate, not how much of that chocolate is cocoa solids. Tesco Groceries separately specifies at least 48% cocoa solids in the chocolate of its examined dark digestives.

What should I do if I open the packs before the party?

Follow each pack’s after-opening instructions. The examined ASDA listing advises an airtight container and consumption within seven days; check the instructions for the biscuits you actually serve.

Are dark-chocolate digestives suitable for someone with a milk allergy?

Do not decide from the word ‘dark’. The examined McVitie’s and M&S products list milk-derived ingredients, and Tesco’s listing says its product may contain milk. Check the physical pack against the guest’s specific requirements before serving.

Can I bring these biscuits to a school birthday celebration?

Ask the school before bringing them, including about its event and allergy policies. England’s school-food guidance should not be treated as a rule for every UK school, and government guidance on specified retail promotions does not itself answer what a particular school permits at a celebration.