Who is each option for?

Families wanting a cone at home

Cornetto Chocolate suits an after-school treat when the wafer cone matters and dark-chocolate pieces meet the flavour preference. It is not a documented high-cocoa cone.

Buyers putting the cocoa claim first

If a stated cocoa percentage for the dark-chocolate coating is more important than a cone, Magnum Intense Dark offers a different format: an ice-cream stick.

Families checking food around pupils with allergies

Check the current pack against the child’s needs and any individual allergy plan. If the treat is intended for school, confirm the school’s policy and how it would be kept frozen.

What should you check before choosing?

Decide whether the cone or the stated cocoa content of the coating matters more, then check the label and serving arrangements for the occasion.

Dark-chocolate cone

Choose this when: You want Cornetto Chocolate’s wafer cone, chocolate and vanilla ice creams, and dark-chocolate curls or pieces.

Trade-off: Its product information does not state a high-cocoa percentage for the cone.

70% cocoa coating

Choose this when: A dark-chocolate coating described as 70% cocoa takes priority over cone format.

Trade-off: Magnum Intense Dark is a stick, and the cocoa claim applies to its coating, not the ice-cream centre.

Priority What to check Your needs
Cocoa claim Check which part of the product a cocoa percentage describes. Tesco lists 4% fat-reduced cocoa powder and 2% cocoa mass among Cornetto Chocolate’s ingredients; those figures do not establish a cocoa percentage for the whole cone. Sainsbury’s describes Magnum Intense Dark’s coating as 70% cocoa. I want to know whether the dark-chocolate description refers to pieces on a cone or to a coating with a stated cocoa percentage.
Allergens Read the current ingredients and allergen statements for the exact variant. Tesco lists milk and wheat in Cornetto Chocolate and says it may contain rye, barley, oat, soya, almond, hazelnut and pistachio. Before serving a treat around a child with allergies, I need to check the pack against that child’s needs and any school allergy arrangements.
Frozen storage Check the pack’s storage instructions and whether the product can remain frozen until serving. Confirm the school’s food policy if it is intended for a packed lunch or class occasion. An after-school treat can go into my home freezer; a school-day treat needs a suitable storage and serving plan.

Common buying mistakes

  • Reading “dark chocolate” as a cocoa percentage

    Wall’s describes dark-chocolate curls on Cornetto Chocolate, but that description does not give a high-cocoa percentage for the cone.

    If a particular cocoa claim matters to you, check which product component it covers. Magnum Intense Dark’s stated 70% cocoa applies to its coating, and the product is a stick.

  • Assuming a dairy cone suits every school occasion

    Tesco lists milk and wheat in Cornetto Chocolate, along with several possible additional allergens. A school’s arrangements and an individual pupil’s needs can affect whether it is suitable to bring or serve.

    Check the current pack, any individual allergy plan and the school’s food policy before the occasion.

  • Planning for a lunchbox without frozen storage

    An ice-cream cone needs appropriate frozen storage before serving; an ordinary ambient lunchbox does not provide that arrangement.

    Check the pack instructions and plan how the product will remain frozen until it is served.

  • Confusing Cornetto variants

    Cornetto Classico and Cornetto Chocolate are different products. Joybuy describes Classico with vanilla-flavoured ice cream and hazelnuts; Wall’s describes Chocolate with chocolate and vanilla ice creams and dark-chocolate curls.

    Compare the full variant name, ingredients and allergen declaration rather than relying on the Cornetto brand name alone.

Relevant brand references

These product lines illustrate different chocolate descriptions and formats; the brand name alone does not identify the ingredients of a particular variant.

Cornetto

Wall’s describes Cornetto Chocolate as a six-cone multipack with chocolate and vanilla ice creams, a wafer cone and dark-chocolate curls.

  • The Chocolate variant retains the cone format and has a documented dark-chocolate element.
  • Tesco’s ingredient listing does not establish a high-cocoa percentage for the cone; it lists milk and wheat and a separate “may contain” statement.

Magnum

Sainsbury’s describes Magnum Intense Dark as a three-stick multipack with a dark-chocolate coating made with 70% cocoa.

  • The stated cocoa percentage identifies the coating rather than leaving “dark” to describe flavour alone.
  • Intense Dark is a stick, not a wafer cone; check its current allergen statement before serving.

Cadbury

Sainsbury’s describes Cadbury Darkmilk ice creams as sticks with a milk-chocolate-flavoured sauce and a milk-chocolate coating described as having high cocoa content.

  • The Darkmilk description makes clear that this is a milk-chocolate option rather than a dark-chocolate cone.
  • It does not meet a cone requirement, and the cited description does not state a cocoa percentage for the coating.

A stick-format option on Joybuy

This option is for a home freezer treat when a stated cocoa percentage for the dark-chocolate coating matters more than having a wafer cone.

Magnum Intense Dark Chocolate Ice Cream 3 x 100ml pack

Magnum Intense Dark Chocolate Ice Cream 3 x 100ml

Consider this three-stick pack if you can use a stick instead of a cone: Joybuy describes its dark-chocolate coating as 70% cocoa. That percentage describes the coating, not the ice-cream centre. Check the current allergen label and keep the product frozen according to its pack instructions.

View on Joybuy

Questions about cones, cocoa and school

Is Cornetto Chocolate a high-cocoa ice-cream cone?

Its product information does not establish that description. Wall’s describes chocolate and vanilla ice creams topped with dark-chocolate curls; Tesco lists 4% fat-reduced cocoa powder and 2% cocoa mass among the ingredients, but these figures do not give a high-cocoa percentage for the whole cone.

What if I want a 70% cocoa dark-chocolate coating?

Magnum Intense Dark is a stick-format option whose coating is described by Sainsbury’s and Joybuy as 70% cocoa. Choose it only if a stick meets your format preference; the claim applies to the coating, not the ice-cream centre.

Can an ice-cream cone go in a school packed lunch?

Check the individual school’s packed-lunch and allergy policy before sending one, and make sure appropriate frozen storage is available until serving. Do not assume an ordinary lunchbox will keep an ice-cream cone frozen.

Which allergens are listed for Cornetto Chocolate?

Tesco lists milk and wheat in Cornetto Chocolate’s ingredients and says it may contain rye, barley, oat, soya, almond, hazelnut and pistachio. Check the current pack for the exact variant before serving it to someone with an allergy.