What should you check?
Decide whether cone presentation or a stated cocoa percentage comes first, then check portions and ingredients for the guests you are serving.
| Priority |
What to check |
Your needs |
| Chocolate and format |
Check whether it is a cone or stick, and what any cocoa percentage describes. Tesco lists 3% dark chocolate pieces in Cornetto Chocolate; Sainsbury’s states 70% cocoa for the coating on Magnum Intense Dark sticks. |
I want cones with a dark-chocolate element, or I am happy to serve sticks to get a stated cocoa percentage. |
| Portions |
Compare the number of items and the volume of each: six 90 ml Cornetto cones, four 110 ml Tesco cones or three 100 ml Magnum sticks, according to their retailer listings. |
There should be enough individual desserts for the guests who want one; pack sizes are not interchangeable. |
| Ingredients |
Read the exact pack’s ingredients and may-contain statements. Cornetto Chocolate lists milk and wheat; Tesco Chocolate & Nut Cones contain hazelnuts and may contain peanuts and other nuts. |
Before serving, I need to check whether each guest can have the product I choose. |
| Frozen storage |
Follow the pack instructions. Tesco specifies −18°C or cooler for its Chocolate & Nut Cones and says not to refreeze them after thawing; Sainsbury’s lists −18°C storage for Magnum Intense Dark. |
I need freezer space until it is time to serve dessert. |
| Nutrition information |
Compare figures on the same per-serving basis. Tesco lists 17.6 g sugars and 7.7 g saturates per Chocolate & Nut Cone. |
If nutrition figures affect my choice, I want to compare the portions I would actually serve. |
Relevant brand and retailer options
These references describe particular products, not every ice cream sold under each name.
Cornetto
Cornetto Chocolate is the cone-format option when individual servings and a dark-chocolate element matter.
- Tesco lists six 90 ml cones with 3% dark chocolate pieces and 9% chocolate flavour coating.
- The listing does not state a high cocoa percentage for this cone. It lists milk and wheat and a may-contain statement covering other cereals, soya and nuts.
Magnum
Magnum Intense Dark is a stick-format alternative when the stated cocoa percentage matters more than serving cones.
- Sainsbury’s lists a 70% cocoa dark-chocolate coating on a pack of three 100 ml sticks.
- They are not cones. The listing states that the product contains milk and soya and may contain almond.
Tesco
Tesco Chocolate & Nut Cones offer a chocolate-and-hazelnut cone option rather than a stated high-cocoa dark option.
- The retailer lists four 110 ml cones with hazelnut pieces.
- The product contains hazelnuts and may contain peanuts and other nuts. Check the current pack label before serving.
Joybuy product option
This stick option is for a party where a stated dark-chocolate cocoa percentage takes priority over serving ice cream in cones.
Image unavailable
Magnum Intense Dark Chocolate Ice Cream Sticks, 3 x 100 ml
Consider these if a stated 70% cocoa dark-chocolate coating matters more than cone presentation. This is a three-stick pack, not cones; the listing identifies milk and soya and a may-contain almond statement. Keep frozen according to the pack instructions and check its label before serving guests with allergies.
View on Joybuy
Questions about serving and choosing
Does a cone with dark chocolate pieces have a high cocoa percentage?
Not necessarily. Tesco lists 3% dark chocolate pieces in Cornetto Chocolate but does not state a high cocoa percentage for the cone. Sainsbury’s states 70% cocoa for the coating on Magnum Intense Dark, which is sold as sticks.
How many packs will I need for a New Year’s Eve party?
Count the guests who want dessert, then divide that number by the items in the chosen pack and round up to a whole pack. Retailer listings show six 90 ml Cornetto cones, four 110 ml Tesco Chocolate & Nut Cones or three 100 ml Magnum Intense Dark sticks per pack.
Which allergens should I check on chocolate ice cream cones?
Check the exact pack’s ingredients and may-contain statements before serving. Tesco lists milk and wheat for Cornetto Chocolate, with a wider may-contain statement; its Chocolate & Nut Cones contain hazelnuts and may contain peanuts and other nuts. Product information can change, so use the physical pack label for the final check.
Do England’s HFSS promotion or school-food rules prohibit these desserts at a home party?
The cited guidance does not establish a prohibition on serving them at a home party. Department of Health and Social Care guidance concerns specified retail promotions and placement by businesses operating in and selling to England; Department for Education guidance concerns food and drink provided in state-funded schools in England. Neither establishes the HFSS classification of an individual cone or stick listed here.
How should I store the desserts before serving?
Keep them frozen as directed on the exact pack. Tesco specifies −18°C or cooler for Chocolate & Nut Cones and says not to refreeze them after thawing; Sainsbury’s lists −18°C storage for Magnum Intense Dark.