Who might choose each option?

Shoppers looking for a stated cocoa percentage

If the cocoa content of the coating is central to your choice, look for a percentage on the exact product rather than relying on the word “dark”.

People sharing smaller sticks

An eight-pack of 70ml choc ices offers more individual sticks than a three-pack of 100ml sticks for a TV night.

Shoppers checking allergens

If milk, soya or nuts are a concern, read the ingredients and precautionary statements on the specific pack before serving it.

What should you check before choosing?

Start with what “dark” means on the pack, then compare stick size and the information that matters for the people eating them.

PriorityWhat to checkYour needs
Cocoa disclosure Look for a percentage stated for the coating. According to Magnum’s description at Sainsbury’s, Intense Dark has a coating made with 70% cocoa; “dark chocolate flavour” alone makes no equivalent claim. I want a stated cocoa percentage, rather than choosing solely by the word “dark”.
Stick and pack size Compare the number of sticks and millilitres per stick: the researched Magnum pack is 3 × 100ml; the Tesco, Sainsbury’s and ASDA packs are each 8 × 70ml. For sharing during a film, I would rather have more, smaller individual sticks. For a 100ml serving, the three-pack may fit my plans.
Per-stick nutrition Read energy, sugars and saturates per stick on the current label. Check the serving quantity before comparing figures given per 100g or 100ml. I want to compare what one stick provides, particularly if someone might have more than one.
Allergens Read the current pack’s ingredients and precautionary statements, including those concerning milk, soya and nuts. Before I serve these to someone with an allergy, I need information for the exact product and pack.
Frozen storage Follow the pack’s freezing and thawing instructions, and check them before putting the sticks away. I need to be able to store the pack as directed until TV night.

What is easy to overlook?

  • Assuming “dark” specifies the cocoa content

    A dark-chocolate-flavour coating does not tell you its cocoa percentage. That distinction matters if a stated percentage is the reason you are choosing the product.

    Check the exact pack or listing for a percentage that applies to the coating.

  • Judging the serving by calories alone

    Stick sizes differ, and an energy figure does not also tell you the sugars or saturates in that serving.

    Compare the current label’s per-stick figures and decide how many sticks you plan to serve.

  • Relying on the product name for allergy information

    A name such as “dark choc ice” cannot establish which ingredients or precautionary allergen statements apply to a particular pack.

    Read the physical pack before serving, especially where milk, soya or nuts matter.

Relevant brand and own-label options

Magnum

Magnum Intense Dark is the three-stick, 100ml-per-stick option for shoppers comparing a stated cocoa percentage.

  • According to Magnum’s product description at Sainsbury’s, its dark chocolate coating is made with 70% cocoa.
  • Check whether a 100ml stick is the serving size you want.

Tesco

Tesco Dark Choc Ices are an eight-pack of 70ml vanilla-flavour ice creams with a dark-chocolate-flavour coating.

  • Eight individual sticks allow smaller servings or sharing.
  • Check the pack for a cocoa percentage if that is important to you; the coating description alone does not specify one.

Sainsbury’s

Sainsbury’s Dark Choc Ices are another eight-pack of 70ml sticks with vanilla-flavour ice cream and a dark-chocolate-flavoured coating.

  • The 70ml stick size offers an alternative to the researched 100ml Magnum stick.
  • Do not infer a cocoa percentage from “dark chocolate flavoured”.

ASDA

ASDA Dark Choc Ices are sold as eight 70ml sticks with a dark choc coating.

  • The eight-pack provides individual sticks for sharing.
  • Check the exact pack if a stated cocoa percentage is a deciding factor.

Joybuy product options

This Joybuy option is for a TV-night snack where a stated cocoa percentage in the dark chocolate coating matters.

Magnum Intense Dark Chocolate Ice Cream, pack of three 100ml sticks

Magnum Intense Dark Chocolate Ice Cream 3 × 100ml

For a TV-night choice based on cocoa disclosure, Magnum’s description at Sainsbury’s states that this product’s dark chocolate coating is made with 70% cocoa. The pack contains three 100ml sticks; check the current pack for nutrition and allergens. Joybuy’s listing reports the item out of stock, so check its current availability before planning to buy it.

View on Joybuy

Questions about dark frozen snacks

Does “dark chocolate flavour” mean a high cocoa percentage?

No: that wording alone does not specify a cocoa percentage. If a stated percentage matters, check the exact product; according to Magnum’s description at Sainsbury’s, Intense Dark has a coating made with 70% cocoa.

Which packs offer smaller sticks for a TV night?

The researched Tesco, Sainsbury’s and ASDA Dark Choc Ices each come as eight 70ml sticks, compared with three 100ml Magnum Intense Dark sticks. Choose the serving size you want, then compare nutrition per stick on the current packs.

What should I check before serving someone with an allergy?

Read the physical pack’s ingredients and precautionary allergen statements for the exact product. Pay particular attention to milk, soya and nut information where relevant; the product name is not an allergy guide.

How should I store the sticks until TV night?

Follow the frozen-storage and thawing instructions on the pack. Check those directions when you put the sticks away and before serving them.