Who is each option for?

Shoppers looking for a stated cocoa percentage

If a high-cocoa coating is the deciding factor, check for an explicit figure rather than relying on the word “dark”. Tesco describes the coating on Magnum Collection Intense Dark Chocolate as containing 70% cocoa.

Households topping up a shared freezer

Count the individual treats as well as the pack volume. Sainsbury's Dark Choc Ices contain eight 70ml portions; the compared Magnum pack contains three 100ml sticks. Those formats suit different numbers of servings.

Shoppers checking allergens

Dark chocolate does not establish whether a frozen treat is suitable for a particular allergy. The compared products contain milk and soya and carry nut-related information, so read the declaration on the exact pack before serving.

What should you check before buying?

For a quick top-up, settle the coating and number of servings first, then check the details that matter for the people eating them.

Priority What to check Your needs
Cocoa content Look for an explicit cocoa percentage on the exact product. Tesco states 70% cocoa for the coating on Magnum Collection Intense Dark Chocolate; Sainsbury's describes its Dark Choc Ices as having a dark-chocolate-flavoured coating. Is a stated high-cocoa coating important to me, or is a dark-chocolate flavour enough?
Portions Count the servings and compare their sizes: Sainsbury's lists 8 x 70ml, while Tesco lists 3 x 100ml for the compared Magnum pack. Check the current pack and unit price if value affects your choice. For a shared freezer, I may need more individual treats; for fewer dessert servings, I may prefer larger sticks.
Allergens Read the ingredients and precautionary statements on the exact pack. Both compared dark products contain milk and soya; Sainsbury's gives a nut-allergy warning, while Tesco lists a may-contain warning for almonds and nuts. If someone eating these has an allergy, the current pack's wording matters more than the product's dark-chocolate name.
Serving nutrition Compare the nutrition information for an actual serving and check its stated size. A 70ml choc ice and a 100ml stick are not equivalent portions. I want to compare what each person would eat, rather than assume a dark coating says anything about the serving's nutrition.
Frozen storage Check the storage temperature and thawing instructions on the chosen pack. Tesco's Magnum listing specifies storage at -18°C. Can I take the treats home and put them straight into suitable freezer storage?

Common buying mistakes

  • Taking “dark” to mean high cocoa

    A dark-chocolate-flavoured coating is not the same claim as a coating with a stated cocoa percentage. The distinction matters if high cocoa is your reason for buying.

    Look for an explicit percentage on the exact product; do not infer one from the flavour description.

  • Judging the box without counting servings

    Sainsbury's Dark Choc Ices provide eight 70ml portions, while the compared Magnum pack provides three 100ml sticks. Neither the box size nor the serving count alone tells you which format fits the occasion.

    Decide how many people or occasions the pack needs to cover, then compare the current pack and unit prices.

  • Assuming dark chocolate avoids common allergens

    The compared dark products contain milk and soya and carry nut-related information. A flavour description is not an allergen declaration.

    Check the ingredients and precautionary wording on the physical pack before serving it to someone with an allergy.

  • Substituting fruit ice for a cocoa requirement

    Calippo Mini Orange & Lemon-Lime is a fruit ice, not a dark-chocolate treat. Joybuy lists 12g to 14g sugars per portion, depending on flavour.

    Consider fruit ice if a fruity option is what you want instead; compare the nutrition information for the flavour and portion you choose.

Relevant brands and retailers

Magnum

The Collection Intense Dark Chocolate 3 x 100ml pack is an option when a stated high-cocoa coating takes priority over a larger serving count.

  • Tesco describes this specific product's dark-chocolate coating as containing 70% cocoa.
  • The compared pack contains milk and soya and carries a may-contain warning for almonds and nuts. Do not assume other Magnum products have the same coating or ingredients.

Sainsbury's

Its Dark Choc Ices offer eight 70ml portions for shoppers who want several smaller treats from one pack.

  • The product is described as vanilla ice cream in a dark-chocolate-flavoured coating.
  • The listing does not state a cocoa percentage. It contains milk and soya, and Sainsbury's says it is not suitable for customers with a nut allergy due to manufacturing methods.

Calippo

Mini Orange & Lemon-Lime is a fruit-ice alternative if dark chocolate is no longer the requirement.

  • Joybuy lists no allergens for this specific product.
  • It does not provide a dark-chocolate coating. Joybuy lists 12g to 14g sugars per portion, depending on flavour.

Tesco

Tesco lists the Magnum Collection Intense Dark Chocolate 3 x 100ml pack, providing a product-specific description to check when cocoa content matters.

  • Its listing states the coating's 70% cocoa content and the pack's three 100ml servings.
  • Check the current product listing and pack for details that could affect your purchase, including allergens and storage instructions.

Dark-chocolate options and an alternative

These examples are ordered by fit with a stated high-cocoa requirement, followed by the number of portions. The fruit ice is included only as an alternative if dark chocolate is no longer required; this is not a sales or taste ranking.

Rank Product Main specifications Reason for inclusion Platform
1 Magnum Collection Intense Dark Chocolate, 3 x 100ml Three 100ml ice cream sticks; coating stated as 70% cocoa. Tesco's listing makes this the explicit high-cocoa option in this comparison. It suits a top-up needing three larger servings. Tesco
2 Sainsbury's Dark Choc Ices, 8 x 70ml Eight 70ml portions; dark-chocolate-flavoured coating. Sainsbury's listing makes this a choice for more individual servings, but it does not state a cocoa percentage for the coating. Sainsbury's
3 Wall's Calippo Mini Orange & Lemon-Lime, 5 x 80ml Five 80ml fruit-ice lollies; not a dark-chocolate product. Joybuy lists this as a fruit-ice option. It is relevant only if a fruity treat, rather than a high-cocoa coating, is the priority. Joybuy

Joybuy products for a high-cocoa top-up

This Joybuy option is a three-stick dark-chocolate ice cream pack for shoppers prioritising a stated cocoa percentage.

Magnum Intense Dark Chocolate Ice Cream, three 100ml sticks

Magnum Intense Dark Chocolate Ice Cream, 3 x 100ml

The Joybuy product description states a 70% cocoa dark-chocolate shell and three 100ml sticks, fitting a top-up where a stated cocoa percentage matters. It lists milk and soya and a possible almond or nut warning; check the current pack before serving. Keep frozen below -18°C and do not refreeze after thawing.

View on Joybuy

Frequently asked questions

Does “dark chocolate” always mean a high-cocoa coating?

No. Tesco states 70% cocoa for the coating on Magnum Collection Intense Dark Chocolate, while Sainsbury's describes its Dark Choc Ices as having a dark-chocolate-flavoured coating without stating a cocoa percentage. Check the exact product description if the percentage is important to you.

Should I buy three larger sticks or eight smaller choc ices?

Choose according to the servings you need: the compared Magnum pack has three 100ml sticks, while Sainsbury's Dark Choc Ices has eight 70ml portions. Count the portions first, then compare the current unit price if value matters to your top-up.

Are these dark-chocolate treats suitable for someone with a milk, soya or nut allergy?

Do not assume they are. The compared Sainsbury's and Magnum products contain milk and soya; Sainsbury's gives a nut-allergy warning, and Tesco lists a may-contain warning for almonds and nuts on the Magnum pack. Read the current pack's allergen information before serving.

How should I store the frozen treats after a top-up shop?

Follow the instructions on the product you buy. Tesco's Magnum listing specifies storage at -18°C; Joybuy's Calippo Mini listing says -18°C or cooler and says not to refreeze after thawing.

Does a dark coating tell me the sugar or energy in each treat?

No. Check the nutrition information and serving size on the current pack. The compared Sainsbury's choc ices are 70ml each and the Magnum sticks are 100ml each, so figures per individual treat describe different-sized portions.