Who are you serving?

Guests looking for dark chocolate

If the request is for a pronounced cocoa flavour, distinguish a declared cocoa percentage from a coating described only as dark chocolate or dark-chocolate flavoured. Check the size of each stick as well as the pack count.

Groups with mixed preferences

A chocolate-coated ice-cream stick and a separate fruit lolly give guests different choices. A fruit lolly does not replace a cocoa-forward dessert for someone who specifically wants chocolate.

Guests who need allergen checks

Check each current pack before serving. The chocolate products discussed here list milk and soya, and their precautionary allergen statements differ.

What should you check?

Start with the type of frozen treat guests want, then compare the number and size of individual portions. Use the pack in hand for ingredient, nutrition and storage details.

Priority What to check Your needs
Cocoa flavour Look for a cocoa percentage stated for the exact coating. Magnum Intense Dark declares 70% cocoa; a dark-chocolate description alone does not give the same figure. I’m buying for people who asked for a distinctly cocoa-forward dessert, rather than just a chocolate-flavoured coating.
Portions Count individual pieces and compare their stated volumes. The product listings describe three 100 ml Magnum sticks, three 90 ml Nuii sticks and eight 70 ml Waitrose Essential choc ices. Will everyone have one dessert, or would smaller pieces work better alongside other snacks?
Nutrition Read energy, sugars and saturates per individual serving, alongside its volume. A fruit lolly and an ice-cream stick are different products, so one figure alone does not describe the whole choice. I want to compare the portion I’ll actually serve, not mistake a pack total for a single lolly.
Allergens and storage Check the current ingredients, emphasised allergens, any ‘may contain’ statement and the frozen-storage instructions for each product. Someone in the group may need an ingredient check, and the treats need to remain frozen until serving.

Common buying mistakes

  • Assuming ‘dark’ states the cocoa percentage

    Tesco describes Magnum Intense Dark as having a coating made with 70% cocoa. The researched Nuii listing describes dark chocolate without giving its cocoa percentage, while Waitrose Essential says ‘dark chocolate flavoured coating’.

    If a stated cocoa percentage matters, look for it on the exact product or current pack rather than treating these descriptions as equivalent.

  • Comparing boxes instead of servings

    Three 100 ml sticks and eight 70 ml choc ices offer different numbers and sizes of desserts. Pack counts alone also say nothing about nutrition per piece.

    Count the guests, then check the volume and nutrition information for one serving of each option you are considering.

  • Relying on an online allergen list at serving time

    Ingredients and precautionary statements vary between these products. A listing may not reflect the particular pack you have bought.

    Read the physical pack, including ingredients and ‘may contain’ wording, before offering it to anyone with a relevant allergy. Do not serve it if its suitability is uncertain.

  • Choosing chocolate for every guest

    A cocoa-forward ice-cream stick does not suit someone who would prefer a non-chocolate frozen treat.

    For mixed preferences, offer a fruit lolly as a separate choice rather than describing it as a substitute for dark chocolate.

Brand and product-line references

These examples illustrate different product descriptions to compare; a brand name alone does not establish the ingredients or cocoa content of every item it makes.

Magnum

Tesco’s listing for Magnum Collection Intense Dark describes a dark-chocolate coating made with 70% cocoa.

  • The stated percentage gives shoppers a specific coating claim to check against their cocoa preference.
  • This ice-cream stick contains milk and soya and may contain almond; check the current pack.

Nuii

Ocado describes Nuii Dark Chocolate & Nordic Berry as a chocolate ice-cream stick with blueberry sauce, dark chocolate and cocoa-bean pieces.

  • It combines a chocolate coating with a berry element.
  • The described listing does not give the coating’s cocoa percentage; check its allergen statements on the pack.

Waitrose Essential

Waitrose & Partners describes its eight-pack of Dark Choc Ices as vanilla ice cream with a dark-chocolate-flavoured coating.

  • Eight individual 70 ml bars provide more pieces per pack than the three-stick examples above.
  • The description does not state a cocoa percentage. The product contains milk and soya and may contain nuts.

Wall’s

Wall’s Twister Frrreeze is a fruit-based ice lolly for guests who want a non-chocolate option.

  • It offers a different flavour and format alongside chocolate ice-cream sticks.
  • It does not meet a request for a dark-chocolate coating; check its current allergen wording before serving.

Joybuy option for a cocoa-forward dessert

This ice-cream stick is an option when movie-night guests specifically want a dark-chocolate coating with a stated cocoa percentage.

Magnum Intense Dark Chocolate Ice Cream, three 100 ml sticks

Magnum Intense Dark Chocolate Ice Cream, 3 x 100 ml

For guests who want a cocoa-forward ice-cream stick, the listing describes a dark-chocolate shell made with 70% cocoa. The pack contains three individual 100 ml sticks. It contains milk and soya and may contain almond; check the current pack before serving. The listing instructs shoppers to store it below −18°C and not refreeze it once thawed.

View on Joybuy

Questions before movie night

Does ‘dark chocolate’ tell me how much cocoa is in the coating?

No. Tesco’s Magnum Intense Dark listing states that its coating is made with 70% cocoa, but the researched Nuii listing does not disclose a cocoa percentage. Waitrose Essential describes its coating as dark-chocolate flavoured. Check the wording for the exact product if a stated percentage matters to you.

Which pack offers more individual desserts?

Waitrose Essential Dark Choc Ices contains eight 70 ml bars, compared with three 100 ml Magnum Intense Dark sticks or three 90 ml Nuii Dark Chocolate & Nordic Berry sticks in the researched packs. More pieces does not establish a higher cocoa content.

Can I serve these chocolate sticks to a guest with an allergy?

Do not decide from the chocolate description alone. The researched Magnum, Nuii and Waitrose Essential products list milk and soya, while their precautionary statements differ. Read the current physical pack and do not serve a product when its suitability for that guest is uncertain.

How should I keep ice-cream sticks before serving?

Follow the instruction on the pack you buy. Tesco’s Magnum listing specifies storage at −18°C; Ocado’s Nuii listing says to keep it frozen below −18°C and not refreeze it once defrosted.

Is a fruit lolly a substitute for a dark-chocolate stick?

Not for a guest specifically asking for cocoa flavour. Wall’s Twister Frrreeze is a fruit-based lolly, so it makes more sense as a separate non-chocolate choice for a group with mixed preferences.