For older guests who can safely eat ordinary solid foods, choose a bar with a stated cocoa percentage if they enjoy a pronounced cocoa flavour, a plain block for sharing, or a small dark-coated wafer bar if an individual portion is more useful. Check the exact pack for nutrition and allergens: the word “dark” does not settle either question. If a guest has swallowing difficulties, an increased choking risk or a prescribed texture-modified diet, follow their care plan or clinical advice rather than selecting an ordinary bar on appearance.
Who is the chocolate for?
Start with whether each guest can safely eat ordinary solid chocolate; flavour and serving format come after that.
Hosts serving older guests without eating restrictions
If guests can safely chew and swallow ordinary foods, a stated cocoa percentage helps you select a dark chocolate that matches their flavour preference. Galaxy, for example, describes its Fusions 70% Cocoa bar as having an intense flavour.
Hosts planning individual portions
A small packaged bar avoids dividing a sharing block at the table. Check its serving size and nutrition rather than assuming a smaller dark-coated bar contains less sugar than another option.
Family members and care hosts following individual plans
For a guest with swallowing difficulties, an increased choking risk, food allergies or an individual nutrition plan, follow the relevant care guidance before choosing a bar. The International Dysphagia Diet Standardisation Initiative (IDDSI) says its Level 7 Regular Easy to Chew guidance is not intended for people with an identified increased choking risk.
What should you check before choosing?
Confirm that an ordinary solid food is suitable for the guest, then choose between a stated cocoa percentage, a sharing block and an individual portion.
Stated high-cocoa bar
Choose when: A guest enjoys a pronounced cocoa flavour and you want the percentage stated rather than inferred from “dark”; Galaxy identifies a Fusions bar as 70% cocoa.
Bear in mind: Cocoa percentage does not establish the bar’s sugar content, allergen suitability or suitability for someone with chewing or swallowing restrictions.
Plain sharing block
Choose when: Several guests can safely eat solid chocolate and you would rather serve pieces from a plain block; Cadbury describes Bournville Classic as a 180g dark chocolate bar.
Bear in mind: Check the block’s current pack if you need a particular cocoa percentage, serving size or ingredient information.
Individual dark-coated wafer
Choose when: A packaged portion is more convenient than breaking up a block; Nestlé lists its KitKat 2 Finger Dark Chocolate bar at 20.7g.
Bear in mind: A crisp wafer is not plain chocolate or a substitute for food prepared to a prescribed texture.
| Priority | What to check | Your needs |
| Food texture |
Confirm that ordinary solid chocolate or a crisp wafer fits the guest’s chewing and swallowing guidance. Follow any prescribed texture or care plan; IDDSI excludes people with an identified increased choking risk from its Level 7 Regular Easy to Chew guidance. |
Before serving a bar, I need to know that this guest can safely manage its texture. |
| Cocoa percentage |
Look for a percentage on the exact pack if cocoa content matters. Galaxy states 70% cocoa for its Fusions 70% Cocoa bar; a “dark” product name by itself does not specify a percentage. |
I’m choosing for someone who likes a pronounced cocoa flavour, so I want the percentage stated rather than guessed. |
| Serving and nutrition |
Compare the stated serving sizes and nutrition on the same basis, including sugars and saturated fat. GOV.UK explains that traffic-light labels show fat, saturated fat, sugars and salt; they do not replace the serving information on the pack. |
A clearly defined portion would help me plan the tea. In the Food Standards Agency and Ipsos Northern Ireland’s September–November 2024 survey of 611 people, 49% said they actively used traffic-light labelling when shopping for food; that figure describes those respondents, not older afternoon-tea guests. |
| Ingredients and allergens |
Read the current ingredients and allergen statements for the exact flavour and pack. The Food Standards Agency explains that precautionary allergen labelling can signal possible unintentional presence of a regulated allergen. |
If milk, wheat, nuts, soya or another allergen matters to a guest, I need to check this particular bar rather than rely on its colour or a previous purchase. |
Mistakes to avoid
-
Taking “dark” to mean high cocoa or less sugar
The name does not give a cocoa percentage or a sugar comparison. Nestlé lists 9.2g sugars in a 20.7g KitKat 2 Finger Dark Chocolate bar, while Galaxy explicitly states 70% cocoa for its Fusions 70% Cocoa bar; those are different product details, not a like-for-like nutrition comparison.
For a specific cocoa percentage, check the pack. To compare nutrition, use the stated serving sizes and values rather than the word “dark”.
-
Serving an ordinary bar despite texture restrictions
Ordinary solid chocolate and crisp wafers should not be treated as texture-modified foods. University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust’s dysphagia guidance warns that an unsuitable food texture can create a choking risk.
Follow the guest’s written texture guidance and ask their relevant clinician or care team when suitability is unclear. Do not assume that breaking or blending a bar makes it suitable for a prescribed IDDSI level.
-
Assuming dark chocolate avoids allergens
Colour and cocoa description cannot establish whether a particular bar contains an allergen or carries a cross-contact warning. The Food Standards Agency says precautionary allergen statements communicate possible unintentional presence of regulated allergens.
Check the current ingredients and allergen statement for every flavour and pack size being served.
Brand examples and formats
These examples illustrate product formats; a brand name alone does not establish the cocoa percentage, nutrition or ingredients of every bar it makes.
Galaxy
Galaxy describes a Fusions Dark Chocolate with 70% Cocoa bar, giving shoppers a stated percentage to consider for a guest who enjoys its described intense cocoa flavour.
- The Fusions 70% Cocoa bar states its cocoa percentage.
- Check the exact variant’s ingredients and nutrition; a cocoa percentage alone does not establish dietary suitability.
Cadbury
Cadbury describes Bournville Classic as a 180g dark chocolate bar, a block format that can be divided for table service.
- The stated 180g block size helps with planning a shared serving.
- Check the current pack if cocoa percentage, nutrition or ingredients affect your choice; the description “dark” does not settle them.
KitKat
Nestlé lists a 20.7g KitKat 2 Finger Dark Chocolate bar. Its dark coating comes in a wafer-bar format rather than a plain chocolate block.
- Nestlé states 104 kcal and 9.2g sugars for the 20.7g bar, allowing a check against another product’s stated serving.
- The crisp wafer texture is not a substitute for a prescribed texture-modified food; check the exact pack for ingredients and allergens.
Joybuy dark chocolate bars
These Joybuy options are dark chocolate blocks with cocoa percentages stated in their names, for guests who can safely eat ordinary solid chocolate. Compare their packs if portion nutrition or allergens affect what you serve.
No image available
Green & Black's 70% Dark Chocolate 90g
The stated 70% cocoa content makes this 90g block an option when you want a specified cocoa percentage for table sharing. Check the current pack’s portion nutrition and allergen statements before serving; it remains an ordinary solid bar.
Joybuy
No image available
Green & Black's 85% Dark Chocolate 90g
This 90g block states 85% cocoa, distinguishing it from the Green & Black's 70% variant. Choose by a guest’s flavour preference, then check the exact pack for portion nutrition and allergen statements.
Joybuy
No image available
Morrisons The Best 85% Cocoa Ecuador Dark Chocolate 100g
This 100g dark chocolate block states 85% cocoa. If sharing it at afternoon tea, decide the pieces to serve and check the current pack’s nutrition and allergen information; cocoa percentage alone does not establish either.
Joybuy
No image available
Morrisons The Best 72% Cocoa Dominican Republic Dark Chocolate 100g
This 100g block states 72% cocoa, so its labelled percentage differs from the Morrisons 85% bar. Check serving information, ingredients and allergen statements on the exact pack before putting it on the tea table.
Joybuy
No image available
Lindt Excellence 85% Cocoa Dark Chocolate 100g
The name states 85% cocoa for this 100g dark chocolate block. Check the current pack for serving-size nutrition and allergen statements if those details affect the pieces you offer.
Joybuy
Common questions
How can I identify a high-cocoa dark chocolate bar?
Look for a stated cocoa percentage on the current pack. Galaxy explicitly describes its Fusions Dark Chocolate with 70% Cocoa as a 70% cocoa product; the word “dark” on its own does not specify a percentage.
Can someone with dysphagia have an ordinary chocolate bar?
Do not serve an ordinary bar unless the person’s written care plan or relevant clinician confirms that its texture is suitable. IDDSI says its Level 7 Regular Easy to Chew guidance is not intended for people with an identified increased choking risk, and University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust warns that unsuitable texture can create a choking risk.
Does “dark” mean less sugar or fewer calories?
No conclusion about either value follows from the word “dark”. Compare the nutrition information using the products’ stated serving sizes: Nestlé, for example, lists 104 kcal and 9.2g sugars per 20.7g KitKat 2 Finger Dark Chocolate bar.
Are dark chocolate bars automatically free from milk or wheat?
No. Check the exact bar’s current ingredients and allergen statement rather than relying on its colour or name. The Food Standards Agency explains that precautionary allergen wording can indicate possible unintentional presence of a regulated allergen.
Should a chocolate bar replace a frail guest’s nutrition plan?
No. Follow the person’s individual nutrition and care guidance rather than treating an afternoon-tea bar as a substitute. Norfolk and Waveney Integrated Care System’s care-home guidance notes an increased risk of malnutrition among people living in care homes or requiring care.