Who is this for?

Hosts looking for a specified cocoa percentage

Check whether a listing gives the cocoa solids in the chocolate, rather than only the amount of chocolate in the biscuit. If that distinction matters to you, Lindt UK’s shortbread recipe offers a preparation route using a square of its 70% cocoa chocolate on each biscuit.

Hosts serving guests with different dietary requirements

Check the ingredients and allergen information on the packs you serve. Conventional shortbread and a free-from alternative have different ingredient profiles; a free-from label does not establish suitability for every guest.

Hosts planning how to serve a group

Think about whether packaged rounds, larger bakery biscuits or individually wrapped minis suit the number of guests and how you plan to put the biscuits out.

What matters when choosing?

Start with the chocolate declaration, then check the ingredients and serving format of the exact product you intend to put out.

PriorityWhat to checkYour needs
Cocoa declaration Distinguish the chocolate’s share of the finished biscuit from its cocoa-solids percentage. M&S lists 19% dark-chocolate chunks in its rounds, while Sainsbury’s lists 15% dark-chocolate chips in its double-chocolate rounds; both specify 39% minimum cocoa solids for that chocolate. These are declarations for the named products, not a measure of how every biscuit will taste. I want to know what “dark” means on the pack. If I specifically want chocolate with a declared high cocoa percentage, I’ll look for that figure rather than rely on the product name.
Guest ingredients Read the supplied pack’s ingredients, allergen information and precautionary warnings. Morrisons’ Free From Chocolate Chip Vegan Shortbread is labelled free from gluten, milk and egg, but its listing identifies oats and soya; check whether that combination suits the particular guest. Someone I’m serving has an ingredient requirement, so I need to check the exact pack instead of assuming that “dark chocolate”, “vegan” or “free from” covers it.
Serving format Compare biscuit size, count and wrapping, not count alone. Dean’s lists individually wrapped 10 g chocolate-chip minis in a foodservice case; Waitrose’s four-piece bakery shortbread contains both milk- and dark-chocolate chunks. For a table of guests, I may prefer smaller individual portions. If I choose larger bakery biscuits, I’ll plan how to serve those pieces.
Storage Follow the storage and after-opening instructions on the supplied pack. Where a pack calls for an airtight container after opening, plan for one before opening more biscuits than you intend to serve. I want to put biscuits out in stages, so I’ll check how the remaining biscuits should be kept.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Reading “dark” or “Belgian” as a cocoa percentage

    Dean’s states that chocolate chips make up 22% of its all-butter rounds, but that is not a cocoa-solids declaration. M&S and Sainsbury’s specify 39% minimum cocoa solids for the dark chocolate in the named rounds.

    If a particular cocoa percentage matters, look for a declaration about the chocolate itself. Lindt UK’s shortbread recipe uses a square of specified 70% cocoa chocolate on each biscuit, although that does not make the whole biscuit 70% cocoa.

  • Assuming a dietary label answers every allergy question

    A dark-chocolate name says nothing by itself about allergy suitability. Morrisons’ vegan free-from shortbread, for example, contains oats and soya.

    Ask guests about their requirements and check the ingredients and precautionary information on the packs actually supplied before serving.

  • Treating every biscuit as the same-sized serving

    An individually wrapped 10 g Dean’s mini and a biscuit from Waitrose’s four-piece bakery pack are different formats. Counting pieces alone will not tell you how they will work on the table.

    Check the stated weight, biscuit count and wrapping, then choose a serving plan that fits your gathering.

Brand and product-line references

These examples show how the stated chocolate and serving formats differ between specific products; a brand name alone does not establish the cocoa percentage or ingredients of another product in its range.

Dean’s

Dean’s lists all-butter chocolate-chip rounds and a separate foodservice mini format.

  • Its 140 g rounds declare 22% Belgian dark-chocolate chips; its 10 g chocolate-chip minis are individually wrapped.
  • The stated chip percentage does not give the chocolate’s cocoa-solids percentage, and the mini format is a different product.

M&S

M&S lists packaged all-butter chocolate-chunk shortbread rounds.

  • Its named rounds declare 19% dark-chocolate chunks, with 39% minimum cocoa solids in the chocolate.
  • Check the supplied pack’s ingredients and allergy warnings before serving; M&S cautions that product information can change.

Sainsbury’s

Sainsbury’s lists packaged double-chocolate rounds and a separate four-piece mixed-chocolate bakery shortbread.

  • The named double-chocolate rounds declare 15% dark-chocolate chips with 39% minimum cocoa solids in those chips.
  • The bakery shortbread contains both milk- and dark-chocolate chunks; its ingredients and format should not be treated as those of the packaged rounds.

Walker’s

Walker’s lists an everyday pack of chocolate-chip shortbread biscuits.

  • The named pack declares 10% dark-chocolate chips and 26% butter.
  • The chip percentage does not state the chips’ cocoa solids. Check the supplied pack for ingredients and precautionary warnings.

Waitrose

Waitrose lists a four-piece Belgian chocolate bakery shortbread with a mixed-chocolate recipe.

  • The named product declares 15% milk-chocolate chunks and 7% dark-chocolate chunks.
  • It is not a dark-only chocolate option. Check the supplied label for the current recipe.

Tesco

Tesco’s named Belgian chocolate-and-honeycomb shortbread combines dark chocolate with other ingredients.

  • The listing declares 10% Belgian dark-chocolate chunks alongside milk chocolate and honeycomb.
  • “Belgian dark” does not specify a cocoa-solids percentage. Check the current listing for ordering details rather than assuming the product can be ordered.

Morrisons

Morrisons lists a vegan free-from chocolate-chip shortbread for a different set of ingredient requirements.

  • The named product is labelled free from gluten, milk and egg and declares 11% Belgian dark-chocolate chips.
  • It contains oats and soya, and the stated chip percentage does not specify the chocolate’s cocoa solids.

Joybuy biscuit options for a coffee morning

These Joybuy options are chocolate biscuits for a coffee morning, not examples of the shortbread products discussed above. A digestive, oat biscuit or cookie may suit a different serving preference, but its name and format should not be mistaken for shortbread or for a declared high-cocoa chocolate.

McVitie's Digestives Dark Chocolate Twin Pack, 2 x 266g

McVitie’s Digestives Dark Chocolate Twin Pack, 2 x 266g

The twin pack offers dark-chocolate digestive biscuits to put out with coffee. Digestives are not shortbread, so choose them only if that change of biscuit type suits your gathering; check the supplied pack for the chocolate and allergen details you need.

View on Joybuy
Nairn's Gluten Free Biscuit Breaks, Chunky Oats, Dark & Coconut, 160g

Nairn’s Gluten Free Biscuit Breaks, Chunky Oats, Dark & Coconut, 160g

Consider this gluten-free oat biscuit if that named feature is relevant to a guest’s requirements. It is not all-butter shortbread; check the supplied pack’s full ingredients and allergen warnings before serving it.

View on Joybuy
Maryland Minis Double Choc Chip Cookies, 10Pk, 198g

Maryland Minis Double Choc Chip Cookies, 10Pk, 198g

This ten-pack provides mini double-chocolate-chip cookies when smaller cookies, rather than shortbread rounds, fit the serving plan. “Double choc” does not establish a cocoa-solids percentage; check the supplied pack if the chocolate specification or allergens matter to your guests.

View on Joybuy
Maryland Minis Choc Chip Cookies, 10Pk, 198g

Maryland Minis Choc Chip Cookies, 10Pk, 198g

This ten-pack is another mini-cookie format for putting biscuits out with coffee. These are chocolate-chip cookies, not shortbread; read the supplied ingredients if you need a particular chocolate or allergen profile.

View on Joybuy

Questions about serving shortbread

Does “dark chocolate” mean the shortbread contains 70% cocoa chocolate?

No. M&S and Sainsbury’s specify 39% minimum cocoa solids for the dark chocolate in the named shortbread rounds. Dean’s declaration of 22% chocolate chips describes how much of its biscuit is chips, not the cocoa-solids percentage of those chips.

Do packaged shortbread rounds need baking before serving?

The packaged rounds discussed here are biscuits to put out for guests. Making shortbread with specified high-cocoa chocolate is a separate preparation route: Lindt UK’s recipe calls for a square of its 70% cocoa dark chocolate on each biscuit and should be followed for its preparation and baking steps.

How should I keep shortbread after opening the pack?

Follow the instructions on the particular pack; several of the examined products call for cool, dry storage and an airtight container after opening. GOV.UK distinguishes a best-before date, which concerns quality, from a use-by date, which concerns safety.

What should I check before serving a guest with a food allergy?

Ask about the guest’s requirements and read the ingredients, allergen information and precautionary warnings on the packs actually supplied. A product labelled free from particular ingredients may still contain others: Morrisons’ named free-from shortbread, for example, lists oats and soya.