Who is choosing a gym-bag snack?

Gym-goers packing an occasional treat

If you want dark chocolate in your shortbread, check both the ingredient description and the pack format. A percentage of chocolate chunks or chips does not tell you the chocolate’s cocoa-solids percentage.

People choosing food around exercise

If the snack has a job to do around a workout, choose it for that purpose rather than for its chocolate description. University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust says the reason for eating, the activity and its duration affect snack choice.

Shoppers avoiding particular ingredients

Check the current pack against your requirements. Morrisons lists wheat, milk and soya in its conventional chocolate-chip rounds; its separate vegan free-from shortbread lists oats and soya.

What should you check before choosing?

Start with the chocolate ingredient, then decide whether the pack and portion will work in your bag. If you are choosing food for exercise rather than an occasional biscuit, consider that purpose separately.

PriorityWhat to checkYour needs
Chocolate details Read the chocolate ingredient and its share of the biscuit separately from any cocoa-solids figure. Morrisons lists 19% dark-chocolate chunks in its 175g rounds; Waitrose lists 4% dark chips at 39% minimum cocoa solids in its shortbread assortment. I want to know whether “dark” describes the chocolate I am looking for. If a particular cocoa-solids percentage matters, the biscuit’s chocolate-chunk percentage will not answer that question.
Portion and pack Check the number of biscuits, whether portions are individually wrapped and how much of the pack you intend to carry. Walker’s lists nine biscuits in a 175g pack; Dean’s lists approximately 100 individually wrapped 10g minis per case. A portion needs to travel in my bag without taking the whole pack. An individually wrapped mini may suit that routine, but a foodservice case is a much larger quantity to take home.
Exercise purpose Consider why and when you need a snack, plus the activity and its duration. University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust says those factors affect exercise-snack choice. If I need food for a specific workout-related purpose, I would not choose shortbread solely because it is convenient to carry.
Ingredients Read the supplied pack’s ingredients and allergen statement. Morrisons’ conventional rounds list wheat, milk and soya; its distinct vegan free-from recipe lists oats and soya. I need the particular recipe to fit the ingredients I avoid. A dark-chocolate or free-from description alone is not a complete ingredient check.

Common buying mistakes

  • Confusing chocolate inclusion with cocoa solids

    Morrisons’ 19% figure describes dark-chocolate chunks in its 175g shortbread rounds, not the chunks’ cocoa-solids content. Waitrose separately specifies 39% minimum cocoa solids for the dark chips in its assortment.

    If cocoa content decides your choice, look for a cocoa-solids figure for the chocolate itself rather than relying on the biscuit’s chunk percentage.

  • Choosing a large pack just for a portable portion

    Dean’s minis are individually wrapped, but they come in a foodservice case of approximately 100 packs. The examined M&S shortbread tin contains 400g of biscuits.

    Match the whole pack quantity, not just one biscuit, to how often you expect to carry it.

    A large case or tin may leave you with many portions beyond those you plan to put in your bag.

  • Treating “free from” as a complete ingredient check

    Morrisons’ vegan free-from chocolate-chip shortbread lists oats and soya, while its conventional dark-chocolate rounds list wheat, milk and soya.

    Read the ingredients and allergen statement on the supplied pack for the specific ingredients you need to avoid.

Brand and product-line references

These product-line details help distinguish chocolate ingredients and pack formats; they do not describe every biscuit made by each brand.

Morrisons

The examined range includes conventional all-butter dark-chocolate-chunk rounds and a separate vegan free-from chocolate-chip shortbread.

  • The 175g rounds list 19% dark-chocolate chunks; the 150g free-from recipe lists 11% Belgian dark-chocolate chips.
  • Neither listing gives a cocoa-solids percentage for its chocolate. The two recipes have different ingredients and should be checked separately.

Walker’s

Its examined Everyday Pack is a 175g all-butter chocolate-chip shortbread containing nine biscuits.

  • Walker’s lists 10% dark-chocolate chips in this pack.
  • The listing does not specify the chips’ cocoa-solids percentage or individual biscuit wrappers.

Dean’s

The examined chocolate-chip shortbread minis are individually wrapped 10g portions sold as a foodservice case.

  • Dean’s lists approximately 100 wrapped packs per case and 13% chocolate chips.
  • The listing does not identify the chips as dark chocolate, and the case quantity may be more than one person wants.

Waitrose

Its examined Scottish Shortbread Selection is an assortment, while its four Belgian Chocolate Shortbreads contain both milk and dark chocolate chunks.

  • Waitrose specifies 39% minimum cocoa solids for the dark chips listed at 4% in the assortment.
  • The assortment also includes plain biscuits. The separate four-biscuit product is not a dark-chocolate-only recipe.

M&S

The examined seasonal chocolate-chip shortbread comes in a 400g gift tin rather than a small snack pack.

  • Some biscuits contain dark-chocolate chips listed at 6%, with 39% minimum cocoa solids specified for those chips.
  • The tin contains other biscuits too; its format does not provide individually packed portions.

Joybuy biscuit options

These Joybuy options are cookies and digestive biscuits for the chocolate-and-gym-bag scenario, not shortbread substitutes with the same recipe. Check the chocolate details and pack format of the one you are considering.

Maryland Minis Choc Chip Cookies 10Pk 198g

Maryland Minis Choc Chip Cookies 10Pk 198g

The 10-pack format is worth considering if you want to take a portion in your gym bag, but these are cookies rather than shortbread. Check the ingredients if you specifically want dark chocolate, and check for a cocoa-solids figure if that affects your choice.

View on Joybuy
BOURBON Alfort Mini Chocolate Matcha Cookies 12 pcs 60g

BOURBON Alfort Mini Chocolate Matcha Cookies 12 pcs 60g

This 12-piece, 60g pack is a chocolate-and-matcha cookie option, not shortbread. If dark chocolate or a particular cocoa-solids percentage is essential, check the pack’s chocolate specification before choosing it.

View on Joybuy
McVitie's Digestives Dark Chocolate Twin Pack 2 x 266g

McVitie’s Digestives Dark Chocolate Twin Pack 2 x 266g

This is a dark-chocolate digestive biscuit, not shortbread. The twin pack contains two 266g packs, so decide how you would carry a portion rather than taking the full pack in your gym bag.

View on Joybuy

Questions about carrying shortbread

Is dark-chocolate shortbread a substitute for a workout snack?

Not automatically. University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust says exercise-snack choice depends on the reason for eating, the activity and how long it lasts. Choose for that purpose rather than assuming a chocolate biscuit meets it.

Does 19% dark-chocolate chunks mean 19% cocoa?

No. Morrisons’ 19% figure is the share of dark-chocolate chunks listed in its 175g shortbread rounds; it is not the chunks’ cocoa-solids percentage.

How should I carry shortbread in a gym bag?

Follow the pack’s storage directions and protect a portion if the biscuits are not individually wrapped. Dean’s identifies individual wrappers for its minis; the examined Walker’s pack does not specify them.

What should I check before choosing a case or tin?

Check the total quantity and how many portions you expect to carry. Dean’s minis come in a case of approximately 100 wrapped 10g packs, while the examined M&S shortbread comes in a 400g seasonal tin; neither format is equivalent to buying a small pack for one trip.