Shoppers looking for declared cocoa content
If high cocoa content is your reason for choosing dark chocolate, look for a cocoa-solids percentage on the product or pack. A dark coating alone does not tell you the percentage for the finished snack.
If a declared high cocoa content matters most, choose a dark chocolate bar that states its cocoa-solids percentage, then break off the portion you want: the Lindt Excellence and Green & Black's bars described here each state 70% cocoa solids and list 29g sugars per 100g. If a ready-sized snack matters more, KitKat 2 Finger Dark comes as a 20.7g chocolate-coated wafer, but its finished-product cocoa percentage is not stated. Check the current pack for ingredients and allergens whichever format you choose.
If high cocoa content is your reason for choosing dark chocolate, look for a cocoa-solids percentage on the product or pack. A dark coating alone does not tell you the percentage for the finished snack.
A 20.7g two-finger wafer bar gives you a defined individual pack. With a 90g or 100g dark chocolate bar, you decide how much to break off for mid-morning.
For a school food service covered by England's school food standards, choose a permitted non-chocolate option for the mid-morning break. Derbyshire County Council states that the standards cover food served across the school day, including mid-morning breaks, and exclude chocolate and chocolate-coated products.
Choose when: A stated cocoa-solids percentage is more important to you than an individually packed portion.
Trade-off: The researched Lindt Excellence and Green & Black's 70% bars weigh 100g and 90g respectively, so you need to break off the amount you intend to eat.
Choose when: A defined single pack is more useful for your mid-morning snack than choosing by cocoa percentage.
Trade-off: KitKat 2 Finger Dark contains wafer, milk and wheat; its manufacturer does not state a cocoa-solids percentage for the finished bar.
| Priority | What to check | Your needs |
|---|---|---|
| Cocoa content | Find the declared cocoa-solids percentage for the chocolate bar. Do not treat the word ‘dark’ on a coated wafer as a percentage for the whole snack. | I want a stated cocoa percentage rather than choosing by the wrapper alone. |
| Nutrition basis | Compare sugars per 100g on the same basis, then check the figures for the amount you plan to eat. Lindt Excellence and Green & Black's each list 29g sugars per 100g on the product information cited here. | Per-pack figures are useful for my snack, but I do not want to mistake a smaller pack for a like-for-like nutrition comparison. |
| Portion format | Check the individual pack weight or decide how much to break off a larger bar. KitKat UK gives 104 kcal and 9.2g sugars for one 20.7g KitKat 2 Finger Dark pack. | A ready-sized pack suits me, or I am happy to portion a larger bar before eating. |
| Ingredients and allergens | Read the current pack, including ‘may contain’ statements. KitKat 2 Finger Dark contains milk and wheat; the cited Lindt 70% bar may contain nuts, milk, soya and sesame. | Milk, wheat or possible allergen cross-contact could affect which product I can choose. |
| School food setting | If you are providing food through a service covered by England's school food standards, check the applicable rules before selecting a snack. Derbyshire County Council says those standards exclude chocolate and chocolate-coated products across the school day. | I am buying for a covered school mid-morning break, rather than for private consumption. |
A dark-coated wafer and a bar declaring 70% cocoa solids are different products. The word ‘dark’ does not establish the cocoa percentage of the finished wafer snack.
If cocoa content drives your choice, look for a declared cocoa-solids percentage and check which product it describes.
KitKat UK reports figures for a 20.7g individual pack, while the cited high-cocoa bars weigh 90g or 100g. Their whole-pack figures would describe different amounts of food.
Use per-100g figures for a like-for-like nutrition comparison, then consider the amount you intend to eat.
KitKat 2 Finger Dark contains milk and wheat. Lindt states that its 70% bar may contain nuts, milk, soya and sesame, despite being made to a vegan recipe.
If an allergy or intolerance affects your choice, read the ingredients and precautionary statements on the current pack.
Derbyshire County Council says England's school food standards cover mid-morning breaks and exclude chocolate and chocolate-coated products in covered provision.
Choose a permitted non-chocolate option for that setting. For provision outside England, check the rules applicable to that school.
The Lindt Excellence Dark 70% 100g bar provides an explicit cocoa declaration for this comparison.
The researched Organic 70% dark chocolate is a 90g bar with a stated cocoa percentage.
KitKat 2 Finger Dark is an individually sized, dark chocolate-coated wafer rather than a plain dark chocolate bar.
Cadbury describes Bournville Classic as a 100g dark chocolate bar.
These options include bars with a stated cocoa percentage for portioning yourself and an individually sized dark chocolate-coated wafer. Compare the pack format as well as the chocolate description.
No image available
For a snack chosen by declared cocoa content, break off a portion from this 90g bar. The listing states at least 70% cocoa solids and 29g sugars per 100g, with 5.1g sugars for an 18g reference serving. It identifies possible milk and nut allergens; check the current pack if these matter.
No image available
This 100g bar offers a stated cocoa percentage for shoppers willing to portion a mid-morning piece. The listing declares at least 72% cocoa solids and 20.7g sugars per 100g, or 4.1g for its 20g reference serving. It lists soya and possible gluten, milk, nuts and peanuts; check the current pack where allergens matter.
No image available
For a dark bar with raspberry pieces, decide how much of this 90g bar you want as a snack. The listing states at least 70% cocoa solids, 3% freeze-dried raspberry pieces and 27g sugars per 100g. It identifies milk and possible gluten and nut allergens; check the current pack if relevant.
No image available
Each of the eight wafer bars is an individually sized 20.7g snack. KitKat UK lists 104 kcal and 9.2g sugars per bar. This is a dark chocolate-coated wafer, not a bar with a stated cocoa-solids percentage for the finished snack; the Joybuy listing says it contains milk and wheat.
No. Check for a cocoa-solids percentage on the particular product. Lindt Excellence Dark 70% and Green & Black's Organic 70% state their percentages, while KitKat 2 Finger Dark is a chocolate-coated wafer without a stated cocoa percentage for the finished bar.
Compare nutrition per 100g first, then consider the amount you intend to eat. Break off your chosen portion from a larger bar; a 20.7g KitKat 2 Finger Dark pack already defines an individual amount.
Not in a school food service covered by England's school food standards. The Requirements for School Food Regulations 2014 define confectionery to include chocolate and chocolate-coated products, and Derbyshire County Council states that the standards exclude these products from food provided across the school day, including mid-morning breaks. This does not describe private consumption or establish the rules for schools elsewhere in the UK.
No. Lindt says its Excellence Dark 70% bar is made to a vegan recipe but may contain milk because it is made in a facility that uses milk. Check the current pack's allergen statement if milk is relevant to your choice.