Who is each format for?

Hosts comparing cocoa content

If the strength of the chocolate matters to your choice, look for a cocoa-solids figure rather than relying on “dark” in the name. Tesco states a minimum of 48% cocoa solids for the dark chocolate in its 282 g twin pack; check availability before choosing it for a particular date.

Hosts setting out a shared tea table

M&S describes its 250 g Dark Chocolate Jaffa Cakes as suitable for sharing. The boxed format may suit a communal plate, provided the exact product is in stock and its allergen information suits your guests.

Hosts serving smaller portions

Waitrose lists five 25 g servings in its 125 g Mini Jaffa Cakes pack. Mini cakes may fit alongside other items on the table, but check the exact pack’s ingredients and allergen advice before serving.

What should you check before buying?

Decide whether the chocolate’s declared cocoa content, the way you will serve the cakes or guests’ dietary requirements will determine the pack you buy.

Priority What to check Your needs
Cocoa content Look for a cocoa-solids percentage for the chocolate itself. Tesco states at least 48% cocoa solids for the dark chocolate in its 282 g twin pack. A percentage of dark chocolate in the whole cake measures something different. “Dark” alone does not tell me the cocoa-solids level. If a declared figure is essential, I’ll check the exact pack and confirm that Tesco’s twin pack is in stock.
Serving format M&S lists a 250 g pack described as suitable for sharing. Waitrose lists five 25 g servings in its 125 g Mini Jaffa Cakes pack. Check how many packs you want alongside the rest of the spread. For a shared plate, I may prefer a larger box. If guests will take smaller portions among other foods, mini cakes make more sense for my table.
Allergens Read the ingredients and precautionary statements on the exact pack. M&S says its Dark Chocolate Jaffa Cakes are not suitable for people with nut or peanut allergy; other products have different allergen statements. I need to know whether each guest can have the particular cakes I’m serving, rather than assuming all Jaffa cakes have the same ingredients.

What could complicate your plans?

  • Assuming “dark” means a stated cocoa level

    “Dark chocolate” identifies the coating, but it does not by itself give its cocoa-solids percentage. A figure for how much of the cake is chocolate answers a different question.

    If cocoa content matters to your choice, look for a cocoa-solids statement on the exact version you intend to buy.

  • Planning around a pack before checking stock

    Tesco’s listing for the twin pack with a declared 48% minimum cocoa-solids level was marked out of stock when reviewed. Its stated specification does not establish that you can buy it for your event.

    Check availability close to the party and decide whether a sharing pack or mini cakes would meet your serving needs if it is unavailable.

  • Using one product’s allergy advice for another

    Ingredient and precautionary statements differ between the Tesco, M&S, Waitrose, ASDA and McVitie’s products described here. M&S specifically says its Dark Chocolate Jaffa Cakes are not suitable for people with nut or peanut allergy.

    Read the physical pack you will serve and arrange a suitable alternative where a guest’s requirements call for one.

Brand and product-line references

These details concern the named products, not every Jaffa cake sold under each brand.

Tesco

Tesco’s 282 g Jaffa Cakes Twin Pack is relevant when a stated cocoa-solids level is the deciding factor.

  • Tesco states that its dark chocolate contains at least 48% cocoa solids.
  • The listing was marked out of stock when reviewed; check availability before relying on it for a party.

M&S

M&S describes its 250 g Dark Chocolate Jaffa Cakes as a teatime product for sharing.

  • The 250 g boxed format offers a way to set out cakes for a shared table.
  • M&S does not state a cocoa-solids percentage and says this product is not suitable for people with nut or peanut allergy.

Waitrose

Waitrose Mini Jaffa Cakes offer a smaller format for a spread with several foods.

  • Waitrose lists a 125 g pack with five 25 g servings and dark chocolate making up 24% of the ingredients.
  • That ingredient percentage is not a cocoa-solids percentage; check the pack’s allergen information before serving.

ASDA

ASDA’s 150 g Jaffa Cakes are a standard-size own-label option with dark chocolate.

  • ASDA lists dark chocolate as 17% of the ingredients.
  • This does not establish the chocolate’s cocoa-solids level. The listing identifies wheat, soya and egg and says the product may contain milk.

McVitie’s

McVitie’s Original Jaffa Cakes provide the familiar sponge, orange filling and dark-chocolate format.

  • McVitie’s lists dark chocolate as 19% of the ingredients in its Original Jaffa Cakes.
  • That figure does not state the chocolate’s cocoa-solids level. Check the allergen information on the exact pack.

Joybuy Jaffa cake options

These McVitie’s packs offer different ways to serve Jaffa cakes at afternoon tea: a triple pack, a larger box and individual snack packs. Choose by the format you need; their presence here does not establish a declared cocoa-solids level.

McVitie’s Jaffa Cakes Original Triple Pack 330 g

McVitie’s Jaffa Cakes Original Triple Pack 330 g

The 330 g triple-pack format is an option for setting out cakes to share at afternoon tea. McVitie’s states that dark chocolate makes up 19% of its Original Jaffa Cakes; this is not a cocoa-solids figure. Check the exact pack’s allergen advice before serving.

View on Joybuy
McVitie’s 80 Jaffa Cakes 1.07 kg

McVitie’s 80 Jaffa Cakes 1.07 kg

The box contains 80 cakes and weighs 1.07 kg, a format to consider when planning for a larger group. Do not use the count alone to judge how many guests it will serve; that depends on what else is on the table. Check the exact pack for cocoa-solids and allergen information.

View on Joybuy
McVitie’s The Original Jaffa Cakes Snack Pack, 6 packs of 3, 198 g

McVitie’s The Original Jaffa Cakes Snack Pack, 6 × 3, 198 g

Six packs of three cakes offer individual packs for a mixed afternoon-tea spread rather than one large shared box. The total weight is 198 g. Check the exact pack’s chocolate and allergen statements if either affects your choice.

View on Joybuy

Questions about dark Jaffa cakes

Which Jaffa cake here states a cocoa-solids percentage?

Tesco states that the dark chocolate in its 282 g Jaffa Cakes Twin Pack contains at least 48% cocoa solids. Its listing was marked out of stock when reviewed, so confirm availability before choosing it for a party.

Does “dark chocolate” tell me how much cocoa it contains?

No. “Dark chocolate” identifies the coating but does not give a cocoa-solids percentage. A statement that chocolate makes up a certain percentage of the cake also measures something different; check the chocolate’s cocoa-solids figure if that matters to you.

Can I serve dark Jaffa cakes to guests with nut allergies?

Do not assume that any dark Jaffa cake is suitable. M&S says its Dark Chocolate Jaffa Cakes are not suitable for people with nut or peanut allergy, and statements differ between products. Read the label on the exact pack before serving and provide an appropriate alternative where needed.