Who is choosing?

Shoppers checking fat content

Compare the fat figure per 100g for the exact mint you plan to buy. Tesco lists Polo Sugar Free Mint Tube Multipack at 0.5g fat per 100g; its sugar-free wording does not tell you whether it is Fairtrade.

Shoppers seeking Fairtrade-sourced cocoa

Read what the sourcing statement covers, then check nutrition separately. Waitrose Mint Thins state “Fairtrade sourced cocoa – mass balance” and list 26.5g fat per 100g, according to Waitrose & Partners.

Shoppers who require both

Look for a Fairtrade mark or a clear statement about the relevant ingredient alongside the fat-per-100g figure on the exact product. Do not treat evidence for one requirement as evidence for the other.

What should you check?

Start with the two labels that answer your separate questions: the nutrition declaration and the precise Fairtrade wording.

PriorityWhat to checkYour needs
Fat content Read fat per 100g on the current pack or nutrition panel. Compare the exact variety and pack, particularly when choosing between plain and chocolate mints. I want to compare mints using the same nutrition measure, rather than relying on “sugar-free” or “dark chocolate” wording.
Fairtrade sourcing Read the mark or statement closely and identify any named ingredient. Waitrose describes its Mint Thins as containing Fairtrade-sourced cocoa on a mass-balance basis. If sourcing is important to me, I want to know whether the statement concerns cocoa or makes a broader claim about the product.
Both requirements Check the Fairtrade wording and fat declaration on the same product and variant. Confirm the current pack details before choosing. A mint that answers only one of my two priorities is not enough; I need to check both on the one I buy.

Common buying mistakes

  • Reading Fairtrade wording as nutrition information

    Sourcing and fat content describe different aspects of a mint. Waitrose & Partners lists 26.5g fat per 100g for Mint Thins despite its Fairtrade-sourced cocoa statement.

    Check the sourcing statement and the fat-per-100g line independently.

  • Taking “sugar-free” to mean Fairtrade

    Sugar-free describes a product’s formulation, not the sourcing of its ingredients. Tesco’s Polo Sugar Free listing does not state a Fairtrade claim.

    If Fairtrade matters to you, look for the relevant mark or a clear sourcing statement on the exact mint.

  • Choosing from an older product listing

    Availability and the details needed for your decision must be checked for the product you are buying. The Waitrose & Partners listing for Divine Fairtrade Dark Chocolate After Dinner Mints marked it as unavailable.

    Confirm the current listing and read the pack’s nutrition and sourcing information before purchase.

Relevant brands and products

Polo

A plain-mint example for comparing fat content, rather than an established Fairtrade choice.

  • Tesco lists Polo Sugar Free Mint Tube Multipack at 0.5g fat per 100g.
  • The Tesco listing does not state a Fairtrade claim; check the current pack if that is essential.

Waitrose

Its Mint Thins illustrate why a cocoa-sourcing statement and a fat figure need separate checks.

  • Waitrose & Partners states “Fairtrade sourced cocoa – mass balance” for Mint Thins.
  • The same listing gives 26.5g fat per 100g.

Divine Chocolate

Waitrose & Partners lists Divine Fairtrade Dark Chocolate After Dinner Mints.

  • The retailer’s product name identifies these after-dinner mints as Fairtrade.
  • The examined Waitrose listing marked them as unavailable and did not give a fat figure for assessing this choice.

A Joybuy mint option

This sugar-free peppermint mint is an option to consider when choosing a plain mint. Check its current nutrition declaration and sourcing statement if fat content or Fairtrade status is essential to your purchase.

Smint Peppermint Sugar Free Mints 35g

Smint Peppermint Sugar Free Mints 35g

A sugar-free peppermint mint in a 35g pack. Sugar-free wording does not establish its Fairtrade status or fat content; check the current pack for either requirement.

View on Joybuy

Questions about the labels

Does sugar-free mean a mint is Fairtrade?

No. Sugar-free describes formulation, while a Fairtrade mark or sourcing statement addresses ingredients. Check both claims on the exact product if both matter to you.

What does Fairtrade-sourced cocoa tell me about a chocolate mint?

It identifies a claim about cocoa sourcing, not the mint’s fat content or necessarily every ingredient. Read the full wording on the pack, then check its nutrition declaration separately.

Can I judge a dark chocolate mint’s fat content from its name?

No. Use the fat-per-100g figure for the exact product. Waitrose & Partners lists 26.5g fat per 100g for its Mint Thins, which state Fairtrade-sourced cocoa.