Who is each format for?

Shoppers counting carbohydrate per meal

Check the carbohydrate declaration for the exact product and the amount you intend to eat. Waitrose and M&S give values per 100g for their plain breast fillets, while Sainsbury's lists the Birds Eye chargrill value per oven-baked grill. Those serving bases are different.

People cooking for one

Mini fillets or diced chicken may make it easier to select a meal-sized amount than a large whole fillet. Check whether pieces can be separated as needed and follow the chosen pack's thawing instructions.

Shoppers prioritising preparation time

A defined piece that cooks from frozen may suit a meal that has not been planned ahead. Birds Eye says its Original Chicken Chargrills cook from frozen; the two-portion pack lists 4.3g carbohydrate per oven-baked grill, so include that amount when planning the meal.

What should you check before buying?

Start with the carbohydrate value and its serving basis, then decide whether you want to portion raw chicken yourself or use a defined piece.

Priority What to check Your needs
Carbohydrate Read the exact product's ingredients and carbohydrate value. Check whether the figure is per 100g or per prepared piece, and include coatings, sauces and sides in the meal. I want to know how much carbohydrate comes from the portion I will actually eat, not just from the chicken named on the front of the pack.
Portion format Check pack size, any stated number of servings and whether frozen pieces can be separated. A multi-piece pack does not necessarily state an individual serving weight. Cooking for one, I may prefer to measure out raw pieces; on a busier day, I may prefer a product with a defined piece.
Preparation and ingredients Check whether the chicken is raw and must be defrosted, or is intended to cook from frozen. Read the full ingredient and allergen declarations for prepared products. I need preparation steps that fit my routine, and I need to check the ingredients of any coated or glazed chicken I choose.

Common mistakes to avoid

  • Assuming a chicken-breast product contains only chicken

    Birds Eye's Original Chicken Chargrills contain 75% chicken breast. The ingredient information also lists flour and starch, while Sainsbury's lists 4.3g carbohydrate per oven-baked grill.

    Read the whole ingredient list and the carbohydrate value for the portion, rather than relying on the chicken-breast wording.

  • Comparing per-100g and per-piece figures directly

    Waitrose and M&S report carbohydrate per 100g for their plain fillets; the Birds Eye figure is for one oven-baked grill. Neither figure alone tells you the carbohydrate in a different-sized portion.

    Use the label's serving basis and the amount you eat. Include any coating, sauce or side dish in the meal calculation.

  • Treating frozen raw chicken as ready to eat

    Raw frozen fillets still require preparation and cooking. Waitrose and M&S give thawing instructions and say not to refreeze their products after thawing.

    Follow the exact pack's defrosting and cooking instructions, and keep raw chicken separate from ready-to-eat food while preparing it.

Brand and retailer references

These examples illustrate differences between plain fillets, smaller pieces and prepared chicken; check the label of the product you select.

Waitrose

Waitrose lists frozen chicken breast fillets made with chicken breast fillet in a 1kg pack.

  • Waitrose declares less than 0.5g carbohydrate per 100g for this product.
  • The 1kg pack is not a stated single-serving format; its instructions say to defrost fully before use and not to refreeze after defrosting.

M&S

M&S lists Frozen Oakham Gold British Chicken Breast Fillets in a 1kg pack.

  • M&S declares less than 0.1g carbohydrate per 100g for these fillets.
  • A serving must be portioned from the pack. M&S instructs shoppers to defrost in a refrigerator and not to refreeze after thawing.

Birds Eye

Birds Eye Original Chicken Chargrills are a prepared, two-portion product intended to cook from frozen.

  • The stated portion count provides a defined piece for meal planning.
  • Sainsbury's lists 4.3g carbohydrate per oven-baked grill; the ingredient information includes flour, starch and milk protein.

Tesco

Tesco lists frozen diced chicken breast, whole breast fillets and mini fillets alongside prepared options.

  • The listed piece formats give shoppers different ways to plan a one-person portion.
  • Check the ingredients, carbohydrate declaration and handling instructions on the exact product chosen.

Asda

Asda lists frozen skinless, boneless chicken breast mini fillets with added water.

  • Mini fillets are a format to consider when choosing how much chicken to prepare.
  • Check the selected pack's carbohydrate declaration and whether its pieces can be separated for your intended portion.

Frozen chicken options on Joybuy

These frozen breast fillets, slices and strips are options for shoppers who want to measure out chicken for one meal. Check each product's ingredients, serving basis and preparation instructions before deciding how much to use.

Iceland Sliced Chicken Breasts 2.1kg

Iceland Sliced Chicken Breasts 2.1kg

The product description says an amount can be broken off from the frozen slices for a meal. It lists 0g carbohydrate per 100g; the 2.1kg pack does not state a single-meal serving size. Measure the amount you use, cook thoroughly and follow the pack's instructions on thawing and refreezing.

View on Joybuy
Humza Skinless & Boneless Chicken Breast Fillets 1kg

Humza Skinless & Boneless Chicken Breast Fillets 1kg

These individually quick-frozen fillets offer a way to select pieces from a 1kg pack, though no per-fillet serving weight is stated. The product information lists 0g carbohydrate per 100g. Defrost thoroughly in a refrigerator before cooking and do not refreeze once defrosted.

View on Joybuy
Qualiko Frozen Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast Fillet 1kg

Qualiko Frozen Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast Fillet 1kg

The nutrition table lists 0g carbohydrate per 100g, and the stated oven method cooks the fillets from frozen in 50–55 minutes. The ingredient listing says 82% chicken with water, dextrose and salt, while another description calls it 100% chicken breast: check the current pack for its composition. The 1kg pack does not establish an individual serving size or whether pieces separate easily.

View on Joybuy
Morrisons Chicken Breast Strips 500g

Morrisons Chicken Breast Strips 500g

Frozen strips may suit a meal measured out from the 500g pack; check whether the pieces separate as you need. The product information lists 98% chicken breast, corn starch and salt, with 1.2g carbohydrate per 100g. Check the pack's cooking instructions before preparing them.

View on Joybuy

Frequently asked questions

Is coated or glazed frozen chicken automatically suitable for a keto meal?

No: check the exact product's ingredients and carbohydrate value for the amount you will eat. Sainsbury's lists 4.3g carbohydrate per oven-baked Birds Eye Original Chicken Chargrill, and the ingredient information includes flour and starch. Plain fillets and prepared grills also use different serving bases on their labels.

How can I use a large frozen-chicken pack for one meal?

Choose an amount you can prepare under the exact pack's instructions, and check whether its frozen pieces can be separated before relying on that plan. The Waitrose and M&S plain-fillets examples are 1kg packs, not stated single servings; both instruct shoppers not to refreeze after thawing.

What preparation checks matter for frozen raw chicken?

Check the product's defrosting and cooking instructions, and keep raw chicken separate from ready-to-eat food during preparation. Waitrose and M&S give thawing instructions for their frozen fillets and say not to refreeze them after thawing; do not assume another product has the same cooking method.