Who each format suits

Centrepiece hosts

If you want one custard-cream treat to divide at a small Christmas party, the 270 g chocolate-coated giant listed by M&S fits that serving plan. It is not a bowl of conventional biscuits.

Self-serve party hosts

Decide whether guests will take portion-packed biscuits, wrapped packs from a mixed assortment or biscuits from an open packet. Those formats need different serving arrangements.

Hosts accommodating dietary needs

Schär describes its custard creams as gluten and wheat free, while the conventional Tesco and ASDA listings identify wheat and milk. Check the purchased pack against each guest’s requirements.

What to check before choosing

Start with how guests will be served, then compare the ingredients and the type of custard cream you intend to offer.

PriorityWhat to checkYour needs
Serving format M&S lists one 270 g giant made for sharing. Schär describes portion-packed biscuits; Vending Superstore lists Crawford’s mixed box as 100 packs of three biscuits across six varieties. I want either one centrepiece to divide or portions guests can take separately. If every guest needs a custard-cream pack, a mixed-variety box needs a closer check.
Ingredients Compare the current pack with guests’ requirements. Schär labels its biscuits gluten and wheat free; Tesco and ASDA list wheat and milk in their conventional custard creams. Guests need ingredient information they can check for themselves, rather than an assumption that all custard creams have the same recipe.
Type of treat The M&S giant is chocolate-coated, with milk chocolate listed as 52% of its ingredients. Tesco describes its 400 g packet as vanilla-filled sandwich biscuits. For a familiar open biscuit table, I would choose conventional biscuits; for a chocolate-coated centrepiece, I would plan to divide one larger item.
Quantity and storage Check the number of pieces or packs, not pack weight alone. Tesco’s listing calls for an airtight container once its packet is opened. I want enough suitable servings for the gathering and a way to store any opened biscuits afterwards.

Party-planning pitfalls

  • Treating every pack as the same serving format

    The M&S giant is one item to divide. Schär describes portion-packed biscuits, while Crawford’s catering box contains six biscuit varieties, not custard creams alone.

    Choose how guests will be served before working out which format and quantity to buy.

    A centrepiece needs dividing; a mixed box needs a check on which varieties guests will receive.

  • Assuming the product name settles ingredient suitability

    Recipes differ: the M&S giant lists wheat, milk-derived ingredients and soya lecithin, while Schär labels its own biscuits gluten and wheat free.

    Keep the purchased packaging available and check its full ingredient and precautionary information for each guest’s requirements.

  • Relying on a catalogue listing for the party date

    M&S asks shoppers to select a local store to see stock for its giant custard cream. A listing alone does not establish whether an item can be supplied when you need it.

    Confirm stock and the relevant delivery or collection arrangements before making that item central to the serving plan.

Relevant brand and retailer options

M&S

Its listed 270 g chocolate-coated giant is a single custard-cream treat made for sharing.

  • M&S lists milk chocolate as 52% of the ingredients.
  • It needs dividing and is not a set of individually packed portions; check local stock before relying on it.

Schär

Its 125 g custard creams are described by the manufacturer as portion packed and gluten and wheat free.

  • A separate-portion format rather than one giant biscuit.
  • Schär directs shoppers to the packaging for current ingredient information.

Crawford’s

The referenced products include a conventional 300 g packet and a separate mixed-variety catering assortment.

  • Vending Superstore lists 100 three-biscuit mini-packs across six Crawford’s varieties, including custard creams.
  • That listing does not specify how many of the packs contain custard creams.

Tesco

Tesco lists a 400 g packet of vanilla-filled custard-cream sandwich biscuits for serving from an open packet.

  • Its listing provides ingredients, including wheat flour and a milk-derived ingredient.
  • The packet is neither a single giant biscuit nor a set of sealed individual servings.

ASDA

ASDA lists a 400 g conventional custard-cream packet for an open biscuit table.

  • Its listing identifies wheat and milk and provides precautionary ingredient information.
  • ASDA advises checking the label because product information can change.

Sainsbury’s

Its listed 200 g custard-cream packet is a smaller conventional-packet option, not a single bar.

  • The listing describes approximately 16 servings per pack.
  • Confirm stock for the party date rather than relying on the catalogue entry.

Joybuy portion-packed option

This Joybuy option is for separate custard-cream portions, rather than a single centrepiece to cut and share.

Schar Gluten Free Custard Creams 125g pack

Schar Gluten Free Custard Creams 125g

For a party serving separate portions, Schär describes its 125 g custard creams as portion packed rather than one large biscuit to divide.

The manufacturer labels them gluten and wheat free and directs shoppers to the current packaging for complete ingredient information.

View on Joybuy

Common questions

Does the giant custard cream need assembling?

The M&S 270 g giant is listed as a finished chocolate-coated biscuit. Its listing says to keep it cool, dry and away from sunlight, and to use an airtight container once opened.

How should I handle ingredients for guests with allergies?

Check the purchased packaging and keep its ingredient information available. The M&S giant lists wheat, milk-derived ingredients and soya lecithin; Tesco and ASDA list wheat and milk in their conventional biscuits. Schär labels its alternative gluten and wheat free, but also directs shoppers to current pack information.

Will every pack in a Crawford’s catering box contain custard creams?

Do not assume so. Vending Superstore lists 100 three-biscuit packs across six Crawford’s varieties, including custard creams, but does not specify the number of packs for each variety.

What should I check before relying on one product for Christmas?

Confirm stock and the delivery or collection arrangements for your party date. M&S asks shoppers to select a local store to see stock for its giant custard cream, so the catalogue listing alone is not a supply promise.