Who is this choice for?

Small book clubs serving tea and biscuits

A stated biscuit count makes portions easier to plan. Tesco lists eight cookies in its 200g Finest pack; check the count on other packs against the number attending.

Readers who want a stated cocoa level

“Dark chocolate” does not specify one cocoa level. The chocolate declarations in the compared listings run from 35% minimum for Border at Tesco to 54% minimum for Tesco Finest; Waitrose lists 50% for Island Bakery and M&S lists 49% for its ginger biscuits.

Hosts checking ingredients for guests

Check the exact pack before serving. The listed biscuits differ in their wheat, milk and soya ingredients and in their nut or peanut warnings; a vegetarian description does not settle an allergy question.

What should you check before buying?

Decide whether chocolate or dunking matters more, then check the cocoa declaration, portions and ingredients on the biscuit you plan to serve.

PriorityWhat to checkYour needs
Cocoa level Read the minimum cocoa-solids declaration for the chocolate, not just “dark chocolate” on the front. Tesco lists 54% for Tesco Finest; Waitrose lists 50% for Island Bakery. I want a stated cocoa level so I can choose a chocolate-coated ginger biscuit that meets my own preference.
Portions Check the biscuit or serving count as well as pack weight. Tesco lists eight cookies for Tesco Finest; Sainsbury’s lists eight servings for its Taste the Difference pack. There should be enough to offer each guest a biscuit, with extra packs if I plan to serve more than one each.
Ingredients Read the current pack’s ingredients and precautionary allergen statements for the exact product. Do not use a vegetarian label as an allergen check. Before the meeting, I need to know whether any guest has an ingredient or allergy requirement that affects what I can serve.
Biscuit style Check whether the product is a classic, firm Ginger Nut or a ginger biscuit coated or dipped in chocolate; the chocolate’s cocoa percentage describes that component, not the whole biscuit. For tea-dunking, I may prefer a plain Ginger Nut. If chocolate and ginger are both part of the plan, I need a coated or dipped biscuit instead.

Common buying mistakes

  • Assuming every dark-chocolate coating has the same cocoa level

    The compared retailer listings declare different minimum cocoa-solids levels for the chocolate, from 35% for Border at Tesco to 54% for Tesco Finest.

    If a particular level matters to your group, set your own threshold and check the current product label rather than relying on “dark” in the name.

  • Buying by pack weight alone

    A weight does not tell you how many separate biscuits you can put out for guests.

    Count the portions you want to serve, then check the stated biscuit or serving count. Tesco Finest lists eight cookies, while Sainsbury’s Taste the Difference lists eight servings.

  • Treating vegetarian as an allergen answer

    A vegetarian biscuit can still contain ingredients or carry precautionary warnings relevant to a guest’s allergy.

    Ask guests about their requirements and check the physical pack for the exact biscuits you bought before serving them.

  • Choosing plain Ginger Nuts when chocolate is expected

    Classic McVitie’s Ginger Nuts are a firm, chocolate-free ginger biscuit, so they do not provide the chocolate component of a coated or dipped variety.

    Choose the biscuit style against what the group wants: a plain biscuit for dunking or ginger biscuits with dark chocolate.

Relevant brands and ranges

These references describe particular biscuits, not every product made by each brand.

Tesco Finest

Tesco’s dark-chocolate ginger cookies come as eight all-butter cookies in a 200g pack.

  • Tesco declares 54% minimum cocoa solids in the dark chocolate.
  • They contain wheat, milk and soya and may contain peanuts and nuts; the cocoa declaration applies to the chocolate.

Island Bakery

Waitrose lists these as organic, all-butter stem-ginger biscuits dipped in dark chocolate.

  • The Waitrose listing declares 50% minimum cocoa solids in the chocolate.
  • They contain wheat and milk and may contain nuts, peanuts and soya; check the biscuit count if serving a group.

M&S

M&S lists a dark-chocolate ginger biscuit with stem ginger and a crumbly oat base.

  • Its listing declares 49% minimum cocoa solids in the chocolate.
  • M&S says this product is not suitable for people with a nut or peanut allergy.

Sainsbury’s Taste the Difference

This range includes all-butter stem-ginger cookies coated in Belgian dark chocolate, with eight stated servings per pack.

  • Sainsbury’s declares 46% minimum cocoa solids in the chocolate.
  • The cookies contain wheat, milk and soya; Sainsbury’s says they are not suitable for customers with a nut allergy because of manufacturing methods.

Border

Border’s dark-chocolate ginger biscuits offer a chocolate-coated option in a 150g pack.

  • Tesco’s listing declares 35% minimum cocoa solids in the chocolate.
  • Check whether that declaration meets your cocoa preference. The listed biscuits contain wheat, milk and soya and may contain egg and nuts.

McVitie’s

McVitie’s Ginger Nuts are a classic, firm ginger biscuit for a group that does not want chocolate.

  • The product description identifies a hard, crunchy biscuit intended for dunking.
  • It has no dark-chocolate component, so it does not meet a chocolate-focused brief.

Dark-chocolate ginger biscuits on Joybuy

These are dark-chocolate ginger biscuit options to consider if the club wants chocolate rather than a plain Ginger Nut. Check each pack’s portion count and ingredients against your plans.

Border Biscuits Dark Chocolate Gingers 150g pack

Border Biscuits Dark Chocolate Gingers 150g

A dark-chocolate ginger biscuit for the chocolate-and-ginger choice. Tesco’s listing for the 150g Border biscuits declares 35% minimum cocoa solids in the chocolate; check whether that meets your preference and confirm the biscuit count for your group.

View on Joybuy
Gullon Zero Dark Chocolate Ginger Oaties 285g pack

Gullon Zero Dark Chocolate Ginger Oaties 285g

This 285g dark-chocolate ginger Oaties variant is another biscuit-style option for the group. Check the pack’s biscuit count, cocoa-solids declaration, ingredients and sweetener information before deciding whether it suits your guests.

View on Joybuy

Frequently asked questions

Does “dark chocolate” tell me how much cocoa is in a ginger biscuit?

No. The declaration describes the chocolate component, and the compared listings differ: Tesco gives 35% minimum cocoa solids for Border and 54% for Tesco Finest; Sainsbury’s gives 46% for Taste the Difference, M&S gives 49%, and Waitrose gives 50% for Island Bakery. Check the current pack if you have a particular threshold in mind.

How many packs do I need for book club?

Start with the number of biscuits or stated servings you want per guest. Tesco Finest lists eight cookies per 200g pack and Sainsbury’s Taste the Difference lists eight servings per 200g pack; allow more packs if eight portions will not cover your plans, and check the physical pack where a count is not stated.

What should I check before serving biscuits to a guest with an allergy?

Ask the guest about their requirements and read the current ingredients and precautionary statements on the exact pack you will serve. The compared biscuits have different wheat, milk, soya, nut and peanut information, so neither a vegetarian label nor another biscuit’s label is an adequate substitute.

Can classic Ginger Nuts replace dark-chocolate ginger biscuits?

Only if the group is happy to skip the chocolate. McVitie’s Ginger Nuts are described as firm ginger biscuits for dunking; the compared dark-chocolate ginger biscuits have a coating or dip as well as ginger.