Who is this choice for?

Hosts serving individual desserts

A multipack of cones lets players take individual portions without scooping. Tesco Groceries lists Cornetto Chocolate as six 90 ml cones; count the guests who want one before choosing a pack.

Shoppers looking for a stated cocoa percentage

Dark-chocolate pieces are not the same information as a cocoa percentage. Tesco Groceries states 70% cocoa for the coating on Magnum Collection Intense Dark, but that product is an ice-cream stick, not a cone.

Hosts checking ingredients for guests

Keep the current packaging available when serving. Joybuy’s Cornetto MAX ingredient information lists milk, wheat and hazelnuts, alongside may-contain warnings for other ingredients.

What should you check before buying?

Decide whether the cone format or a stated cocoa percentage matters more, then check portions and ingredients for the people coming.

Priority What to check Your needs
Cocoa description Check which chocolate component a cocoa percentage describes, and whether the dessert is a cone or a stick. Tesco Groceries names dark-chocolate pieces in Cornetto Chocolate but specifies a 70% cocoa coating for the Magnum sticks. I want to know the cocoa percentage of the chocolate I’m choosing, rather than rely on the word “dark”. I would consider sticks if that matters more than cones.
Portions Compare the number of items and the size of each one. Tesco Groceries lists Cornetto Chocolate as six 90 ml cones, Cornetto MAX as four 90 ml cones and Magnum Intense Dark as three 100 ml sticks. There should be an individual dessert for everyone who wants one, without assuming a four-pack will serve the whole table.
Ingredients Read the current pack’s ingredient and may-contain statements. Joybuy lists milk, wheat and hazelnuts in Cornetto MAX, with further may-contain warnings. If guests need to avoid particular ingredients, I need to check their requirements before buying and the pack again before serving.

What is easy to overlook?

  • Taking “dark-chocolate pieces” to mean high cocoa content

    Tesco Groceries describes dark-chocolate pieces in Cornetto Chocolate without stating their cocoa percentage. Its 70% cocoa description applies instead to the coating on Magnum Intense Dark sticks.

    Look for a cocoa percentage tied clearly to the chocolate component that matters to you; keep the format change in mind if considering sticks.

  • Serving nut-containing cones without checking guests’ needs

    Joybuy lists hazelnuts in Cornetto MAX. Tesco Groceries also describes hazelnut pieces in Tesco Chocolate & Nut Cones, so neither should be assumed suitable for someone avoiding hazelnuts.

    Ask guests about relevant ingredients before shopping and check the current packaging, including its may-contain statements, before serving.

  • Comparing pack counts without checking the format

    A three-stick pack and a six-cone pack offer different numbers of individual desserts, while only the researched Magnum stick description states a 70% cocoa coating.

    Count the guests who want dessert, then compare item count, serving size and whether cones or sticks meet the reason you are buying.

Relevant brand and retailer options

Cornetto

Two chocolate-led cone formats appear in the Tesco Groceries product descriptions: Cornetto Chocolate and Cornetto MAX Hazelnut & Chocolate.

  • Cornetto Chocolate has six 90 ml cones and a description that identifies dark-chocolate pieces.
  • That description does not state a cocoa percentage for the pieces. Cornetto MAX is a four-pack containing hazelnuts; its description states 2% dark chocolate in the chocolate ice cream, not the cocoa percentage of that chocolate.

Tesco

Tesco Chocolate & Nut Cones offer a four-pack of 110 ml chocolate-and-vanilla-flavour cones.

  • The Tesco Groceries description identifies chocolate sauce and hazelnut pieces.
  • The description does not establish a high-cocoa dark-chocolate component; check the current pack if hazelnuts or may-contain warnings matter to guests.

Magnum

Magnum Collection Intense Dark is an alternative when a stated cocoa percentage takes priority over serving cones.

  • Tesco Groceries describes a dark-chocolate coating made with 70% cocoa.
  • The pack contains three 100 ml ice-cream sticks, not cones.

Cadbury

Cadbury Chocolate Top is a cone option for guests who prefer a milk-chocolate topping.

  • Tesco Groceries lists four 100 ml cones with milk-chocolate buttons and a milk-chocolate topping.
  • Its described chocolate components do not establish a high-cocoa dark-chocolate option.

Joybuy cone option

This four-cone hazelnut-and-chocolate pack offers individual servings for a small group; its stated dark-chocolate content does not establish a high-cocoa percentage.

Cornetto MAX Hazelnut & Chocolate Ice Cream, pack of four 90 ml cones

Cornetto MAX Hazelnut & Chocolate Ice Cream 4 x 90ml

Four individual wafer cones suit a group of up to four people who each want one. Tesco Groceries describes 2% dark chocolate in the chocolate ice cream; that figure is not a cocoa percentage for the chocolate. Joybuy lists milk, wheat and hazelnuts, with may-contain warnings for other cereals, soya and tree nuts. Check the current pack against guests’ requirements.

Joybuy

Frequently asked questions

Do dark-chocolate pieces tell me a cone’s cocoa percentage?

No. Tesco Groceries identifies dark-chocolate pieces in Cornetto Chocolate but does not state a cocoa percentage for them. If that figure is important to you, check whether the current pack specifies it for the relevant chocolate component.

What if a stated cocoa percentage matters more than cones?

Tesco Groceries describes Magnum Collection Intense Dark as having a 70% cocoa dark-chocolate coating. It comes as three 100 ml ice-cream sticks, so choosing it changes both the format and the number of portions per pack.

How can I plan portions for board game night?

Count how many guests want a dessert, then compare the items per pack. Tesco Groceries lists six 90 ml Cornetto Chocolate cones, four 90 ml Cornetto MAX cones and three 100 ml Magnum Intense Dark sticks. Plan separately for guests who need a different ingredient profile.

What should I check before serving cones to guests?

Check each guest’s relevant ingredient requirements and read the current physical pack, including may-contain statements. Joybuy lists milk, wheat and hazelnuts in Cornetto MAX, alongside warnings for other ingredients.