Runners carrying sealed portions
Crawford's offers individually wrapped three-biscuit portions for a training bag or group session. The assortment is mixed, so it suits you only if every portion need not contain Bourbon Creams.
Crawford's individually wrapped mini packs suit you if sealed portions matter more than getting bourbon biscuits every time: its 100 three-biscuit packs contain six varieties, including Bourbon Creams, and the bourbon portion count is not stated. If you want a standard bourbon pack instead, compare the carbohydrate per biscuit on its label and check the packaging before relying on it for carrying during training; a biscuit count alone does not tell you how it fits your planned intake.
The useful distinction is between a sealed portion you can carry and a bourbon biscuit whose nutrition you can calculate from the pack.
Crawford's offers individually wrapped three-biscuit portions for a training bag or group session. The assortment is mixed, so it suits you only if every portion need not contain Bourbon Creams.
Standard supermarket bourbon packs give per-biscuit figures that let you calculate carbohydrate for the number you intend to eat. Check how you would carry the biscuits separately; the nutrition panel does not establish individual wrapping.
Vegan labelling and allergen suitability answer different questions. Check the current pack's ingredients, may-contain statements and any suitability warning for the exact product you choose.
Decide on the pack format first, then use the exact product label to assess the portion and ingredients. A sealed mixed assortment and a standard bourbon pack solve different carrying needs.
| Priority | What to check | Your needs |
|---|---|---|
| Sealed portions | Check whether each portion is individually wrapped, how many biscuits it contains and whether the assortment is bourbon-only. Vending Superstore lists Crawford's as 100 wrapped three-biscuit packs across six varieties; it does not give a bourbon-portion count. | I want to carry a sealed portion without packing loose biscuits. A mixed selection works for me only if I do not need bourbon biscuits in every pack. |
| Carbohydrate per portion | Use the current label's carbohydrate figure and the number of biscuits you plan to eat. Sainsbury's and Tesco each list 9.2 g per biscuit for their specified bourbon products; ASDA lists 9.5 g per biscuit. Pack weight alone is not a per-biscuit figure. | For a planned training session, I need to count the carbohydrate in the actual portion rather than assume that one biscuit equals one sports-fuel serving. |
| Ingredients and allergens | Read the current ingredients, allergen emphasis, may-contain statements and any vegan claim for the exact variant. ASDA lists its Bourbon Biscuits as vegan but says they contain wheat and may contain milk, rye, oats, barley and sesame. | A vegan label does not answer my separate allergen question. I need the full pack statement before choosing. |
Vending Superstore describes the Crawford's case as a six-variety assortment. Bourbon Creams are included, but the listing does not specify how many of the 100 portions contain them.
Choose the case when sealed mixed portions are useful. If you need bourbon in every portion, confirm the assortment and bourbon count before ordering.
The specified Sainsbury's, Tesco and ASDA bourbon products list 9.2 g, 9.2 g and 9.5 g carbohydrate per biscuit respectively. The number of biscuits you eat determines the total for that product.
Calculate from the current label and your intended portion, then compare that total with your existing plan for the session. Do not carry a figure from one brand over to another.
ASDA labels its Bourbon Biscuits suitable for vegans while stating that they contain wheat and may contain several other allergens. Sainsbury's says its Bourbon is not suitable for customers with a milk or barley allergy because of manufacturing methods.
Check the current ingredients and all suitability and may-contain statements, not just the front-of-pack description.
A standard bourbon pack's per-biscuit nutrition does not tell you whether it provides the sealed portions you want to carry. Packaging, portion size and the rest of your food-and-drink plan are separate considerations.
Check the pack format and try your intended carrying and eating routine during ordinary training before relying on it for an important session.
These named products illustrate the difference between a wrapped mixed assortment and standard bourbon packs; the details apply to the specified products, not every biscuit sold under each brand.
Vending Superstore lists a catering case of 100 individually wrapped three-biscuit mini packs.
Its 200 g Bourbon pack lists nutrition per biscuit.
Its 296 g Bourbon Creams Biscuits pack is labelled suitable for vegans.
Its 300 g Bourbon Biscuits pack is labelled suitable for vegans and gives per-biscuit nutrition.
Its 400 g Essential Bourbon Creams pack is a standard retail pack with per-biscuit nutrition.
These are fruit-and-nut bars, cereal bars and fruit flakes to consider when carrying a portion is the priority. They are alternatives to, not individually wrapped versions of, bourbon biscuits; check each current pack for wrapping, carbohydrate and allergens.
No image available
Consider the 35 g bar size when planning a portion to carry. This is a fruit-and-nut bar, not a bourbon biscuit; check the current pack for individual wrapping, carbohydrate per bar and allergens.
No image available
The pack contains six 21.5 g cereal bars rather than bourbon biscuits. If you need a sealed portion for a run, confirm the wrapping and use the current per-bar nutrition and allergen label for your choice.
No image available
These fruit flakes come in five 18 g portions and are not bourbon biscuits. Check the current packaging for how each portion is packed, alongside its per-portion carbohydrate and ingredients.
Vending Superstore lists Crawford's individually wrapped three-biscuit mini packs, but its 100-pack case mixes Bourbon Creams with five other varieties. If every portion must be bourbon, confirm the exact assortment and bourbon count before ordering.
Multiply the current label's carbohydrate per biscuit by the number you intend to eat. For the specified products, Sainsbury's and Tesco list 9.2 g per biscuit and ASDA lists 9.5 g; use the figure for the exact pack rather than its total weight or another brand's serving.
Some specified products are labelled suitable for vegans, including Tesco Bourbon Creams, ASDA Bourbon Biscuits and Waitrose Essential Bourbon Creams. Check the current pack for the product you are buying; a vegan statement does not replace its allergen information.
Read the current ingredients list and any may-contain or suitability statements for the exact biscuits. GOV.UK says that any of the 14 regulated allergens present as ingredients in prepacked food must be clearly labelled within the ingredients list; the specified bourbon products also show why separate manufacturing warnings can matter.
No. GOV.UK describes traffic-light labelling as showing levels of fat, saturates, sugars and salt, alongside energy information. For your planned biscuit portion, use the carbohydrate figure and serving size in the nutrition information instead.