Choose a pack with a stated cake count when your bake calls for whole Jaffa Cakes, rather than relying on the words “sharing bag”. Ninja Test Kitchen’s 20cm brownie recipe uses 12 cakes; a counted pack makes it easier to plan that quantity, while mini cakes or a pack labelled only by weight need a closer check before substitution.
Who is this for?
Bakers using whole cakes in brownies or traybakes
If the recipe specifies whole Jaffa Cakes, count them before choosing a pack. Ninja Test Kitchen’s recipe places 12 cakes in a deep 20cm square brownie tin; any extra cakes are a separate choice for topping or another use.
Hosts making one shared bake
A larger pack is not automatically more useful for one batch. Compare the recipe quantity with an actual cake count: Sainsbury’s describes its 150g orange Jaffa Cakes pack as approximately 12 servings, which is not a guaranteed count of 12 cakes.
Bakers serving people with food allergies
Check every ingredient on the physical packs before baking and serving. The reviewed Jaffa Cake ranges carry different ingredient and precautionary allergen statements, so a warning for one format cannot stand in for another’s label.
What should you check before buying?
Start with how the cakes appear in your recipe—whole, chopped or as a topping—then check the pack quantity and the label for the people who will eat the bake.
| Priority |
What to check |
Your needs |
| Whole-cake quantity |
Compare the recipe’s cake count with a stated pack count. Ninja Test Kitchen uses 12 Jaffa Cakes in a 20cm brownie; Waitrose lists 20 in McVitie’s Original Twin Pack. |
I need enough whole cakes for the batter, with any extras chosen deliberately for topping or another use. |
| Format and weight |
Check whether the pack contains standard or mini cakes. Waitrose lists its Mini Jaffa Cakes as 125g with five 25g servings; M&S lists a 250g dark-chocolate pack by weight, without a stated cake count. |
If my recipe calls for whole standard-size cakes, I cannot treat a mini pack or a weight alone as the same quantity. |
| Allergen information |
Read the current pack’s ingredients and precautionary statements. Sainsbury’s lists manufacturing-related allergy warnings for its orange Jaffa Cakes; Waitrose says its mini version may contain milk. |
When I bake for someone with an allergy, I need to check every ingredient and possible cross-contact before serving. |
| Pack choice and availability |
Confirm the current listing and the quantity on the pack you intend to buy. Tesco’s listing for a 100g McVitie’s Jaffa Cake Nibbles bag was marked out of stock when reviewed. |
A bag labelled for sharing is less useful to me if its format or quantity does not match the bake I have planned. |
| Leftovers |
Compare the pack count with the number of batches and check the on-pack instructions for storage after opening. |
For one batch, I would rather plan what to do with spare cakes than assume a larger pack will all go into the recipe. |
Common pack-selection mistakes
-
Assuming a “sharing bag” supplies the required whole cakes
A bag’s weight does not establish how many standard-size cakes a recipe can use. Tesco’s 100g McVitie’s Nibbles listing was also marked out of stock when reviewed.
Check current availability and buy against your recipe’s cake count or weight, rather than the sharing description.
-
Swapping mini cakes for standard cakes one-for-one
Waitrose lists its mini cakes by pack weight and servings, not as an equivalent number of standard-size cakes. That distinction matters when a recipe specifies whole cakes.
Use the format specified by the recipe, or check how many mini pieces your adapted bake will need before buying.
-
Using a retailer listing as the final allergy check
Allergen statements vary between the reviewed products: Waitrose says its mini cakes may contain milk, while M&S warns that its mini cakes are not suitable for people with nut or peanut allergies.
Read the physical pack for each ingredient before baking and assess cross-contact before serving anyone with an allergy.
Relevant brand and retailer ranges
These examples show how the stated quantity and format differ; a brand name alone does not tell you whether a pack fits a particular recipe.
McVitie’s
A counted option for recipes using whole standard-size cakes.
- Waitrose lists the McVitie’s Original Twin Pack as 20 cakes, so its count can be compared directly with a recipe calling for 12.
- The separate 100g Nibbles bag listed by Tesco was marked out of stock when reviewed; its weight is not a count of standard-size cakes.
Sainsbury’s
Its orange Jaffa Cakes come in a 150g pack described as approximately 12 servings.
- The serving estimate offers a starting point when planning a single bake.
- Servings are not a guaranteed cake count. Sainsbury’s also lists manufacturing-related warnings for people allergic to milk, rye, barley, oats, spelt or khorasan wheat.
Waitrose
Its listings include a counted McVitie’s twin pack and an own-label mini format.
- The Mini Jaffa Cakes listing states 125g and five 25g servings, useful when checking a recipe designed for smaller pieces.
- Those servings do not establish a one-for-one substitute for standard cakes; the mini listing also says the product may contain milk.
M&S
Its listed formats include 250g Dark Chocolate Jaffa Cakes and a separate 100g mini product.
- The 250g pack provides a stated weight for a bake measured by weight or using pieces.
- Its listing does not state a cake count. M&S warns that its mini product is not suitable for people with nut or peanut allergies.
Counted Jaffa Cake packs on Joybuy
These McVitie’s options state a quantity of cakes, making them relevant to bakes planned around whole Jaffa Cakes. Compare the smaller multipack with the number of batches you intend to make before considering the 80-cake pack.
No image available
McVitie’s The Original Jaffa Cakes Snack Pack, 6 × 3 packs, 198g
The stated 6 × 3-pack quantity gives 18 cakes for a bake that uses whole pieces. Against Ninja Test Kitchen’s 12-cake brownie recipe, that leaves six cakes for a separate use. Check the current pack’s allergen information before baking for others.
View on Joybuy
No image available
McVitie’s 80 Jaffa Cakes, 1.07kg
The stated 80-cake quantity is worth considering when you have several batches planned. It leaves substantially more unused cakes after a single recipe requiring 12, so check your plans and the pack’s storage instructions. Read the current allergen label before use.
View on Joybuy
Frequently asked questions
How many Jaffa Cakes do I need for a brownie traybake?
Follow your recipe’s count. Ninja Test Kitchen’s brownie recipe uses 12 Jaffa Cakes in a deep 20cm square tin; a pack stating 20 cakes would leave eight for another use. A label saying approximately 12 servings is not a guaranteed count of 12 whole cakes.
Is a sharing bag useful for baking?
It can be, if its contents match the recipe, but “sharing” does not specify a whole-cake count. Check whether you need standard cakes, mini pieces or a measured weight, as well as the pack’s current availability.
Can mini Jaffa Cakes replace standard ones?
Not as an assumed one-for-one swap in a recipe specifying whole standard-size cakes. Waitrose lists its Mini Jaffa Cakes as 125g with five 25g servings; check the quantity your adapted recipe needs if you want to use them as smaller pieces or a topping.
What allergen checks matter if I serve or sell the bake?
Check the physical labels of every ingredient and assess cross-contact before serving someone with an allergy. If you sell the bake as a food business, GOV.UK and the Food Standards Agency state that allergen information must be provided for both prepacked and non-prepacked food; check the requirements for how your bake is packaged and presented.