Joybuy product options
Joybuy laptop and hybrid options for students who need a portable primary computer for coursework, course platforms, recorded teaching and online collaboration.
No image available
ASUS Vivobook 14 X1407QA-LY003W, Snapdragon X, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD
A conventional Windows laptop for sustained writing, course materials and online seminars.
Stated specifications include Windows 11 Home, 16GB LPDDR5X memory, 512GB SSD, a 14-inch 16:10 anti-glare display, Wi-Fi 6E, camera, microphone, two USB4 ports with Power Delivery, HDMI and a 1.49kg weight.
Its non-touch display does not provide tablet-mode or pen-note-taking use. Confirm that department software, remote-access tools and assessment workflows support this configuration.
Joybuy
No image available
ASUS Vivobook 15 X1504VA, Intel Core 5 120U, 24GB RAM, 1TB SSD
A larger-screen Windows laptop for typed coursework, local course files and peripheral use.
The listing states Windows 11 Home, 24GB DDR5 memory, a 1TB SSD, a 15.6-inch anti-glare IPS display, Wi-Fi 6, webcam, microphone, HDMI and multiple USB-A and USB-C connections.
The listed battery figure is up to 8 hours of standby time rather than a study-use runtime. Check course-specific software and required remote-access tools before purchase.
Joybuy
No image available
Microsoft Surface Laptop 7 15-inch, Snapdragon X Elite, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD
A Windows laptop option for students who want a 15-inch screen for reading, writing and video meetings.
Listed features include Windows 11, 16GB memory, 256GB SSD, a 15-inch 3:2 touchscreen, Full HD camera, dual microphones, Wi-Fi 7, USB4 ports and a 1.66kg weight.
Active-pen support is not stated. Confirm course-software compatibility, and consider whether 256GB storage suits media-heavy modules or larger local file collections.
Joybuy
No image available
HP OmniBook Ultra Flip 14-fh0006na, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
A Windows convertible for students who expect to alternate between keyboard work and touchscreen use.
The listing specifies Windows 11 Home, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD, a 14-inch 3K OLED touchscreen, 360-degree hinge, 9MP IR camera, Thunderbolt 4 and a 1.34kg weight.
Active-pen compatibility and pen inclusion are not stated. The listing gives conflicting port information, so verify the exact port configuration and department software requirements.
Joybuy
No image available
HP OmniBook X Flip 16-as0004na, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD
A 16-inch Windows convertible for typed coursework with occasional tablet-style touchscreen use.
Stated features include Windows 11 Home, 16GB memory, 512GB SSD, a 16-inch 2K touchscreen, 360-degree design, Wi-Fi 7 and a 5MP IR camera with privacy shutter.
Active-pen support and inclusion are not stated, and the listing does not give a weight. Check portability, course software and institution tools before relying on it as a primary device.
Joybuy
Frequently asked questions
Can a tablet replace a laptop for university?
Do not assume so. University College London states that students need regular access to a laptop or desktop computer and that a tablet or smartphone alone is not sufficient for effective study there. A tablet can still be useful for reading and handwritten notes when your course software and assessment workflow are confirmed.
Which operating system should I choose?
Check your department’s software list first. The University of Hertfordshire describes Windows as working with a wide range of software, macOS as supporting many professional applications, and Chromebooks as suitable for basic study tasks but potentially incompatible with specialist software. Keep the operating system current for campus Wi-Fi and course software.
What should I check on a general-study laptop?
Treat general guidance as a starting point rather than a universal specification. The University of Hertfordshire recommends at least 8GB RAM, at least 256GB SSD storage, a 14-inch-or-larger screen, webcam, microphone, Wi-Fi, good battery life and enough ports for most students; specialist courses may require more.
Are a stylus and keyboard normally included with a tablet or hybrid?
Not necessarily. Apple lists compatible Apple Pencil and Magic Keyboard accessories for iPad Air, Lenovo says the Yoga Pen is optional for the Yoga 7 2-in-1 Gen 10, and Microsoft sells its Surface Pro keyboard separately. Check the exact listing’s included items and compatibility before comparing complete setups.
How should I charge a laptop or tablet safely?
Use the charger supplied with the battery or a manufacturer-approved compatible replacement. Greater Manchester Fire and Rescue Service advises buying replacement chargers from reputable sellers, charging on a hard heat-resistant surface, and not leaving charging batteries unattended or charging while asleep.