Gaming alone with a planned portion
An individual bag lets you see its weight and labelled calories before you open it. Check whether that bag is the amount you intend to eat during the session.
Choose crisps by the calories in the amount you expect to eat, not by a reduced-fat claim or the calories on a differently sized bag. An individual bag makes that amount clear before a gaming session; a sharing pack can work too if you portion it out and check the calories for that serving. Walkers UK lists 96 kcal for its 22g Oven Baked Cheese & Onion bag, but that figure alone does not settle an equal-weight comparison with other crisps.
An individual bag lets you see its weight and labelled calories before you open it. Check whether that bag is the amount you intend to eat during the session.
A larger pack gives everyone access to the same bag, but its total weight is not one person’s serving. Put portions into separate bowls if you want to judge how much each person has.
Calories do not answer an allergen question. Check the precise flavour and its pack information; Joybuy’s listing for Walkers Oven Baked Cheese & Onion, for example, states that it contains milk.
Decide how much you are likely to eat, then compare labels on the same basis. The NHS explains that nutrition information is given per 100g and is sometimes also given per portion.
| Priority | What to check | Your needs |
|---|---|---|
| Calories in your portion | Read kcal per bag or stated serving, then check its weight. Use kcal per 100g when comparing products at equal weights. | I want to know the calories in what I will actually eat, whether that is one small bag or a portion from a larger one. |
| Pack format | Check the weight of each inner bag in a multipack. For a sharing pack, check its stated serving weight and decide how much to put out. | When I am playing alone, a separate bag helps me choose a portion in advance. If we are sharing, I can divide the pack before we start. |
| Claims and seasoning | Read calorie and salt figures separately from claims about fat or wording such as “lightly salted”. Check the figures for the exact flavour. | A baked or lightly salted name is not enough for my decision; I want the label figures for the bag I am considering. |
| Ingredients and allergens | Read the exact flavour’s ingredients, allergen declaration and any “may contain” statement. Recheck when changing flavours within a range. | If someone joining the game has an ingredient they must avoid, I need to check that particular pack before serving it. |
Walkers UK labels its Oven Baked Cheese & Onion bag at 96 kcal for 22g, Seabrook lists 126 kcal for a 25g Canadian Ham bag, and Tyrrells lists 208 kcal for a 40g Lightly Sea Salted bag. Those per-bag figures describe different amounts of food.
Use kcal per 100g for an equal-weight comparison, then return to the calories for the portion you plan to eat.
Walkers UK’s “50% less fat” claim for Oven Baked Cheese & Onion compares fat with regular potato crisps; it does not say the bag has 50% fewer calories. “Lightly Sea Salted” likewise does not specify a calorie level.
Check calories and salt on the exact product label rather than using either phrase as a shortcut.
A Joybuy listing titled Tyrrells Lightly Sea Salted 24 x 40g also contains references to Taylors and Terra’s, alongside a nutrition figure that differs from Tyrrells’ own product information. Those details should not be treated as a clear description of one product.
Check the identity and nutrition information on the pack delivered, particularly when ingredients or allergens matter.
These examples show why flavour, bag weight and serving size matter more to this decision than a brand name alone.
Its Oven Baked Cheese & Onion crisps provide an individually labelled 22g example.
Canadian Ham is a crinkle-cut crisp example sold in a labelled 25g bag.
Lightly Sea Salted offers a useful comparison between a single bag and a serving from a larger pack.
KETTLE Lightly Salted is a sharing-format example with nutrition stated per 100g.
Salted is a ridged-crisp example for shoppers considering that texture.
Sea Salt is listed in both 35g and 150g bags.
These multipacks contain separate bags that you can choose before a gaming session. They include potato crisps and other savoury snacks, so check the product type as well as each bag’s weight, nutrition and ingredients.
No image available
Five separate 17g bags let you choose how many to put out before playing. Check the pack’s calories per bag and the flavour’s ingredients when deciding whether it suits your snack plans.
No image available
This is another five-pack of 17g individual bags, in Barbecue flavour. Use its own nutrition and ingredient label rather than carrying over figures or allergen details from Sour Cream & Onion.
No image available
Six separate 22g bags offer a choice of flavours for different sessions or people. Check the nutrition and ingredients for the particular flavour you take; the labelled calories for Cheese & Onion should not be assumed to apply to every bag in a variety pack.
No image available
Six 20g bags provide individual portions if you want a savoury snack alongside the crisp options. Frazzles are a corn snack rather than potato crisps; check the pack’s calorie and ingredient information for this flavour.
No image available
Each of the six bags is 22g; Walkers UK lists 96 kcal per bag for this flavour. Joybuy’s product information states that it contains milk and carries additional precautionary allergen advice, so check the pack if allergens affect your choice.
No. Walkers UK’s claim for Oven Baked Cheese & Onion compares fat with regular potato crisps; it does not state an equivalent calorie reduction. Walkers lists the bag separately at 96 kcal per 22g, so use the calorie figure for the amount you intend to eat.
Compare kcal per 100g to see what equal weights provide, then check the calories in your intended portion. For example, Tyrrells lists 208 kcal for its 40g Lightly Sea Salted bag and 156 kcal for a stated 30g serving from its larger pack; those are different portion weights.
Check the exact flavour’s ingredients and allergen statements, then check the delivered pack before serving it. Joybuy’s listing for Walkers Oven Baked Cheese & Onion states that it contains milk and gives additional “may contain” advice; do not assume another flavour has the same information.
The Walkers Oven Baked Cheese & Onion product described in Joybuy’s listing is ready to eat, with instructions to store it unopened in a cool, dry place. Follow the storage directions on the particular pack you buy.