Who is this for?

Shoppers comparing calories

If dried fruit is part of your afternoon tea break, comparing the same 30g amount makes differently sized packs and nutrition panels easier to assess.

Shoppers checking ingredients

If you prefer fruit-only products or want to avoid added sugar, read the ingredient list alongside the calories and total sugars on the nutrition panel.

Shoppers checking allergens and serving time

If you avoid sulphites or have a food allergy, check the exact pack. NHS advice on eating dried fruit at mealtimes also matters if afternoon tea would otherwise be a separate snack.

What should you check?

Start with a comparable portion, then check whether the ingredients, pack format and serving occasion suit you.

PriorityWhat to checkYour needs
Calories Compare kcal per 30g. If a label gives kcal per 100g, multiply that figure by 0.3; check how much you will actually serve. I want to compare the fruit I would eat, not the calories in bags of different sizes. Marks & Spencer lists 217 kcal per 100g for Collection Apricots, or about 65 kcal per 30g; Sainsbury’s lists 77 kcal per 30g for its Figs.
Ingredients Read the ingredient list and total sugars as well as any no-added-sugar claim. The claim does not state how much sugar the fruit contains. I prefer to know what is in the pack. Sainsbury’s lists pineapple as the ingredient in BEAR Fruit Dried Pineapple; its Crazy Jack Organic Mango listing says no added sugar but gives 18.3g sugars per 30g.
Portion and timing Check the weight of a snack pack or measure a portion from a larger bag. NHS guidance says 30g dried fruit counts as one 5 A Day portion and advises eating dried fruit at mealtimes. A measured amount is easier for me to compare than repeated handfuls. If afternoon tea falls between meals, I would account for the NHS advice rather than assume the time of day makes it a mealtime.
Allergens and warnings Check the current ingredients, allergen statement and any fruit-stone warning for the exact product and pack size. I need to check suitability before choosing a flavour or pack format. Marks & Spencer lists sulphur dioxide (sulphites) in Collection Apricots.

Common buying mistakes

  • Comparing whole packs instead of equal portions

    A larger bag can contain several servings, so its total calories do not tell you how two fruits compare bite for bite.

    Compare kcal per 30g and measure that amount into a bowl if you are serving from a bag.

  • Reading “no added sugar” as “low in sugar”

    No added sugar does not describe total sugars or calories. Sainsbury’s lists 18.3g sugars and 95 kcal per 30g pack of Crazy Jack Organic Mango, despite its no-added-sugar claim.

    Check the nutrition panel and ingredients together, using the portion you intend to eat.

  • Overlooking when dried fruit is eaten

    NHS guidance advises having dried fruit at mealtimes rather than between meals because of tooth-decay risk. An afternoon tea break is not automatically a meal.

    If dried fruit is an option for you, consider having the measured portion with a meal rather than grazing on it through the afternoon.

  • Assuming dried fruit has the same ingredients across products

    Marks & Spencer lists sulphites in Collection Apricots, while Sainsbury’s lists potassium sorbate in its Figs. Individual packs can also carry fruit-stone warnings.

    Read the current label of the exact pack, particularly when avoiding an ingredient or serving fruit to children.

Brand and retailer references

M&S Collection

Its dried-fruit range includes apricots; the Collection Apricots provide a labelled figure for comparing a measured portion.

  • Marks & Spencer lists 217 kcal per 100g for Collection Apricots.
  • The apricots list sulphur dioxide (sulphites); check the pack for current ingredients and warnings.

Sainsbury’s

Its 500g Figs listing gives nutrition values for a 30g serving.

  • The listed serving has 77 kcal and 3.8g fibre.
  • The same serving lists 14.7g sugars and is marked high in sugars on the product listing.

Whitworths

The brand offers dried-grape products and describes a raisins serving as around 30g.

  • That serving size provides a starting point for measuring raisins from a larger pack.
  • Check the nutrition and ingredient information on the particular product; the serving description does not establish its calorie count.

Tesco

Its dried-fruit category includes prunes, cranberries, mango and raisins in different pack formats.

  • The range offers formats to compare when pack size matters.
  • Compare individual nutrition labels before drawing a calorie conclusion.

Crazy Jack

Its Organic Mango 4x30g provides individually defined 30g portions.

  • Sainsbury’s lists 95 kcal per 30g pack and describes the product as having no added sugar.
  • The listing also gives 18.3g sugars per 30g; check its fruit-pit warning before serving.

Dried-fruit options on Joybuy

These raisins, figs, prunes and apricots offer different pack sizes for an afternoon tea break. Use each product’s current nutrition and ingredient label to compare a portion; the retailer calorie figures above belong to different, specifically named products.

Organix Goodies Raisins 12+ Months, 12 x 14g

Organix Goodies Raisins 12+ Months, 12 x 14g

The 14g boxes provide a defined serving smaller than the 30g comparison portion. Check the label for calories and ingredients if choosing them for an afternoon tea break.

View on Joybuy
Whitworths Figs 175g

Whitworths Figs 175g

This 175g pack can be portioned for a tea break. Check its own nutrition panel rather than applying the figures for Sainsbury’s Figs to this product.

View on Joybuy
J.ZAO Prebiotic Pitted Chilean Prunes 500g

J.ZAO Prebiotic Pitted Chilean Prunes 500g

The product name describes individually wrapped prunes, which may make it easier to count pieces. Check the weight per wrapper, nutrition panel and ingredients before deciding on a serving.

View on Joybuy
Whitworths Snacking Prunes 190g

Whitworths Snacking Prunes 190g

For a measured tea-break serving from this 190g bag, portion the prunes separately and check the pack’s nutrition figures and any stone warning.

View on Joybuy
Morrisons Soft Apricots 250g

Morrisons Soft Apricots 250g

This 250g pack allows you to measure an afternoon serving. Check its own calories, sulphites declaration and fruit-stone warning; the M&S Collection Apricots figures do not apply to it.

View on Joybuy

Questions about dried fruit

What portion should I use when comparing dried fruit?

Use the same weight for each product: 30g is a practical comparison amount. NHS guidance says 30g of dried fruit counts as one 5 A Day portion; check the calories for the amount you actually eat.

Does dried fruit suit a between-meal afternoon tea break?

NHS guidance advises eating dried fruit at mealtimes rather than as a between-meal snack because of tooth-decay risk. If afternoon tea is separate from a meal, its timing matters as well as the portion size.

Does “no added sugar” mean fewer calories?

No. It does not state a product’s calorie content or total sugars. Sainsbury’s lists 95 kcal and 18.3g sugars per 30g pack for Crazy Jack Organic Mango, which it describes as having no added sugar.

What if I avoid sulphites or have a food allergy?

Check the current ingredients and allergen information for the exact pack before buying. Marks & Spencer lists sulphur dioxide (sulphites) in Collection Apricots; that does not establish the ingredients of other apricot products.