Hosts serving a small group
If one bag is going into an afternoon bowl, compare its weight and stated servings with the number of people sharing. “Sharing” does not specify a group size.
Choose a crisp sharing bag by its net weight and stated servings, not the word “sharing” alone. For an afternoon bowl, check that the exact flavour suits everyone’s dietary requirements, then compare salt per 100g and decide how much of the bag to serve.
If one bag is going into an afternoon bowl, compare its weight and stated servings with the number of people sharing. “Sharing” does not specify a group size.
Choose by the exact flavour’s ingredients, allergen statement and dietary claims. A suitable product in one brand’s range does not establish that every flavour has the same labelling.
Compare energy and salt per 100g across bags, then look at the serving information when deciding how much to put in the bowl.
Start with the amount needed for the group, then check the exact flavour’s label before comparing nutrition figures.
| Priority | What to check | Your needs |
|---|---|---|
| Amount to serve | Read the net weight and stated serving count. Ocado lists five servings for Walkers Cheese & Onion 150g and KETTLE Lightly Salted 130g; Sainsbury’s lists five for Tyrrells Sea Salt & Black Pepper 150g. | One bowl needs to go round the group, so I want to judge the amount before opening the bag. |
| Ingredients and allergens | Check the current ingredients, allergen statement and exact-flavour dietary claims. Ocado lists Walkers Cheese & Onion as containing milk; its Pipers Anglesey Sea Salt and KETTLE Lightly Salted listings state vegan and gluten-free suitability. | If someone has a dietary requirement or allergy, I need a flavour whose current label addresses it—not an assumption based on the brand. |
| Salt and energy | Compare the same per-100g measures across bags, then read any per-serving figures. Ocado lists 0.65g salt per 100g for KETTLE Lightly Salted and 0.94g for Pipers Anglesey Sea Salt. | I want to compare labels on the same basis and decide how much to serve, rather than treating the whole bag as one portion. |
| Flavour | Check whether the seasoning suits the group alongside its allergen information: the examined options include lightly salted, sea salt, black pepper and cheese and onion. | For mixed preferences, I would choose a flavour the people sharing actually want, rather than relying on the bag size alone. |
A sharing bag can contain several stated servings; its name does not say how much each person will take from a bowl.
Check the weight and serving statement, put the intended amount into the bowl and follow the pack’s storage instructions for the remainder.
The examined Walkers Cheese & Onion crisps contain milk. Sainsbury’s listing for Tyrrells Sea Salt & Black Pepper also carries a possible milk warning, despite its vegetarian and gluten-free claims.
Read the current ingredients and allergen statement for the exact bag before serving anyone with a dietary requirement or allergy.
A flavour name does not replace the salt and energy figures on the nutrition panel.
Compare salt and energy per 100g between the bags you are considering, then use the serving information to plan the bowl.
The Department of Health & Social Care’s retail promotion guidance applies to businesses operating in and selling to England. The Department for Education separately sets out requirements for food provided in state-funded schools in England; retail promotion guidance does not answer a school-food question.
For a school snack, check the school-food requirements for the relevant UK nation and the school or caterer’s current policy.
These examples describe particular products or ranges; check the exact bag when pack size, ingredients or allergens matter.
A cheese-and-onion option for a group that wants that flavour.
The examined Sea Salt & Black Pepper bag offers a pepper-led flavour in a 150g format.
The examined Lightly Salted bag is a plainly seasoned option.
The examined Crinkle Cut Sea Salt flavour offers a sea-salt option.
Anglesey Sea Salt is an examined 150g sharing-bag option.
Tayto Group describes a hand-cooked range that includes Ham & English Mustard and Roast Ox flavours.
These bags cover plain salted and more distinctly seasoned choices for an afternoon bowl. Check each exact flavour against the people sharing it.
No image available
A plainly seasoned choice for a group considering vegan and gluten-free options. Ocado lists this exact 130g product as vegan and gluten-free, with five servings and 0.65g salt per 100g; compare its net weight with larger bags and check the current allergen label.
No image available
A 150g lightly sea-salted option for an afternoon bowl. Check this flavour’s current serving, nutrition and allergen information; the Sea Salt & Black Pepper label details discussed elsewhere do not establish those details for this bag.
No image available
A 150g sea-salt choice when the group needs an explicitly labelled vegan and gluten-free product. Ocado lists this exact flavour with those claims and 0.94g salt per 100g; use the current pack to check servings and allergens.
No image available
A 150g lightly salted bag to consider for a plainly seasoned bowl. Check the exact pack for servings, salt per 100g and allergen warnings before serving the group.
No image available
A 150g Thai sweet chilli option when the people sharing want that seasoning. Check the exact pack’s ingredients, allergen statement, servings and nutrition figures before choosing it for the bowl.
Use its stated servings and net weight to plan for your group. Ocado lists five servings for Walkers Cheese & Onion 150g and KETTLE Lightly Salted 130g, while Sainsbury’s lists five for Tyrrells Sea Salt & Black Pepper 150g. The amount you put in the bowl still depends on how many people are sharing and what else is being served.
Compare salt per 100g first, then consider the amount you intend to serve. Ocado lists 0.65g per 100g for KETTLE Lightly Salted and 0.94g for Pipers Anglesey Sea Salt; check current packs before using those figures to choose.
No: Ocado’s listing for the examined Walkers Cheese & Onion bag states that it contains milk. For any dietary requirement or allergy, check the current ingredients, allergen statement and suitability claims for the exact flavour you plan to serve.
Follow that bag’s storage instructions. Ocado’s Walkers Cheese & Onion listing says to consume it within three days of opening, while Sainsbury’s listing for Tyrrells Sea Salt & Black Pepper says to store opened crisps in an airtight container.
No: retail promotion rules and school-food requirements address different settings. The Department of Health & Social Care’s cited retail guidance applies to England, while the Department for Education’s cited school-food guidance concerns state-funded schools in England. For a school snack, check the requirements for the relevant UK nation and the school or caterer’s current policy.