Who these croissants may suit

Holiday-breakfast hosts serving two people

A small premium pack can suit a more indulgent breakfast without leaving surplus pastries. Waitrose No.1 is a two-pack with a short oven-warming instruction; compare the live price per croissant rather than the pack ticket alone.

Families or groups sharing breakfast

Four-packs from Sainsbury’s Taste the Difference and ASDA Exceptional can suit a relaxed shared breakfast. Check the pack count, current per-item price, freezing guidance and whether you can warm the pastries shortly before serving.

Ingredient- and allergen-conscious pastry buyers

Check the current pack label for milk, wheat, egg and any precautionary allergen statement before choosing. The supermarket routes covered here all have declared allergens or trace-risk information that may affect the decision.

What to compare before buying

Start with the exact recipe and pack size, then check how the croissants fit your serving plan, oven access and dietary requirements.

Priority What to check Your needs
Butter-led recipe Compare butter percentages only where the exact product page states them. Treat French-butter and French-flour wording as recipe-origin information, not an independent taste score. I want evidence that the premium price reflects a butter-led laminated recipe, rather than relying on a premium range name alone.
Portions and value Check the pack count and divide the live pack price by the number of croissants. Confirm whether freezing is permitted if you will not serve the full pack at once. I need enough pastries for the people at breakfast without buying more than I can serve, freeze or store as instructed.
Preparation time Look for oven temperature, warming time and frozen-use instructions. Confirm whether the product can be served cold when an oven is not available. A quick warm-up suits my holiday morning, or I need a pastry that is ready to eat without advance defrosting.
Allergens and nutrition Read the current ingredient and allergen panel for milk, wheat, egg, nuts and precautionary statements. Compare saturates per croissant and portion size where this matters to you. I need the exact pack label before purchase if I avoid milk, egg, wheat or gluten, nuts, or have a medically relevant dietary requirement.

Common buying pitfalls

  • Assuming a premium-tier name proves the richest recipe

    Premium labels are not a standardised butter-content measure. Among the directly comparable products, disclosed butter ranges from 25% for ASDA Exceptional to 33% for Waitrose No.1, while Tesco Finest does not state a comparable percentage on its accessible product text.

    Use the exact product’s ingredient panel and butter percentage where it is disclosed; do not rank recipes by tier name alone.

  • Comparing pack prices instead of servings and promotional conditions

    A smaller two-pack can cost more per croissant than a four-pack, and member pricing can apply only under stated conditions and dates.

    Divide the live pack price by the number of croissants, then buy only the quantity you can serve, freeze or store according to the pack instructions.

    Pack size and conditional promotions can change the practical cost of feeding a group.

  • Overlooking allergens because a croissant is all butter or vegetarian

    All-butter croissants commonly contain milk, wheat and egg. Waitrose states that its product may contain nuts, Lidl lists broader trace-allergen warnings, and M&S notes that its in-store bakery environment cannot guarantee the absence of traces.

    For an allergy or intolerance, check the current physical or online pack label every time and seek retailer advice for loose or in-store bakery items.

  • Treating a premium croissant as a low-saturated-fat breakfast choice

    The listed products provide 10.0 g saturates per Sainsbury’s croissant, 10.1 g per Waitrose croissant and 8.3 g per ASDA croissant.

    If saturated fat is a personal dietary concern, compare the per-croissant nutrition panel and portion size rather than assuming that a smaller or premium pack is nutritionally lighter.

Relevant supermarket croissant ranges

M&S

M&S offers an in-store bakery all-butter croissant route for shoppers looking for a single, larger 75 g pastry with a disclosed 30% butter recipe.

  • The product page states real butter, 30% butter and vegetarian suitability.
  • Select a local Foodhall for availability, and note the bakery-area allergen warning.

Tesco Finest

Tesco Finest is a four-pack premium-tier route centred on layered dough and French-churned butter.

  • Tesco states that the dough is layered and folded with French-churned butter.
  • Check the current pack label for comparable butter percentage, nutrition and allergen details.

Sainsbury’s Taste the Difference

Taste the Difference offers four all-butter croissants for group breakfasts, with a disclosed 29% French-butter recipe and instructions for warming from ambient or frozen.

  • The product has freezing guidance and can be warmed before serving.
  • It contains wheat, milk and egg, and lists 10.0 g saturates per croissant.

Waitrose No.1

Waitrose No.1 is a small-pack premium route for two people, prepared in France with French-churned butter and French flour.

  • The exact product page states 33% butter and a 2–3 minute oven warm-up.
  • The product contains wheat, milk and egg, and may contain nuts.

ASDA Exceptional

Exceptional by ASDA is a four-pack premium-tier route with French butter, an all-butter recipe and freezing suitability.

  • The product page discloses 25% butter and states that the croissants can be served hot or cold.
  • It contains egg, wheat and milk, and lists 8.3 g saturates per croissant.

Lidl

Lidl offers an in-store all-butter croissant route for shoppers prioritising local-store convenience and a standard all-butter pastry.

  • The product page confirms in-store availability and vegetarian suitability.
  • Check the on-shelf label for current recipe details, price and the broad precautionary allergen statement.

Joybuy product options

These Joybuy options are frozen bake-at-home croissants for a planned holiday breakfast or sharing spread where freezer storage and an oven are available.

Pret A Manger Butter Croissants 330g

Pret A Manger Butter Croissants 330g

A plain all-butter option for a planned breakfast when you can bake from frozen before serving.

Product information states 24% French-sourced butter, slow fermentation and 27 folds. Bake from frozen in 20 minutes; contains wheat, gluten, milk and egg, and may contain nuts, sesame and soya. Check the pack count before planning servings.

Joybuy
Pret A Manger 6 Chocolate Filled Croissants 420G

Pret A Manger 6 Chocolate Filled Croissants 420G

A six-pack option for a group wanting a sweeter baked chocolate pastry rather than a plain butter-croissant comparison.

Each croissant has chocolate filling and topping with a stated 19% butter content. Cook from frozen for 22 minutes; contains wheat, gluten, milk, egg and soya, and is not suitable for nut and sesame allergy sufferers.

Joybuy

Frequently asked questions

What is the simplest way to decide whether a premium croissant is worth the extra cost?

Compare the exact pack’s butter disclosure, pack count and live price per croissant. A premium label alone is not a comparable recipe measure: Waitrose No.1 lists 33% butter, Sainsbury’s Taste the Difference 29% and ASDA Exceptional 25%, while Tesco Finest confirms French-churned butter but does not state a comparable percentage on its accessible listing.

Which pack works for a couple or a family breakfast?

Waitrose No.1 is a two-pack, which can suit two people. Sainsbury’s Taste the Difference and ASDA Exceptional are four-packs for a group; compare the live ticket price per item because prices and promotions can change.

Can these croissants be warmed for a bakery-style breakfast?

Yes, where the exact pack says so. Waitrose No.1 gives 2–3 minutes in a preheated oven at 200°C conventional or 180°C fan, while Sainsbury’s gives five minutes from ambient or six minutes from frozen at 180°C conventional or 160°C fan. Follow the instructions on the pack you buy because recipes and guidance can change.

Can I freeze croissants for later in the holiday?

Check the exact pack before freezing. Sainsbury’s says to freeze as soon as possible after purchase and within the best-before date, then use within one month; ASDA states that its listed product is suitable for freezing before the date mark and should not be refrozen after defrosting.

Are all-butter croissants suitable for someone avoiding common allergens?

No. The products covered commonly declare milk, wheat and egg, while some also carry nut or broader trace warnings. For an allergy or intolerance, rely on the current product label and ask the retailer about loose or service-counter products rather than relying on a general brand comparison.