Shoppers comparing protein per bar
If your morning tea break calls for a compact bar rather than a meal, compare the protein in one bar, not just the figure per 100g. Check the whole-bar nutrition panel before deciding how it fits your break.
Start with the protein amount per whole bar, then compare sugars, saturated fat, fibre, portion size and allergens for the break you want. A protein-and-fibre bar or a vegan option may suit your requirements better than the bar with the most protein; a “protein” product name alone does not establish that it meets Great Britain’s “high protein” claim threshold.
If your morning tea break calls for a compact bar rather than a meal, compare the protein in one bar, not just the figure per 100g. Check the whole-bar nutrition panel before deciding how it fits your break.
Check the claim on the exact flavour and pack. A vegan bar can still contain nuts or soya, while a gluten-free bar may contain milk or nuts.
If fibre matters alongside protein, compare both amounts per bar. Nature Valley’s Protein and Protein + Fibre ranges illustrate why the range name, ingredients and serving size need separate checks.
Compare one complete bar at a time: pack sizes and product names can obscure differences between individual servings.
| Priority | What to check | Your needs |
|---|---|---|
| Protein | Read grams per whole bar and its serving size. If a “high protein” claim matters, Great Britain’s rule, published by legislation.gov.uk, requires at least 20% of the food’s energy to come from protein. | I want to know what one bar contributes during my break, rather than choosing by a “protein” name alone. |
| Whole-bar nutrition | Compare sugars, saturates and kcal for the whole bar, alongside its weight. “No added sugar” does not state the total sugars. | A smaller snack suits some breaks; on other days I may want a larger bar. I can compare the listed servings without treating either size as automatically preferable. |
| Ingredients and allergens | Read the current ingredient list and any “may contain” statement. Confirm vegan or gluten-free labelling on the exact product. | If I avoid an ingredient, I need to check this flavour’s pack rather than rely on the brand or range name. |
| Fibre | Compare fibre and protein in the same bar. Check the ingredients too: a fibre-focused recipe may include wheat or barley. | I may choose a protein-and-fibre option even when another bar lists more protein, provided its ingredients suit me. |
Those phrases do not necessarily mean the same thing. Under the Great Britain nutrition-claim rule published by legislation.gov.uk, a “high protein” claim requires protein to supply at least 20% of the food’s energy.
Compare protein and energy for the same serving. Where the label provides grams of protein and kcal, the protein-energy percentage can be calculated as protein grams × 4 ÷ total kcal × 100.
A bar’s protein figure does not tell you its sugars, saturates or serving energy. Published figures for the TREK Cocoa Oat flapjack list 14g sugars per 50g bar; Eat Natural lists 10g sugars and 5.6g saturates for its 40g Peanuts & Dark Chocolate bar.
Read the per-bar values together, particularly when comparing bars of different weights.
Vegan and gluten-free describe different product characteristics; neither means free from all allergens. Recipes and precautionary statements also differ between flavours.
Check the current pack’s ingredients and “may contain” wording for the specific bar. GOV.UK guidance says allergens that must be declared are emphasised in the ingredients list of pre-packed food.
A 50g flapjack and a 40g protein bar are different portions, so comparing only protein grams can miss a difference relevant to your break.
Decide what portion you want, then compare protein, fibre, sugars, saturates and kcal per complete bar.
A brand may sell several kinds of snack; check the exact bar and flavour before applying a range-level description to it.
Nature Valley UK lists separate Protein and Protein + Fibre bars.
TREK sells plant-based protein bars and flapjacks; the protein figure depends on the range.
The Peanut Butter Protein Bar is a fruit-and-nut-based option listed as vegan, gluten free and dairy free by Tesco Groceries.
Eat Natural’s Peanuts & Dark Chocolate Protein Bar is a nut-based bar with published per-bar nutrition.
Graze describes a wider snack range, rather than one uniform protein-bar recipe.
Alpen’s UK product range includes wholegrain mueslis, which are a different format from an individually wrapped tea-break bar.
These individually portioned protein bars offer three flavours and pack formats to consider for a morning tea break. Check each product’s current pack information for the nutrition and dietary requirements that matter to you.
No image available
The four-bar pack provides individual 40g portions for a morning break. The product information identifies peanuts, almonds, milk and soya as allergens; check the current pack before choosing it.
No image available
Each 50g bar is an individual portion; compare its whole-bar nutrition with smaller bars before choosing it for a short break. The product information identifies milk and soya and says it is not suitable for vegan or gluten-free diets.
No image available
For a morning-break comparison, published information for this 40g bar lists 10.2g protein per bar. It contains peanuts, soya and milk and may contain other nuts; check the current pack if allergens affect your choice.
Under the Great Britain nutrition-claim rule published by legislation.gov.uk, at least 20% of the food’s energy must come from protein for a “high protein” claim. When protein grams and kcal refer to the same serving, multiply the protein grams by 4, divide by total kcal and multiply by 100 to check the percentage. A bar called a “protein bar” does not necessarily meet that threshold.
Compare the nutrition for one complete bar, including its weight, protein, sugars, fibre, saturates and kcal. For example, published product information lists a 40g Nature Valley Protein Peanut & Chocolate bar and a 50g TREK Cocoa Oat flapjack; comparing per-bar values makes their different portion sizes clear.
No. “No added sugar” does not state the total sugars in the finished bar. The nākd. Peanut Butter Protein Bar is listed as having no added sugar but has 13g sugars per 45g bar, described in its product information as naturally occurring. Read the total-sugars figure on the current pack.
Read the ingredients and any precautionary “may contain” statement on the exact flavour and current pack. GOV.UK guidance says allergens that must be declared are emphasised in the ingredients list of pre-packed food. Vegan or gluten-free wording is not a substitute for checking other allergens, such as nuts, soya or milk.