Choose individually packed shortbread if you want to set out portions for movie night and keep unopened bags for later lunches; Walker’s Wee Shorties, for example, comes in six 25g bags. A sharing assortment suits guests who want a choice of biscuits, provided you can store what remains as the pack directs. Check the inner-pack count and current allergen label rather than assuming that “mini” means separately packed.
Who is each format for?
Hosts saving portions for lunches
Separate bags let you serve some shortbread on movie night without opening the portions you plan to keep. Walker’s Wee Shorties lists six individual 25g bags; a pack of mini biscuits does not necessarily have that format.
Hosts serving a shared selection
A sharing assortment offers guests a choice of shapes or flavours. If biscuits remain after opening, follow the pack’s storage directions.
Hosts checking guests’ allergens
Check the supplied pack’s ingredients and precautionary warnings before serving. The cited shortbread products differ in their wheat, milk and nut information.
What should you check before buying?
Individual bags
Choose when: You want to serve some portions now and leave others sealed for later lunches.
Trade-off: Walker’s Wee Shorties contains six bags, so count the guests and portions you intend to reserve.
Sharing assortment
Choose when: Guests would welcome a selection of plain and chocolate-chip shortbread.
Trade-off: The cited assortments are sharing packs, not confirmed multipacks of separate snack bags; store leftovers as directed.
| Priority | What to check | Your needs |
| Separate portions |
Look for a stated inner-bag count and weight. Walker’s Wee Shorties lists six 25g bags; Waitrose Mini Shortbread is listed as a 125g pack without a stated inner-bag count. |
I want to set out biscuits for guests while keeping unopened portions for later lunches. |
| Guest choice |
Check the varieties and whether they come in a sharing pack. The Waitrose Scottish selection includes plain shapes and chocolate-chip biscuits. |
A choice of biscuits matters more to my group than reserving sealed snack bags. |
| Ingredients and allergens |
Read the supplied pack’s ingredients and precautionary warnings. Walker’s lists wheat and milk for Wee Shorties and warns that it may also contain nuts. |
Before serving, I need to check each guest’s relevant allergens against the actual pack. |
| Amount and storage |
Compare net weight with the number of usable portions. For opened packs, follow the label: the cited Tesco fingers and Waitrose Scottish selection direct airtight storage. |
Will the amount cover movie night without leaving more opened shortbread than I plan to keep? |
Common pack-format mistakes
-
Assuming “mini” means individually packed
“Mini” can describe the biscuits rather than the packaging. The Waitrose Mini Shortbread listing does not specify separate inner bags, while Walker’s states that Wee Shorties has six.
Check the number of inner packs before relying on unopened portions for later lunches.
If you portion biscuits from an opened sharing pack, you may need your own containers for the portions you keep.
-
Assuming similar names mean identical recipes
Walker’s and Waitrose list different butter percentages for similarly named six-bag Wee Shorties products. An online description may also differ from the pack supplied.
Check the supplied label when a particular ingredient or allergen matters.
-
Choosing a foodservice case for one gathering
Walker’s lists a case of 120 snack packs, while Dean’s lists approximately 100 individually wrapped 10g minis per case. Both contain far more separate portions than Walker’s six-bag multipack.
Count the portions needed for guests and future lunches before considering a case.
A case may leave many portions to store after movie night.
Relevant brand references
Walker’s Shortbread
Its Wee Shorties listing specifies six separate 25g bags.
- Walker’s lists five mini fingers per bag.
- The listing includes wheat and milk and says the biscuits may also contain nuts. Check the supplied pack’s recipe and warnings.
Dean’s
Its individually wrapped all-butter minis are offered as a foodservice case rather than a small household multipack.
- Dean’s lists approximately 100 individually wrapped 10g minis per case.
- Count how many portions you can use before choosing a case for movie night.
M&S
Its shortbread range includes a 650g sharing assortment and a separate Made Without Wheat line.
- The 650g assortment comes in a sharing tin.
- Made Without Wheat rounds contain milk and are labelled unsuitable for people with nut or peanut allergies.
Waitrose
Its own-label listings include mini shortbread and a Scottish sharing selection.
- The 450g Scottish selection includes plain shapes and chocolate-chip biscuits.
- The 125g Mini Shortbread listing does not specify separate inner portions.
Tesco
Its 210g all-butter shortbread fingers are a conventional pack to portion out for guests.
- The listing gives a 210g pack size.
- Its label information says to use an airtight container once opened and warns that the biscuits may contain peanuts and nuts.
Sainsbury’s
Its own-label all-butter assortment is a sharing pack with plain shapes and dark-chocolate-chip rounds.
- The 450g assortment lists typically 30 biscuits across eight varieties.
- It is a sharing assortment, not a stated multipack of separate snack bags.
Joybuy shortbread option
This single portion is an option to consider for a later lunch, rather than a multipack for serving movie-night guests.
No image available
Island Bakery Organic Shortbread 25g
A single 25g portion could be kept for a later lunch, but one pack is not a movie-night multipack. Check the supplied label for ingredients and allergen information before serving.
View on Joybuy
Shortbread questions
Does “mini shortbread” mean individually packed portions?
No. Check the stated inner-bag count: Walker’s Wee Shorties specifies six 25g bags, while the Waitrose Mini Shortbread listing describes a 125g pack without specifying separate inner bags.
How can I save multipack portions for later lunches?
Decide how many separate bags to serve on movie night and leave the others unopened. Walker’s Wee Shorties lists six bags, so check that this count covers both occasions.
How should I keep shortbread left from a sharing pack?
Follow the directions on that pack. The cited Tesco shortbread fingers and Waitrose Scottish selection say to store the opened biscuits in an airtight container.
Is wheat-free shortbread necessarily suitable for someone with a nut or milk allergy?
No. M&S Made Without Wheat All Butter Shortbread Rounds contain milk and are labelled unsuitable for people with nut or peanut allergies. Check the supplied pack against the guest’s particular allergens before serving.