Who is each drink for?

Travellers who want fruit flavour and fizz

A sparkling juice or fruit drink fits when carbonation matters more than a thick texture. Check the individual container size and its handling instructions before packing it for a train journey.

Travellers who want a smoothie

Look for a drink described as a smoothie made from crushed fruit or vegetables, rather than a carbonated fruit drink. Tesco and Sainsbury's list smaller Innocent smoothies alongside larger bottles, so check the size you intend to carry.

Travellers comparing labels

Compare sugars per 100ml as well as the amount in the container: a no-added-sugar claim does not state the drink's total sugars. The NHS advises limiting fruit juice and smoothies to a combined 150ml a day; a larger bottle is not the same as that guidance amount.

What should you check before buying?

Still smoothie

Choose it when: You want crushed fruit-and-vegetable texture rather than carbonation.

Bear in mind: A smoothie will not provide fizz, and its bottle may contain more than the NHS's 150ml combined daily guidance amount for juice and smoothies.

Sparkling fruit drink

Choose it when: Fizz is the priority and you are happy to select a juice or fruit drink rather than a smoothie.

Bear in mind: Juice content, sugars and handling instructions differ between products; the name alone does not settle those checks.

Priority What to check Your needs
Drink type Read the product description and ingredients. Check whether it says smoothie, carbonated juice, fruit drink or fermented tea. I want a smoothie's crushed-fruit texture, or I would rather have fizz. A fruit flavour alone does not tell me which drink I am buying.
Container Compare the size of one can or bottle, not just the multipack. Check whether the individual container can be closed again if you plan to save some. A smaller individual drink may be easier for me to carry on a short journey; if I expect to put it away after opening, the closure matters too.
Ingredients and sugars Compare juice content and sugars per 100ml on the current label. For juice or smoothies, note that the NHS advises a combined limit of 150ml a day. I do not want to mistake 'no added sugar' for a statement about total sugars, or assume that a whole bottle equals the NHS guidance amount.
Opening and suitability Read any shake, pressure and opening instructions. For fermented drinks, check the alcohol statement and other ingredient information on the pack. If I may open the drink in a moving carriage, I need instructions for that particular product. I also want to check its ingredients before travelling.

What could catch you out?

  • Assuming 'sparkling fruit' means sparkling smoothie

    UK retailer listings distinguish still smoothies from sparkling juices and fruit drinks. One may have the texture you want without fizz; the other may provide fizz without smoothie texture.

    Use the product description and ingredients to identify the drink type before choosing a flavour.

  • Reading 'no added sugar' as 'low in sugars'

    Coca-Cola Great Britain lists sugars in Appletiser even though it describes the drink as having no added sugar. The two statements measure different things.

    Compare the current nutrition panel per 100ml and consider how much of the container you intend to drink.

  • Applying one drink's shake instructions to another

    Waitrose & Partners describes its 420ml Orangina as best served shaken, while M&S says its pressurised Raspberry Kombucha should not be shaken.

    Follow the instructions on the specific container and take care when opening a carbonated drink in transit.

  • Overlooking a fermented drink's label

    M&S states that its Raspberry Kombucha contains trace amounts of alcohol. It is fermented tea, not a smoothie or fruit juice.

    If alcohol content or an ingredient affects your choice, read the current pack before travelling.

Brand and retailer references

These names help distinguish supermarket smoothie ranges from sparkling-drink options; they do not all describe products of the same type.

Innocent

A reference point for still fruit-and-vegetable smoothies, including smaller bottles listed by UK supermarkets.

  • Tesco lists an Innocent 300ml smoothie, while Sainsbury's lists 250ml options.
  • Innocent describes its smoothies as crushed fruit and vegetables; that description does not make them sparkling drinks.

Naked

A still-smoothie reference for shoppers considering a larger fruit-and-vegetable drink.

  • Tesco and Sainsbury's list Naked smoothies in 750ml bottles.
  • Check how much you intend to drink on one journey; the NHS's combined daily guidance amount for juice and smoothies is 150ml.

Tesco

A retailer whose smoothie range can be used to compare different bottle sizes and brands.

  • Its smoothie listing includes Innocent 300ml and larger 750ml products.
  • A smoothie listing should not be taken as evidence that a product is carbonated; check each description.

Sainsbury's

A retailer listing both own-label smoothies and smaller branded smoothie bottles.

  • Its smoothie range includes Innocent 250ml bottles and 750ml products.
  • Its smoothie and fizzy-drink ranges serve different drink preferences; check the category and product description.

Waitrose

A retailer reference for sparkling juice and fruit drinks rather than smoothie texture.

  • Waitrose & Partners lists sparkling juices and drinks, including Appletiser 6 × 250ml.
  • Its 420ml Orangina listing describes a sparkling fruit drink with pulp, sugar and sweeteners, not a smoothie.

M&S

A reference for a lightly sparkling fruit-flavoured kombucha if fermented tea is what you want.

  • M&S lists Raspberry Kombucha in a 250ml can.
  • M&S states that it contains trace amounts of alcohol and that its pressurised container should not be shaken.

Sparkling drink options on Joybuy

These are fruit-flavoured drinks and sparkling juice options for the fizzy side of the train-journey choice. If you want a still smoothie instead, check a product described as a smoothie rather than treating these drinks as substitutes.

J2O Orange & Passion Fruit 12 × 250ml

J2O Orange & Passion Fruit 12 × 250ml

The 250ml units offer an individual portion to pack for a journey. Check the current label for the drink type and handling instructions if fizz or opening it in transit is central to your choice.

View on Joybuy
J2O Sparkling Apple & Raspberry 4 × 250ml

J2O Sparkling Apple & Raspberry 4 × 250ml

A sparkling apple-and-raspberry drink in four 250ml units for the fizzy-drink route, rather than a smoothie. Read the container's opening instructions before drinking it on the train.

View on Joybuy
Appletiser 100% Apple Juice Lightly Sparkling 6 × 250ml

Appletiser 100% Apple Juice Lightly Sparkling 6 × 250ml

Choose this route if you want sparkling apple juice rather than smoothie texture. Joybuy describes the drink as 100% carbonated apple juice from concentrate and lists 26g sugars per 250ml serving; check the current pack if you are comparing nutrition values.

View on Joybuy
J2O Sparkling Apple & Mango 4 × 250ml

J2O Sparkling Apple & Mango 4 × 250ml

A sparkling fruit drink in four 250ml units if fizz and an individual portion matter more than smoothie texture. Check the current pack's ingredients and advice for an opened drink before deciding whether it suits your journey.

View on Joybuy
Huayang 1982 Juice Soda Drink Orange flavour 358ml

Huayang 1982 Juice Soda Drink Orange flavour 358ml

The stated 358ml unit is an orange-flavoured soda-drink option rather than a smoothie. If juice content or saving some for later matters, check the current label and container before buying.

View on Joybuy

Questions about drinks for train journeys

Is a sparkling fruit drink the same as a smoothie?

No. Tesco and Sainsbury's list smoothies separately from the sparkling juices and fruit drinks listed by Waitrose & Partners. Choose by the description and ingredients: crushed fruit-and-vegetable texture and carbonation are different reasons to buy.

What container size should I consider for one journey?

Check the size of each individual can or bottle and whether you will finish it or need to close it again. The options here include 250ml and 358ml units; for juice and smoothies, the NHS advises a combined limit of 150ml a day, which is smaller than either container size.

Does 'no added sugar' mean a drink contains little sugar?

No: it does not state the total sugars. Coca-Cola Great Britain lists sugars in Appletiser despite its no-added-sugar description. Read the nutrition panel per 100ml and for the amount you plan to drink.

Should I shake a sparkling drink before opening it?

Follow that product's instructions, not a general rule. Waitrose & Partners describes its 420ml Orangina as best served shaken, while M&S says its pressurised Raspberry Kombucha must not be shaken and should be opened with care.

What matters if I plan to sip a drink throughout the journey?

Consider the type of drink and how much you intend to have. The NHS advises having juice and smoothies at mealtimes; Lancashire and South Cumbria Integrated Care Board notes that fizzy drinks are acidic, including versions without sugar.