Who is choosing the bars?

Hosts feeding a mixed group

Count the portions you intend to offer, then consider flavour choice. Keep wrappers and outer packaging available so guests can read the labels before taking a bar.

Hosts catering for particular diets

Look for a claim on the exact product rather than assuming every fruit, oat or protein bar meets the same requirements. A vegan or gluten-free label does not replace an ingredient and allergen check.

Hosts adding protein-focused options

A small pack with stated protein per bar may serve guests who specifically want that type of snack. Check its portion count and allergens before placing it alongside bars for general sharing.

What should you check?

Work out how many people you want to offer a bar, then choose any additional packs by their exact labels and serving sizes.

PriorityWhat to checkYour needs
Portion count Read both the bar count and the number of wrapped portions. Nature Valley UK lists 20 bars as 10 paired portions in its Crunchy Variety Pack; the researched Graze and nākd. packs have four bars, while the TREK and Eat Natural examples have three. I need enough portions for the guests I plan to serve, without mistaking a paired portion for a single bar.
Labels and allergens Check the current ingredients and precautionary warnings on each pack. Keep the wrapper or outer pack available, particularly when guests serve themselves. Guests need to be able to check a bar before eating it; a general dietary claim will not answer every allergy question.
Flavour choice Check which flavours are in the exact pack and whether their ingredient lists differ. Nature Valley UK lists Canadian Maple Syrup, Oats & Dark Chocolate and Oats & Honey in its 20-bar variety pack. Several flavours would give my guests a choice, provided each option suits the person taking it.
Dietary claims Check vegan, gluten-free or dairy-free wording on the particular product, then read its allergen statement. The labelled nākd. Berry Delight example contains cashews despite its vegan, gluten-free and dairy-free claims. If a guest needs a specifically labelled option, I want to offer one they can identify and inspect separately.
Nutrition per bar Compare the stated serving size with the sugars, protein or fibre figure you care about. A no-added-sugar claim does not state how much sugar is in the finished bar. When choosing an additional bar for its nutrition information, I want to compare the portion guests would actually take.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Counting packs instead of portions

    A three- or four-bar pack will serve fewer guests than its multipack label might suggest. Nature Valley UK lists 10 paired portions in its 20-bar variety pack.

    Decide how many guests you intend to offer a bar, then compare that number with the portions shown on each pack. Treat smaller specialist packs as additions when more portions are needed.

  • Removing bars from their labelled packaging

    Without the wrapper or outer pack, guests may not be able to inspect the ingredients and allergen warnings for the bar they have picked.

    Leave prepacked bars in their wrappers and keep the outer packaging nearby. Ask guests with allergies to check the exact current label.

  • Using a front-of-pack claim as the whole answer

    Vegan, no-added-sugar and protein wording describes particular features; none establishes that a bar suits every guest. The researched nākd. Berry Delight product, for example, is labelled vegan but contains cashews.

    Read the ingredients, allergens, serving size and nutrition table alongside any claim that matters to your choice.

  • Relying on an older Alpen bar listing

    Alpen’s UK availability information identifies several named bar lines that are no longer made, so an older listing is not a sound basis for planning portions or checking ingredients.

    Confirm a current product listing and read the label on the pack you intend to serve.

Brand and product-line references

These examples show different pack formats and label considerations; a brand name alone does not establish that a particular bar suits your guests.

Nature Valley

Nature Valley UK describes a Crunchy Variety Pack with 20 bars in 10 paired portions and a separate Protein Peanut & Chocolate pack with eight 40 g bars.

  • The variety pack offers three listed flavours in one pack.
  • The variety pack contains oats and soya and may contain nuts, peanuts and wheat; check the exact flavour and current label.

Graze

ASDA lists Graze Peanut Butter Oat Boosts as a 4 x 30 g flapjack pack.

  • ASDA lists 3.1 g sugars and 4.6 g fibre per 30 g bar for that product.
  • That peanut-butter product contains peanuts, oats and soya; inspect its current precautionary warnings too.

nākd.

Tesco lists Berry Delight as a 4 x 35 g fruit-and-nut multipack; nākd. labels the product vegan, gluten-free and dairy-free.

  • Berry Delight offers a specifically labelled option for those dietary requirements.
  • Berry Delight contains cashews and carries precautionary allergen information. Check its own label rather than applying its claims to other nākd. bars.

TREK

Waitrose lists TREK Original Oat Protein Flapjacks as a pack of three individually wrapped bars, with 9 g plant protein stated per bar.

  • The three-bar format can add a separately identifiable protein-focused option.
  • The researched Original Oat product contains oats and soya and may contain milk, nuts and peanuts.

Eat Natural

Waitrose describes the Peanuts, Almonds & Salted Caramel product as a three-bar, individually wrapped multipack.

  • The individual wrappers allow guests to inspect each bar’s packaging.
  • This product contains peanuts, almonds, soya and milk; it is not an unchecked option for a mixed group.

Alpen

Alpen is relevant to cereal-bar searches, but its UK availability information says several named bar lines are no longer made.

  • A current product listing and pack label can establish which Alpen bar, if any, fits your plans.
  • Do not rely on a historic bar listing or its ingredient details; Alpen also says some products are made on lines where peanuts and nuts are used.

Joybuy snack-bar options

These packs include variety bars and smaller fruit-and-nut, oat-bite and flapjack options. Compare their stated portion counts and current labels with the guests you plan to serve.

Graze Protein Bites Cocoa and Vanilla Oat Squares, 4 x 30 g

Graze Protein Bites Cocoa & Vanilla Oat Squares, 4 x 30 g

This four-pack is an additional oat-square option rather than the main supply for a larger group. Check the current label for oats, soya and precautionary allergen warnings before serving.

View on Joybuy
nākd. Blueberry Muffin Raw Fruit and Nut Bars, 4 x 35 g

nākd. Blueberry Muffin Raw Fruit & Nut Bars, 4 x 35 g

Use this four-bar fruit-and-nut pack as an additional choice, not as the only supply for a larger party. Check its own dietary claims and nut and peanut warnings; the Berry Delight product’s label does not establish this variant’s details.

View on Joybuy
Nature Valley Crunchy Family Variety Pack, 10 x 42 g

Nature Valley Crunchy Family Variety Pack, 10 x 42 g

Nature Valley UK describes this format as 20 bars in 10 paired portions across three flavours. Count the pairs when planning servings, check each flavour’s ingredients and confirm that the pack is currently available before relying on it for the party.

Purchase link unavailable
Nature Valley Variety Pack, 5-pack, 210 g

Nature Valley Variety Pack, 5-pack, 210 g

This smaller variety-pack format may suit a shorter guest list or add flavour choice alongside other packs. Check the exact flavour mix, number of serveable portions and each flavour’s allergen label on this version.

View on Joybuy
TREK Salted Caramel Protein Flapjacks, 3 x 50 g

TREK Salted Caramel Protein Flapjacks, 3 x 50 g

This three-bar pack can add a protein-labelled flapjack choice but will not provide many party portions. Check the Salted Caramel pack’s own dietary wording and its soya, nut, peanut and milk warnings before offering it to guests with specific requirements.

View on Joybuy

Street-party snack-bar questions

How many snack bars should I buy for a street party?

Count the portions you intend to offer, rather than buying by the word “multipack”. Nature Valley UK lists 20 bars as 10 paired portions in its Crunchy Variety Pack; the researched Graze and nākd. packs contain four bars, and the TREK and Eat Natural examples contain three. Decide whether bars are the main snack or one choice among others before working out the quantities.

Is a vegan or gluten-free bar suitable for everyone with allergies?

No. Those claims address specific dietary requirements, not every allergen. The researched nākd. Berry Delight bar is labelled vegan and gluten-free but contains cashews; the researched TREK Original Oat flapjack contains oats and soya and carries precautionary warnings. Let guests inspect the exact product label.

What allergen information should guests be able to see?

Keep each prepacked bar in its wrapper and retain the outer pack so guests can read its ingredients and allergen statements. This matters especially for variety packs, where guests should check the flavour they select rather than assume every bar has the same ingredients.

Does “no added sugar” mean a bar is low in sugar?

No. “No added sugar” does not state the finished bar’s sugar content. Read the nutrition table per bar and its stated serving size when comparing products.

Should I choose protein bars instead of a variety pack?

Choose a protein-labelled pack when it meets a particular guest preference, rather than assuming it replaces the portions needed for the whole party. For example, Waitrose lists TREK Original Oat as three individually wrapped bars with 9 g plant protein stated per bar; check its allergens and count alongside any bars intended for general sharing.