Choose a pack by the number and size of bars your family will use, then check the exact flavour’s nutrition and allergen label. An individually wrapped oat-bar pack offers variety or a larger supply; a fruit-and-nut bar may meet particular dietary preferences but can contain peanuts, while a protein bar is a more specialised choice rather than a default for a child’s lunch.
Who is choosing these packs?
Families packing several holiday lunches
Individually wrapped bars can be divided between outings, packed lunches and days at home. Compare the pack count with how many bars you expect to use, rather than assuming that every multipack is a bulk format.
Families managing a dietary requirement
Start with the specific requirement, then read the ingredients and precautionary allergen statement on each flavour. Oats, peanuts, tree nuts, soya and milk differ across the products discussed here.
Families checking sugars and portions
Read sugars alongside the stated bar or serving size: wording such as oat-based or no added sugar does not state the total sugars in a portion. The NHS advises choosing fruit and vegetables for snacks and aiming for no more than two packaged snacks a day.
What should you check?
For school-holiday lunches, start with the pack format, then check the portion, ingredients and the setting where the bar will be eaten.
| Priority | What to check | Your needs |
| Pack format |
Check the number of bars, weight per bar and whether each portion is wrapped separately. A twin-bar serving is not the same as one small bar. |
I want enough portable portions for the lunches and outings we have planned, without choosing a pack solely because it looks large. |
| Sugars and serving size |
Compare sugars for the portion you would serve. The Joybuy listing for Nature Valley Crunchy Family Variety Pack states 11.3g sugars per 42g two-bar portion; Tesco lists 13g sugars per 45g nākd. Peanut Butter Protein bar. |
If I compare two bars, I want to know whether their labels describe one bar or a two-bar serving. A no-added-sugar claim does not give me the total sugars figure. |
| Allergens |
Read the exact flavour’s ingredients, declared allergens and precautionary statements. Check any food rules set by the school or holiday organiser. |
Where an allergy or food rule applies, I need to check the actual pack rather than rely on a brand-wide vegan or gluten-free description. |
| Flavour and routine |
Decide whether several flavours or a single familiar flavour will be used. Check how many individually wrapped portions the pack contains. |
Variety matters if family members prefer different flavours; a single-flavour pack may be simpler when everyone wants the same bar. |
| Place in lunch |
Plan the bar as a snack component, not the whole lunch. The NHS advises choosing fruit and vegetables for snacks and aiming for no more than two packaged snacks a day. |
For an outing, I want something portable alongside more substantial lunch food and fruit or vegetables, rather than relying on a bar alone. |
What is easy to overlook?
-
Reading “no added sugar” as “no sugars”
The phrases describe different things. Tesco lists 13g sugars per 45g nākd. Peanut Butter Protein bar, despite its no-added-sugar positioning.
Check total sugars on the nutrition panel and match the figure to the portion you expect to serve.
-
Using a dietary label as an allergy check
A vegan or gluten-free description does not address every allergen. Tesco’s nākd. Peanut Butter Protein listing includes peanuts, while the Morrisons listing for Eat Natural Salted Caramel & Nuts includes peanuts, almonds, soya and milk-derived ingredients.
For a child with an allergy, follow their clinical advice, read the exact pack and check the organiser’s food policy before packing a bar.
-
Letting the bar stand in for lunch
An individually wrapped bar is easy to carry, but its portability does not make it a complete lunch. NHS snack guidance favours fruit and vegetables and advises aiming for no more than two packaged snacks a day.
Pack the bar as one snack alongside other suitable lunch food, rather than making it the only item.
Which brands offer relevant formats?
These brand references describe particular product lines and pack formats, not the suitability of every bar a brand makes.
Graze
Graze offers small oat-flapjack multipacks, including Honey Oat Boosts in a 4 x 30g format.
- Waitrose lists 129 kcal per Honey Oat Boost and describes that product as high in fibre.
- Check the ingredients and allergen declaration for the particular flavour; figures for Honey Oat Boosts should not be applied to another Graze bar.
Nature Valley
Nature Valley makes crunchy oat bars in variety and single-flavour formats.
- Its Crunchy Variety Pack uses two-bar portions, giving families a distinct format to compare with single bars.
- The Joybuy listing for the 10 x 42g Crunchy Family Variety Pack states 11.3g sugars per two-bar portion and declares oats and soya, with precautionary statements for wheat, peanuts and tree nuts.
nākd.
nākd. describes its fruit-and-nut range as vegan, gluten-free and dairy-free; check those descriptions against the exact flavour being considered.
- Tesco lists 7.6g protein and 6.8g fibre per 45g Peanut Butter Protein bar.
- That Tesco-listed bar contains peanuts and lists 13g sugars per 45g bar. Dietary wording does not replace an allergen check.
TREK
TREK offers plant-based protein flapjacks as well as other protein-bar formats.
- TREK states that its Protein Flapjacks provide 9g plant-based protein; Tesco lists the Lotus Biscoff version in a three-bar, individually wrapped pack.
- A protein figure alone does not establish that a bar is the right everyday lunch snack for a child. Check the particular product’s portion and ingredients.
Eat Natural
Eat Natural offers nut-based cereal and protein bars, including an individually wrapped Salted Caramel & Nuts three-pack listed by Morrisons.
- The three-bar format provides separate portions for packing.
- Morrisons lists 51% peanuts, alongside almonds, soya protein crispies and milk-derived ingredients, for that particular product. It is not a nut-free choice.
Alpen
Alpen is associated with cereal bars, although its current UK product pages focus on muesli.
- A Weetabix Food Company product list dated November 2021 included Alpen cereal bars.
- That historical list does not establish a current snack-bar multipack. Check a particular listing before considering Alpen for this lunch format.
Joybuy snack-bar options
These Joybuy listings cover oat-bar, nut-bar, flapjack and cereal-bar multipacks for school-holiday lunches. Compare the stated pack formats, then check the exact product label for nutrition and allergens.
No image available
Nature Valley Variety Pack 5-pack 210g
A variety-format oat-bar listing for lunches where different flavours are useful. The stated pack is 5-pack, 210g; check the listing’s portion details before comparing it with larger family packs.
View on Joybuy
No image available
Nature Valley Crunchy Oats & Honey Family Pack, 20 bars, 420g
A single-flavour oat-and-honey format for families planning to use more portions across the holidays. The title states 20 bars and 420g; check the portion and allergen information on this exact pack.
View on Joybuy
No image available
Nature Valley Sweet & Salty Nut Dark Chocolate With Nuts, 360g (3 x 4 x 30g)
A nut-and-dark-chocolate bar format for households where a nut-containing snack is appropriate. The title states 3 x 4 x 30g; check the full ingredients and the rules of any setting where it will be eaten.
View on Joybuy
No image available
Graze Oat Boosts Lemon Blueberry, 4 x 30g
A four-bar oat-flapjack format for a smaller supply or a change of flavour. The title states 4 x 30g; use this flavour’s own nutrition and allergen label rather than figures for another Graze Oat Boost.
View on Joybuy
No image available
Special K Dark Chocolate Snack, 6 x 21.5g
A six-bar dark-chocolate snack format with a stated 21.5g per bar. Its smaller bar weight makes the portion worth checking when comparing it with the 30g and larger bars above.
View on Joybuy
Common questions
Can a snack bar be the whole school-holiday lunch?
Treat a bar as a portable snack component, not the whole lunch. The NHS advises choosing fruit and vegetables for snacks and aiming for no more than two packaged snacks a day; pack other suitable lunch food as well.
Does “no added sugar” mean a bar has no sugars?
No. The wording does not state the total sugars in a bar. Tesco lists 13g sugars per 45g nākd. Peanut Butter Protein bar, so read the nutrition figure for the exact product and serving.
How do I choose a bar for a gluten-free or vegan household?
Check the exact flavour’s label rather than choosing by brand alone. nākd. describes its fruit-and-nut range as vegan and gluten-free, but ingredients and precautionary allergen statements still matter for a specific dietary requirement or allergy.
Can I pack a nut-based bar for a holiday club or school activity?
Check the organiser’s current food and allergy policy before packing one. Department for Education allergy-safety guidance for English schools says arrangements should consider food brought from home, including packed lunches; a holiday organiser may have its own requirements.