Who are these wraps for?

Sourdough-curious shoppers

If the sourdough ingredient appeals to you, distinguish it from a claim about how long the finished tortilla dough fermented.

Meal planners

Compare the number of wraps with the instructions for using the pack after opening, especially if your planned meals fall on different days.

Ingredient-conscious shoppers

Check the exact wrap’s ingredients, allergy advice and per-100g nutrition rather than treating its sourdough name as a dietary or nutritional claim.

What should you check before ordering?

Start with what you want from the wrap, then check the exact product’s ingredients, pack instructions and comparable nutrition figures.

PriorityWhat to checkYour needs
Sourdough meaning Read the ingredient and process descriptions separately. Mission Wraps UK lists 2.6% inactive rye sourdough in its four-wrap recipe; that does not specify how long the finished dough fermented. I want a wrap made with sourdough, or I need product-specific process details before choosing one for its fermentation method.
Pack and storage Check the wrap count and opened-pack directions. Tesco lists two days after opening for Mission’s four-pack; Waitrose lists 24 hours for Deli Kitchen’s six-pack. Will I use the pack within its stated window, or should I look for product-specific freezing instructions?
Ingredients and allergens Check the delivered pack’s ingredients and allergy advice. The cited Mission sourdough wrap contains wheat and rye; Coeliac UK identifies both as gluten-containing grains. If I must avoid gluten, I cannot rely on the word ‘sourdough’ to establish that a wrap is suitable.
Nutrition figures Compare the same per-100g measures. The cited Sainsbury’s wholemeal wrap lists 10.1g fibre and 1.12g salt; its plain wrap lists 2.3g fibre and 0.80g salt. Fibre may be my deciding measure, but I want to see the salt figure alongside it rather than judge the whole recipe by one number.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Treating ‘made with sourdough’ as proof of long fermentation

    Mission Wraps UK specifies 2.6% inactive rye sourdough as an ingredient, but that figure does not establish the fermentation process for the finished tortilla dough.

    If the process matters to you, look for details about the finished dough rather than relying on the product name.

  • Assuming sourdough means gluten-free or higher in fibre

    The cited Mission wrap contains wheat and rye and lists 2g fibre per 100g. The cited Sainsbury’s wholemeal wrap lists 10.1g fibre per 100g.

    Check the exact product’s allergy advice and compare nutrition figures on the same per-100g basis.

  • Choosing a larger pack without checking when to use it

    Tesco instructs shoppers to use the cited Mission four-pack within two days of opening; Waitrose lists 24 hours for the cited Deli Kitchen six-pack.

    Match the pack to your meals, and follow any freezing and defrosting directions for that product.

Brand references

Mission

Its UK-listed four-pack is a soft tortilla made with a specified sourdough ingredient.

  • Mission Wraps UK lists inactive rye sourdough at 2.6%.
  • The recipe contains wheat and rye; the ingredient figure does not establish long fermentation of the finished wrap.

Deli Kitchen

Its six-wrap sourdough-labelled tortilla is described in a Waitrose product listing.

  • The listed ingredients include fermented wheat flour and sourdough culture.
  • The listing does not specify the finished dough’s fermentation duration and instructs consumption within 24 hours of opening.

Sainsbury's

Its cited plain and wholemeal eight-wrap packs offer comparisons when a sourdough ingredient is not the deciding factor.

  • Sainsbury’s lists per-100g ingredients and nutrition for both cited packs.
  • The cited wholemeal wrap lists more fibre and more salt per 100g than the cited plain wrap; neither is listed as sourdough.

Old El Paso

Its cited UK regular eight-pack is a conventional flour-tortilla option.

  • Old El Paso UK provides an ingredient list for that pack.
  • The cited recipe contains wheat flour and does not list sourdough; this does not describe every product in the range.

M&S

Its accessed wrap-category page shows conventional formats, including wholemeal and seeded tortillas.

  • The category gives shoppers several tortilla formats to compare.
  • A category listing does not establish which individual packs can be delivered to an address.

Joybuy wrap option

This gluten-free tortilla is an alternative to consider if avoiding gluten matters more to you than choosing a sourdough wrap.

Old El Paso Gluten Free Tortilla Wraps 216g

Old El Paso Gluten Free Tortilla Wraps 216g

A gluten-free tortilla-wrap option rather than a sourdough wrap. The pack is labelled 216g; check the delivered pack for its full ingredients and allergy advice.

View on Joybuy

Questions about ordering wraps

Does ‘sourdough’ mean the tortilla dough was long-fermented?

No: the name alone does not establish that process. Mission Wraps UK lists 2.6% inactive rye sourdough, while the cited Deli Kitchen listing names fermented wheat flour and sourdough culture; neither specifies the finished tortilla dough’s fermentation duration.

Are the cited Mission sourdough wraps gluten-free?

No. The cited recipe contains wheat flour and rye sourdough, both gluten-containing grains identified by Coeliac UK. Check the ingredients and allergy advice on the pack delivered to you.

How long can I keep these wraps after opening?

Follow the directions for the exact pack. Tesco lists two days after opening for the cited Mission four-pack; Waitrose lists 24 hours for the cited Deli Kitchen six-pack and provides separate freezing directions.

What food information should I check when ordering online?

Check the product’s ingredients and allergens before ordering, then check the label on the delivered pack. UK government guidance updated in September 2022 identifies ingredients, including allergens, as required prepacked-food information; Food Standards Agency online-selling guidance dated December 2016 says label information should be made available before purchase.