Who is each format for?

The choice starts with what guests expect in the glass, then how you plan to serve it.

Hosts pouring a shared drink

A bottle lets guests pour into glasses, but check whether its ingredient list says 100% juice and how the label says to store it after opening. Appletiser has a 750ml bottle listing, according to Tesco Groceries; Belvoir Farm also describes a sparkling fruit-juice bottle.

Hosts offering individual cans

Cans avoid opening one large bottle for a few guests. Check the drink as well as the pack: Sainsbury’s describes Cawston Press Cloudy Apple 4 × 250ml as containing 49% pressed apple juice, rather than 100% juice.

Shoppers comparing ingredients

Fruit-juice content, sugars and added ingredients answer different questions. Read the ingredients and nutrition panel on the exact drink, particularly if guests expect pure juice or wish to avoid sweeteners.

What should you check before buying?

Decide whether full juice content matters, then compare the serving format and the labels on the drinks you would actually buy.

PriorityWhat to checkYour needs
Juice content Read the juice percentage and ingredient list. Tesco Groceries lists Appletiser as 100% carbonated apple juice from concentrate; Sainsbury’s lists 49% pressed apple juice for Cawston Press Cloudy Apple. “I’m serving apple juice” calls for a different label from “I’m serving an apple-flavoured fizzy drink”.
Sugars and ingredients Compare sugars per 100ml on the current nutrition panels, alongside any added sugar or sweeteners in the ingredients. “No added sugar” does not state the drink’s total sugar content. If sugar content or sweeteners affect my choice, I want to compare the actual drinks rather than judge them by the word “apple”.
Serving and storage Check bottle or can size, the number of servings you intend to pour, and the product’s refrigeration and use-after-opening instructions. For shared pours, a bottle fits the plan; if guests will take separate drinks, cans make serving simpler. Leftovers matter if I expect to open more than we will finish.
Juice portions The NHS advises limiting fruit juice, vegetable juice and smoothies to a combined 150ml a day; that amount counts only once towards 5 A Day. A 250ml can is one convenient serving container, not a way to count extra 5 A Day portions.

Common buying mistakes

  • Assuming every fizzy apple drink is pure juice

    Products sold with an apple flavour can have very different juice content. ASDA Groceries lists J2O Spritz Apple & Watermelon with 10% apple juice and 2% watermelon juice from concentrate, whereas Tesco Groceries lists Appletiser as 100% carbonated apple juice from concentrate.

    Check the percentage and ingredients before choosing a drink for guests expecting sparkling apple juice.

  • Reading “no added sugar” as a sugar comparison

    That phrase describes added ingredients, not the total sugars shown on a nutrition panel. Two drinks can also differ in juice content.

    Compare sugars per 100ml on the exact packs, then decide whether full juice content or a different formulation matters more.

  • Overlooking an opened bottle

    A sharing bottle may leave a partly used drink after a smaller gathering. Storage instructions can differ between products.

    Check the label’s refrigeration and use-after-opening directions before deciding how many bottles to open.

  • Relying on a listing for event-day stock

    A product listing can help you compare a drink’s format and ingredients without telling you what your chosen shop will have when you need it.

    Check availability with your retailer before putting a specific drink on the BBQ shopping list.

Brand and product-line references

These examples show why the juice percentage and ingredients matter more than the brand name alone; they are not a list of drinks stocked by Joybuy.

Appletiser

A sparkling apple-juice option listed by Tesco Groceries in a 750ml bottle and a 6 × 250ml can pack.

  • Tesco Groceries lists carbonated apple juice from concentrate as 100% of the bottled drink.
  • Check the nutrition panel rather than assuming that 100% juice has little sugar.

Cawston Press

The Cloudy Apple 4 × 250ml pack is an individual-can option described by Sainsbury’s as containing 49% not-from-concentrate pressed apple juice.

  • The cans suit serving guests individually.
  • This particular drink does not meet a requirement for 100% apple juice.

Belvoir Farm

Belvoir Farm describes Sparkling Pink Apple as a 100% fruit-juice drink made with apple and elderberry juice.

  • It offers a fruit-juice sharing option with a different fruit blend from plain apple juice.
  • “100% fruit juice” does not mean “100% apple juice”; check the blend if that distinction matters.

J2O

J2O Spritz Apple & Watermelon is a flavoured sparkling soft drink rather than a pure apple-juice option.

  • ASDA Groceries lists 10% apple juice and 2% watermelon juice from concentrate for this variant.
  • Check its full ingredient list if added ingredients or sweeteners affect your choice.

Joybuy options for the BBQ

These options include apple juice for individual servings or pouring, alongside apple-flavoured fizzy drinks. Check which type guests expect before comparing pack formats.

Appletiser 100% Apple Juice Lightly Sparkling, 6 × 250ml cans

Appletiser 100% Apple Juice Lightly Sparkling, 6 × 250ml

Six individual cans suit guests who want sparkling apple juice without sharing an opened bottle. Check the nutrition panel when comparing sugars with other drinks.

View on Joybuy
De Vina Sparkling Apple 750ml bottle

De Vina Sparkling Apple 750ml

The 750ml bottle is a format for pouring into glasses. Check the current label for its juice content, nutrition information and storage instructions before treating it as equivalent to a 100% juice option.

View on Joybuy
J2O Sparkling Apple & Mango, 4 × 250ml cans

J2O Sparkling Apple & Mango, 4 × 250ml

Four individual cans offer an apple-and-mango flavoured soft drink, not 100% apple juice. Check the ingredients if guests wish to avoid added sugar or sweeteners.

View on Joybuy
J2O Sparkling Apple & Raspberry, 4 × 250ml cans

J2O Sparkling Apple & Raspberry, 4 × 250ml

This four-can pack is an apple-and-raspberry flavoured soft drink for separate servings. It is not a substitute for 100% apple juice when full juice content is the priority.

View on Joybuy
Tango Sugar Free Apple, 8 × 330ml cans

Tango Sugar Free Apple, 8 × 330ml

Eight individual cans provide an apple-flavoured fizzy drink rather than a juice-led option. Check the ingredient list if sweeteners affect what you serve.

View on Joybuy

Questions about sparkling apple drinks

Does a 250ml can count as more than one 5 A Day portion?

No. The NHS says fruit juice, vegetable juice and smoothies are limited to a combined 150ml a day for 5 A Day purposes, and that amount counts only once. A larger can does not add another portion.

Does “no added sugar” mean a drink has little sugar?

No. It does not state the total sugars in the drink. Compare the nutrition panels per 100ml and check juice content when choosing between full-juice and diluted sparkling drinks.

What should I do with a partly used bottle after the BBQ?

Follow the refrigeration and use-after-opening directions on that bottle. Do not assume another brand’s directions apply to it; consider individual cans if leftover shared drink is likely.

Are best-before and use-by dates interchangeable?

No. The Food Standards Agency explains that a use-by date relates to food safety, while a best-before date relates to quality. Read the date type on the drink you buy and follow its storage instructions.

Can I assume an apple-flavoured drink has no sweeteners?

No. Apple-flavoured soft drinks and juice-based drinks can have different ingredient lists. Check the exact variant’s label for sweeteners rather than relying on its flavour or brand name.