Who is choosing?

Black-coffee drinkers seeking a robust cup

Look for the exact blend’s stated intensity, roast or flavour description. A jar’s weight alone tells you nothing about how the coffee is intended to taste.

Shoppers who need the exact blend

If roast, decaf status or jar format matters, check the selected variant and your substitution preferences before checkout.

Caffeine-conscious coffee drinkers

Treat flavour intensity and caffeine content as separate questions. Check the exact pack’s decaffeinated designation when choosing a decaf option.

What should you check before ordering?

Choose a flavour profile first, then check whether the grocer can deliver the exact pack you selected.

Priority What to check Your needs
Flavour intensity Check the named blend, its roast description and any brand-specific intensity rating. Do not read an intensity number as a caffeine measurement or a cross-brand scale. I want a robust-tasting cup, so I need to know what the maker means by “intense” for this particular coffee.
Exact variant Check the full product name, pack weight and decaf designation. At checkout, review whether the retailer may substitute an unavailable item. If only this blend or a decaffeinated version will do, I do not want a different coffee delivered in its place.
Delivery availability Check the product’s status for your delivery order and review any alternative offered before accepting it. Sainsbury’s says shoppers can set substitution preferences and refuse a substitute at delivery. I need the coffee for this order, rather than relying on a product that may be replaced or unavailable.
Pack and ingredients Check whether you selected a jar, tin or refill, and read the delivered pack when ingredients or allergens matter. Tesco notes that food formulations and allergen information can change. I want the format I intended to order, and I need to check the current label when an ingredient matters to me.

What can catch you out?

  • Reading “strong” as a caffeine figure

    An intensity label describes a product’s intended flavour profile; it does not state how much caffeine a cup contains.

    If caffeine intake matters, check the exact product and its decaffeinated designation rather than choosing by roast or intensity wording.

  • Accepting a substitute without checking it

    A replacement could have a different roast, decaf status, format or ingredient list. Sainsbury’s says it may offer substitutes for unavailable goods unless the shopper has asked otherwise.

    Set your substitution preference before checkout. If an alternative is offered, check what it is before accepting it; Sainsbury’s says shoppers may refuse a substitute at delivery.

  • Relying on an earlier ingredient list

    Ingredients and allergen information can change when a food product is reformulated, as Tesco warns on its grocery listing.

    Read the label on the delivered jar or refill whenever an allergen or ingredient restriction is relevant.

Which brand ranges are relevant?

Kenco

Kenco provides stated intensity ratings for two distinct instant-coffee blends.

  • Kenco GB rates Rich at intensity 9 and Gold Indulgence at intensity 8 within its range.
  • Those numbers are not caffeine figures or a universal scale for comparing other brands.

Nescafé

Azera Americano Intense is an option for shoppers interested in an Americano-style instant blend.

  • Nescafé UK & IE describes its recipe as combining instant coffee with finely ground Arabica and Robusta coffee.
  • Check the full variant name and pack weight: an Azera product name alone does not identify every version.

Carte Noire

The Intense 100g product is described by Sainsbury’s as a dark-roast Arabica and Robusta blend.

  • Its dark-roast description gives shoppers a specific flavour profile to assess.
  • Sainsbury’s marked the product out of stock on 2 October 2026; check availability for your order.

Douwe Egberts

Pure Gold Medium Roast offers a different stated profile from products labelled Intense.

  • A Sainsbury’s listing labels the 400g Pure Gold Medium Roast product strength 3.
  • Check the exact pack and variant rather than applying that 400g listing’s rating to every Pure Gold product.

Tesco Finest

Tesco lists a Finest Intenso Barista Style Instant Coffee 100g for shoppers considering an intenso-labelled blend.

  • The product name identifies both the Intenso variant and its 100g pack.
  • Check its own product information rather than equating “Intenso” with another maker’s numbered intensity rating.

Joybuy instant coffee options

These Joybuy options are instant coffees with Intense, Dark Roast or a stated Kenco intensity in their product information. Compare the exact variant and pack before choosing for a grocery order.

Kenco Millicano Americano Intense 95g tin

Kenco Millicano Americano Intense 95g Tin

The 95g tin is labelled Americano Intense. Check its flavour description against the sort of cup you want; the word “Intense” does not specify caffeine content.

View on Joybuy
Costa Instant Intense Dark Roast 100g

Costa Instant Intense Dark Roast 100g

The 100g product is explicitly labelled Dark Roast and Intense. Check the exact pack if that roast description is central to your choice.

View on Joybuy
NESCAFÉ Azera Americano Intense 90g

NESCAFÉ Azera Americano Intense 90g

This 90g Americano Intense product may interest shoppers considering that Azera flavour style. If you need decaf, confirm the decaffeinated designation on the exact pack before ordering; “Intense” does not establish caffeine content.

View on Joybuy
L'OR Intense Coffee 150g

L'OR Intense Coffee 150g

The 150g pack is named Intense Coffee. Check the preparation directions and flavour description for the exact product when deciding whether it matches your preferred cup.

View on Joybuy
Kenco Gold Indulgence Instant Coffee 195g

Kenco Gold Indulgence Instant Coffee 195g

Kenco GB rates Gold Indulgence at intensity 8 within its range; the selected product is named as a 195g instant coffee. Check the exact jar’s identity and ingredients before ordering.

Purchase link unavailable

Frequently asked questions

Does a higher instant-coffee intensity number mean more caffeine?

Do not use an intensity number to calculate caffeine content. Kenco GB rates Rich at 9 and Gold Indulgence at 8 as descriptions within its own range; check caffeine information separately when it matters to your choice.

How can I order a strong coffee without receiving a substitute?

Set your substitution preference before checkout if the exact blend or variant is essential. Sainsbury’s says it may offer alternatives for unavailable goods unless you have asked it not to, and that shoppers may refuse a substitute at delivery.

Can I rely on an online ingredient or allergen description?

Use the online description to assess a product, but check the delivered pack when ingredients or allergens matter. Tesco warns that food products may be reformulated and their ingredient and allergen information may change.

Is a less intense coffee the same as a decaffeinated one?

No: a flavour intensity label does not identify a coffee as decaffeinated. Check the exact pack for a decaf designation. For pregnancy, NHS guidance sets a limit of 200mg of caffeine a day from all sources, so flavour wording is not a way to assess that total.