Who is choosing the wraps?

Families comparing white and brown wraps

For a dinner with several diners, compare the flours listed, fibre per 100g and number of wraps in the pack. A blended name does not tell you the wrap’s fibre content.

Shoppers comparing fibre figures

Check the stated fibre and salt figures on the particular pack, then look at its per-wrap information to plan the portions you will serve.

Households serving a gluten-free diner

The wheat-based wraps in this comparison are not suitable substitutes for a gluten-free wrap. Check a separately labelled product and its current packaging, as well as the fillings.

What should you compare?

Start with the type of flour you want, then compare nutrition figures on the same basis and check whether the wraps will suit your planned portions.

Priority What to check Your needs
Flour blend Read the flour ingredients on the exact pack. Compare declared fibre per 100g; a blend’s name does not specify its flour proportions. I want white and wholemeal flour in the same wrap, without assuming that every blend has the same composition or fibre figure.
Fibre and salt Compare fibre and salt per 100g on like-for-like labels, then check the figures for the wrap you intend to serve. Tesco Groceries lists 8.3g fibre per 100g for its examined wholemeal eight-pack and 3.7g for its examined plain white eight-pack. If fibre matters to my choice, I want the figure for this particular wrap rather than a judgement based on whether it looks brown or white.
Portions Check both pack count and individual wrap weight or serving information. Follow the chosen pack’s directions if serving the wraps warm. I need enough wraps of a suitable size for the diners and fillings; an eight-pack does not, by count alone, tell me how much each person will be served.
Suitability and storage Check current ingredients and allergen information for each diner. If wraps will remain, follow that pack’s after-opening, freezing and defrosting instructions. Someone at dinner needs a suitable alternative to wheat-based wraps, or I need to keep the unused wraps for another meal.

Common buying mistakes

  • Treating “brown” or “best of both” as a fibre figure

    The examined blended wraps have different declared fibre figures, so the description alone cannot settle a fibre comparison.

    Read the ingredients and compare fibre in grams per 100g on the exact packs. Check salt alongside it.

  • Assuming eight wraps provide more dinner than six

    Pack count does not show the size of each wrap or whether it suits the intended fillings and portions.

    Check the individual wrap weight or serving information as well as the count.

    If the wraps are too small for the portions planned, another pack may be needed.

  • Serving a wheat-based blend as a gluten-free alternative

    The examined Mission and M&S blends contain wheat, so they do not meet a need to avoid wheat-containing wraps.

    Choose a separately labelled gluten-free product for that diner and check its current packaging and the fillings.

Brand and product-line references

These examples show why the name of a wrap is a starting point, not a substitute for comparing the particular pack’s label.

Mission

Mission Deli Wheat & White is a six-pack of wheat-flour wraps with wholemeal flour listed in the Tesco Groceries product description.

  • The examined pack declares 3.3g fibre and 0.78g salt per 100g as sold.
  • It contains wheat; the blended name does not specify a fixed flour ratio.

M&S

M&S describes its Wholemeal Tortilla Wraps as a blend of white and wholemeal flour.

  • The examined product page declares 7.2g fibre and 0.93g salt per 100g.
  • It contains wheat. M&S gives a two-day period after opening and advises checking the product packaging for current information.

Tesco

The examined Tesco own-label products include separate wholemeal and plain white eight-packs.

  • Tesco Groceries lists 8.3g fibre per 100g for the wholemeal pack and 3.7g for the plain white pack, both as sold.
  • Their listed salt figures also differ: 0.79g and 0.98g per 100g respectively. These figures describe those packs, not every Tesco wrap.

Sainsbury's

The examined Sainsbury's Wholemeal Tortilla Wraps come in an eight-wrap pack.

  • Sainsbury's lists 10.1g fibre per 100g on a cooked-as-instructed basis.
  • Do not rank that cooked figure directly against other products’ as-sold figures; check the pack’s allergen information too.

ASDA

The examined ASDA own-label products include wholemeal and Classico plain flour eight-packs.

  • ASDA lists 8.5g fibre per 100g for the examined wholemeal product and 1.9g for the Classico plain flour product.
  • Both list wheat. The figures do not describe the entire ASDA wrap range.

Old El Paso

Old El Paso Whole Wheat Tortillas are an eight-pack whole-wheat option, rather than a stated white-and-wholemeal blend.

  • Old El Paso lists 68% whole wheat flour, 5.5g fibre and 1.05g salt per 100g as sold for this product.
  • Old El Paso advises using the physical pack if its information differs from the online listing.

A gluten-free Joybuy option

This listed option is for a diner who needs a gluten-free tortilla alongside the wheat-based choices discussed above. Check the current pack and fillings for that diner’s requirements.

Old El Paso Gluten Free Tortilla Wraps 216g pack

Old El Paso Gluten Free Tortilla Wraps 216g

A gluten-free wrap option for a family dinner with a diner who needs to avoid the wheat-based wraps in this comparison. The pack is labelled 216g; check its current ingredients and allergen information before serving.

View on Joybuy

Questions about choosing and using wraps

Does a blended wrap’s name tell me how much wholemeal flour it contains?

No fixed proportion follows from “Wheat & White” or a general description of a blend. Read the ingredients on the exact pack and compare its declared fibre figure rather than assigning it an unstated wholemeal percentage.

Do tortilla wraps need heating before filling?

Check the chosen pack: Tesco says its examined wholemeal wraps can be eaten hot or cold, while the examined Mission Wheat & White pack gives pan, grill and microwave directions. Use the instructions for the product you serve.

How should I keep wraps left after dinner?

Follow the particular pack’s instructions. The examined Mission Wheat & White listing says to re-close the pack and use the wraps within two days; the examined Tesco wholemeal listing says to refrigerate after opening and consume within two days. Check that product’s directions before freezing or defrosting wraps.

What if a diner needs to avoid gluten or wheat?

Do not substitute the wheat-based white, blended or wholemeal examples for a suitable alternative. Check a separately labelled product’s current ingredients and allergen information for the person concerned, and check the fillings as well.

Does a best-before date mean wraps become unsafe that day?

No. UK government guidance says best-before dates concern quality, whereas use-by dates concern safety. Follow the wrap pack’s storage instructions and check any filling separately.