What should you check?
Choose the format for the meal first, then check whether the pack size and storage instructions fit your plans.
| Priority | What to check | Your needs |
| Wrap format |
Look for an explicit large, XL or burrito-wrap description. Mission Wraps UK specifies 30 cm for its Original XL wrap; Old El Paso UK describes its large flour tortillas for burritos and fajitas. Neither description measures thickness or strength. |
I want one wrap that I can fold around a substantial dinner filling, so I would check its stated format rather than rely on ‘thick cut’. |
| Pack size |
Check the number of wraps and the stated pack weight. Tesco Groceries lists a six-pack of burrito wraps, while Sainsbury’s describes an eight-wrap, 512 g wholemeal pack; those details do not make the wraps equivalent in size. |
For several dinners, I need a pack count that matches how often I expect to use wraps. |
| Storage |
Read the exact pack’s instructions for resealing, use after opening and freezing. Ocado’s Mission XL listing says to reseal and use the wraps within two days of opening. |
If I am cooking for one, I need to know whether I can use the opened pack in time or store portions as directed. |
| Ingredients |
Check the current ingredients and allergen declaration for the chosen variant. Waitrose & Partners identifies wheat flour in its large tortilla wraps; a different wrap needs its own label check. |
When wheat or gluten matters to me, I cannot assume that a change of brand or wrap format makes the product suitable. |
Brand and range references
These range details help distinguish wrap formats; they do not establish which brand makes the thickest wrap.
Tesco
Tesco Groceries lists burrito wraps alongside other plain and wholemeal wrap options.
- Its listed burrito-wrap option comes in a six-pack.
- The listing does not establish a measured thickness for comparing it with other wraps.
Mission
Mission Wraps UK describes Original XL Wraps as a six-count, 30 cm format for large burritos.
- The stated diameter gives shoppers a specific size to check against their meal plans.
- The brand’s size specification is not a test of thickness or strength.
Old El Paso
Old El Paso UK describes its Large Soft Flour Tortillas for burritos and fajitas, while its Extra Thin tortillas are a separate product.
- The large flour-tortilla page specifies six tortillas at 58 g each.
- The separately sold Extra Thin product is described by the brand as its thinnest tortilla, so its name does not meet a search for a thicker wrap.
Sainsbury’s
Sainsbury’s describes an eight-wrap, 512 g wholemeal tortilla pack.
- The product description identifies wheat tortillas made with wholemeal flour.
- That description alone does not establish the diameter or thickness of each wrap.
Joybuy wrap options
These Joybuy options are a flour tortilla pack and a gluten-free tortilla pack. Compare their labelled formats with your filling and ingredient needs; neither title identifies a large, XL or thick-cut wrap.
No image available
Old El Paso Flour Tortillas 326g
For a student dinner using flour tortillas, check the pack’s wrap count, dimensions and storage directions against your meal plans. This is the 326g variant; its title does not specify a large or thick-cut format.
View on Joybuy
No image available
Old El Paso Gluten Free Tortilla Wraps 216g
This 216g gluten-free variant is an option to investigate when ingredients determine your choice. Check the current pack’s allergen information and wrap dimensions; its title does not specify a large or thick-cut format.
View on Joybuy
Questions about tortilla wraps
Does ‘thick cut’ tell me which tortilla wrap will hold more filling?
No measured thickness or filling capacity follows from that phrase alone. Mission Wraps UK specifies a 30 cm XL wrap, and Old El Paso UK describes large flour tortillas for burritos, but those product descriptions are not strength tests. Check a stated format that suits your meal rather than treating size as proof of thickness.
Which wrap format should I consider for a substantial burrito?
Start with an explicitly large or XL wrap when you need room to fold around substantial fillings. Mission Wraps UK positions its 30 cm Original XL wrap for large burritos, while Old El Paso UK describes its large flour tortillas for burritos and fajitas; neither statement guarantees that a wrap will hold a particular amount without tearing.
Should I warm a tortilla before folding it?
Follow the warming directions on the exact pack you buy. Heating methods and timings can differ between products, so do not transfer one wrap’s instructions to another or heat it in its packaging unless the pack directs you to do so.
What should I check if I need to avoid wheat or gluten?
Read the current pack’s ingredients, allergen advice and any relevant gluten-free claim for the exact variant. Waitrose & Partners identifies wheat flour in its large wraps, and Mission’s XL flour wraps are also wheat-containing examples; a different product needs its own check.
How do I choose a pack for several student dinners?
Match the wrap count to the meals you plan to make, then read the storage instructions before opening it. For example, Ocado’s Mission XL listing says to reseal and use the opened pack within two days; use the directions on your chosen pack rather than assuming every wrap has the same period.