Who this setup suits

Hybrid workers with a work and personal laptop

You alternate between an employer-managed laptop and a personal laptop at one desk and want the same screens and core peripherals without assuming the work device permits drivers or charging through a dock. The Office for National Statistics reported that 28% of working adults in Great Britain hybrid worked between January and March 2025.

Owners of older or USB-A-only laptops

You need an external-display route for a laptop without display-capable USB-C, so it is important to distinguish a graphics-enabled USB dock from an ordinary USB hub and to check software support.

Two-computer users needing quick handover

You move between two computers repeatedly during the day and want the same monitors, keyboard and mouse to follow the active computer. A correctly specified dual-monitor KVM may be more relevant than a dock intended for one host.

Buying priorities

Start with what each laptop can output, then decide whether one-cable docking or quick two-computer switching matters more for your desk routine.

Priority What to check Your needs
Independent displays Check each laptop’s maximum external-display count, video-capable ports, and supported resolution and refresh rate. Match dock or KVM outputs to the inputs on your monitors. I need both laptops to extend across the required screens, rather than duplicate one image.
One-cable connection Confirm the host port supports the required display protocol, and check the dock, cable and power-delivery requirements together. USB-IF notes that a USB4 connection operates at the best mutual capability of the connected devices. I want monitors, keyboard, mouse and possibly power through one connection, but it needs to work with both laptops.
Older-laptop support Look for explicitly stated USB graphics or DisplayLink support, compatible operating systems, and the required driver or app. Check whether employer IT permits installation on a managed device. An older or USB-A laptop still needs a realistic display route; an ordinary USB hub is not enough evidence that it can add extended displays.
Switching workflow Check the KVM’s host ports, monitor outputs and USB peripheral ports for the exact one- or two-monitor arrangement. For monitor-led setups, confirm whether the model has USB KVM rather than input switching alone. I need to decide whether one-action switching for screens, keyboard and mouse is worth extra hardware, or whether separate peripherals and changing monitor inputs are enough.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Buying a USB-C dock because the plug fits

    A USB-C-shaped port does not by itself confirm native display output, the number of extended displays available or laptop charging. USB-IF explains that USB4 connections scale to the best mutual capability of the devices involved.

    Check each laptop’s exact model documentation for video output, external-display limits and charging support, then match those limits to the dock, cable and monitors.

  • Using an HDMI splitter for two independent desktops

    A splitter duplicates the same signal rather than creating two independent displays, as Microsoft explains. It therefore does not solve a requirement for two separately extended monitors.

    For independent displays, verify that the laptop or graphics hardware and the chosen dock, graphics-enabled adapter or KVM explicitly support the required number of extended screens.

  • Assuming a USB-A graphics dock is driver-free

    Graphics-enabled USB routes rely on supported software. Synaptics provides current DisplayLink software for Windows and macOS, but managed work laptops may restrict installation or require an approved package.

    Ask employer IT before buying, then check the dock maker’s supported operating systems, driver or app requirements and support process for the exact model.

  • Choosing monitor input switching when you need shared USB peripherals

    Changing a monitor input can change the displayed computer without moving keyboard and mouse control. Dell distinguishes input switching from a monitor’s USB KVM function.

    Choose a KVM or a monitor with documented USB KVM when one keyboard and mouse must follow the active computer; otherwise plan for separate peripherals or manual switching.

Relevant brand references

StarTech.com

Relevant when comparing universal USB-C or USB-A docks, performance docks and dual-monitor KVM hardware for a mixed-laptop desk.

  • Its UK materials distinguish universal, driver-supported dock approaches from high-performance driverless approaches, and include dual-monitor KVM hardware.
  • Compatibility, display configuration, power requirements and cable requirements remain specific to the chosen model and host laptop.

Dell

Relevant for a monitor-centred desk arrangement, particularly when considering multi-PC connectivity, hub monitors or a monitor with integrated KVM features.

  • Dell’s UK product pages describe selected monitors with multi-PC connectivity, USB-C or Thunderbolt connections, power delivery and USB KVM functionality.
  • Dell states that input switching on a monitor without USB KVM does not share one keyboard and mouse; these features must be confirmed model by model.

Lenovo

Relevant when the work laptop is Lenovo and manufacturer-specific compatibility documentation or a supported-dock list is available.

  • Synaptics lists Lenovo among brands using DisplayLink DL-6000-series technology in products, making it a useful ecosystem to investigate for DisplayLink-based setups.
  • That chipset supplier information does not confirm that a particular Lenovo dock will work with every Lenovo or non-Lenovo laptop.

Joybuy product options

Joybuy product options for the USB-C docking route: these are intended for connecting one compatible USB-C laptop to monitors and desk peripherals. They do not replace a KVM where two-host switching is required.

Targus USB-C Universal Dual HDMI 4K Docking Station

Targus USB-C Universal Dual HDMI 4K Docking Station with 100W Power Delivery Pass-Thru

Designed for a compatible USB-C laptop that needs two external displays and desk peripherals through one host connection.

The listing states two HDMI 2.0 outputs at 4K/60Hz, USB-A ports, Gigabit Ethernet and up to 100W USB-C Power Delivery pass-through.

Confirm USB-C DisplayPort Alt Mode, the laptop’s two-display limit, charging requirements, power adapter details and cable compatibility. This dock is not stated to provide two-host KVM switching.

Joybuy
USB-C dock with two HDMI ports and DisplayPort

USB-C Dock with 2 HDMI, DisplayPort, USB, Ethernet and SD/TF

A multi-display desk connection for one USB-C-equipped laptop, with ports for common peripherals and network access.

The listing states two HDMI outputs, one DisplayPort, USB-A ports, RJ45 Ethernet, SD/TF card slots, audio and Power Delivery pass-through.

Check the laptop’s display protocol and external-display limit, the dock’s Power Delivery input, charger inclusion, and the supported simultaneous HDMI and DisplayPort modes at your intended resolution and refresh rate. It is not stated to be a KVM.

Joybuy

Frequently asked questions

How do I check whether a laptop can run two extended monitors before buying a dock?

Find the exact laptop model in its manufacturer documentation and check its maximum simultaneous external displays, supported resolution and refresh rate, and which physical port carries video. Microsoft notes that a splitter duplicates a signal rather than creating independent extended desktops.

Does a USB-C port automatically support an external monitor and laptop charging?

No. USB-C is a connector system that can support different functions, and USB4 can carry data and display protocols while operating at the best mutual capability of connected devices. Check the laptop, dock, cable and power-delivery specifications before expecting video or charging.

Can a USB-A laptop use two external monitors?

Potentially, but only through a specifically graphics-enabled USB solution with supported software; an ordinary USB hub does not establish display capability. DisplayLink technology is used in docks and adapters, but check the exact dock, USB connection, operating system and employer driver policy.

When is a KVM better than switching monitor inputs manually?

Use a KVM when one action should move the same keyboard, mouse and one or two displays between computers. If you only change a monitor’s video input, you may still need separate peripherals or a separate USB switch; Dell states that input switching without USB KVM cannot share one keyboard and mouse.

What UK compliance information should I check for a mains-powered dock or monitor?

For products placed on the Great Britain market, GOV.UK says CE marking continues to be recognised alongside or in place of UKCA marking where applicable. This applies to England, Scotland and Wales, so do not automatically apply the same conclusion to Northern Ireland; prefer a traceable seller and manufacturer documentation, especially for a dock supplied with a mains power adapter.