Vegan shoppers comparing calories
If vegan suitability is a requirement, compare products with an explicit vegan statement on a like-for-like per-100g basis before considering the calories in your intended portion.
For vegan shopping, start with an explicit vegan suitability statement, then compare kcal per 100g and the amount you expect to eat. Pipers Crisps lists 514 kcal per 100g for its vegan-labelled Upton Cheyney Jalapeño & Dill crisps, against 516 kcal per 100g for the vegan-labelled KETTLE Lightly Salted and Seabrook Sea Salted examples; the difference is small, so pack size matters. Walkers Oven Baked Sea Salt lists 438 kcal per 100g, but its product page states vegetarian suitability rather than vegan suitability.
If vegan suitability is a requirement, compare products with an explicit vegan statement on a like-for-like per-100g basis before considering the calories in your intended portion.
If the amount eaten at one time is your main concern, a labelled single-bag figure can be more useful than the per-100g figure alone. Seabrook Crisps lists 164 kcal for its 31.8g Sea Salted bag.
If an allergen is relevant to you, read the ingredient and precautionary allergen information separately from the vegan statement. GOV.UK explains that vegan labelling does not guarantee the absence of animal-origin allergens through cross-contact.
Check vegan suitability first, use kcal per 100g to compare different packs, then look at how much of the pack you intend to eat.
| Priority | What to check | Your needs |
|---|---|---|
| Vegan suitability | Look for an explicit statement on the current pack or manufacturer page. Check ingredients and precautionary allergen wording separately. | I want a potato crisp identified as suitable for vegans, rather than assuming a vegetarian label or a particular flavour means the same thing. |
| Calorie comparison | Compare kcal per 100g between products. Read energy and salt as separate figures; a low-salt name does not establish a lower calorie figure. | If I am choosing between different bag sizes, I want the same comparison basis before deciding which crisp has fewer calories per 100g. |
| Portion size | Check the pack weight and any kcal-per-bag or per-serving figure. The NHS notes that a manufacturer’s serving size may differ from the amount you eat. | A single-bag figure helps me plan one snack; with a sharing bag, I need to consider the portion I will actually have. |
A small bag can have fewer calories in total without changing the crisps’ energy per 100g. Seabrook Crisps lists 164 kcal per 31.8g Sea Salted bag and 516 kcal per 100g.
Compare kcal per 100g first, then choose a pack size or portion that fits the amount you intend to eat.
Walkers UK describes Oven Baked Sea Salt as suitable for vegetarians, not vegans. Vegan suitability and allergen information also answer different questions.
Look for a current explicit vegan statement, and check ingredients and precautionary allergen wording separately where relevant.
Tyrrells lists 0.06g salt and 519 kcal per 100g for Naked (no salt). The salt figure does not describe its calorie content, and the product page does not state vegan suitability.
Check energy, salt and vegan suitability independently on the product label.
A per-100g figure will not tell you the calories in the amount you eat. The NHS cautions that labelled serving sizes may differ from your own portion.
Check the bag weight and decide what portion you intend to eat before using a per-serving figure.
These examples concern specific products and labels, not every flavour made by each brand.
Sea Salted offers an explicitly vegan-labelled potato crisp with a stated single-bag calorie figure.
Lightly Salted is stated by KETTLE Chips to be suitable for vegans and vegetarians.
Upton Cheyney Jalapeño & Dill is a flavoured potato crisp that Pipers Crisps states is suitable for vegans.
Oven Baked Sea Salt provides a calorie comparison, but its product page does not confirm vegan suitability.
Naked (no salt) illustrates why salt, calories and vegan suitability need separate checks.
REAL Veg Crisps are stated to be suitable for vegans, but they are a vegetable-crisp product rather than a potato-crisp example.
These potato-crisp options include flavoured 150g bags and a 130g lightly salted bag. Check the current pack’s vegan statement, kcal per 100g and portion information for the one you are considering.
Image unavailable
The 150g bag makes the amount you serve relevant to a calorie comparison. Check the current pack for its vegan statement, kcal per 100g and portion information.
Image unavailable
The product name identifies this as a vegan-flavoured option in a 150g bag. Read the current vegan and nutrition labelling, then consider the portion you intend to eat.
Image unavailable
For a lightly salted potato crisp, KETTLE Chips states that Lightly Salted is suitable for vegans and lists 516 kcal per 100g. This listing is for a 130g bag, so check the amount you intend to eat and the current pack’s allergen information.
Look for an explicit vegan statement on the current pack or manufacturer page, then read the ingredients and precautionary allergen wording. GOV.UK explains that vegan labelling does not guarantee the absence of animal-origin allergens through cross-contact.
No. GOV.UK explains that vegan labelling does not guarantee the absence of animal-origin allergens through cross-contact. If milk is an allergen you need to avoid, check the product’s current allergen and precautionary information rather than relying on the vegan statement alone.
Use kcal per 100g to compare crisps sold in different pack sizes, then use the per-bag or per-serving figure for the amount you expect to eat. The NHS notes that a manufacturer’s serving size may differ from your portion.
Not necessarily. Tyrrells lists 0.06g salt per 100g for Naked (no salt), alongside 519 kcal per 100g. Read the energy and salt figures separately.
No: a vegetarian statement alone does not confirm vegan suitability. Walkers UK describes Oven Baked Sea Salt as suitable for vegetarians but does not state vegan suitability on the cited product page, so check the current pack for an explicit vegan statement.