Who this setup advice suits

Regular hybrid and home-based laptop workers

For people using a laptop at home daily or for sustained sessions and deciding whether their display and input arrangement is adequate. The Health and Safety Executive notes that DSE rules can apply to permanent, long-term and hybrid home workers; the Office for National Statistics reported that 28% of working adults in Great Britain hybrid worked between January and March 2025.

Laptop users who need the screen raised

If your current laptop position makes a workable screen height difficult while typing, consider a riser with a separate keyboard and mouse, or a separate display. Health and Safety Executive guidance links raising a laptop screen with separating the keyboard and mouse.

Home workers using employer-provided equipment

For employees distinguishing an assessed equipment need from a personal preference. The Health and Safety Executive says an assessment should consider the individual, the workstation and the work being done.

What to prioritise

Work through screen and input position first, then confirm that the chosen display, cables and mounting arrangement fit your laptop and desk.

Priority What to check Your needs
Independent screen and input position Check whether the screen can be raised while the keyboard and mouse remain separately positioned. For a raised laptop, allow space for an external keyboard and mouse. I need to place the display separately from the typing and pointing devices during prolonged laptop work.
The whole workstation Consider screen adjustment, input devices, desk space, lighting, work routine and individual requirements together. For an arm, check the VESA pattern, monitor-only weight, arm rating and fixing surface. I need the final arrangement to work with my desk and the way I use it, not just a promising feature on one product.
Display and cable compatibility Match the laptop video output to the monitor input. Check USB-C display support, charging wattage, cable requirements and whether the computer can drive the intended resolution. I want to avoid buying a monitor or cable that cannot provide the display connection or charging arrangement I need.

Common buying pitfalls

  • Raising the laptop but continuing to use its built-in keyboard and trackpad

    The screen and built-in input devices move together. For prolonged laptop use, Health and Safety Executive guidance links elevating the screen with using a separate keyboard and mouse.

    If you choose a laptop riser for regular work, plan for a separate keyboard and mouse and sufficient desk space for both.

  • Assuming a USB-C monitor will replace every cable and charge any laptop

    USB-C video capability, power-delivery wattage and included cables vary by exact monitor and may not match the laptop.

    Compare the laptop’s USB-C video and charging specifications with the monitor’s exact input and power-delivery specification before purchase.

    A separate USB-C cable may be required; LG states that the USB-C cable for its 27U631A-B monitor is sold separately.

  • Treating monitor size as proof that an arm or stand will fit

    Mounting compatibility depends on the VESA pattern, monitor-only weight, arm rating and fixing surface, not diagonal screen size alone.

    Record the monitor’s VESA pattern and monitor-only weight, then compare them with the arm’s per-screen rating and the desk or wall installation requirements.

    An incompatible mounting arrangement may require different hardware or installation work.

  • Assuming an employer must provide a standard home-office bundle

    The Health and Safety Executive says equipment needs depend on the individual, the workstation and the work. Some home workers may not need office-type equipment, while existing equipment may be unsuitable for others.

    If you are covered by the relevant DSE requirements, use the employer’s individual assessment process to determine what equipment is needed.

Relevant brand references

Dell

Dell is relevant for buyers seeking a conventional adjustable home-office monitor with a defined business-monitor specification. Dell UK lists the Pro 27 Plus QHD USB-C Hub Monitor P2725DE as a 27-inch 2560 × 1440 IPS model with height and pivot adjustment.

  • Its stated height and pivot adjustment can be relevant where independent screen positioning and QHD workspace are priorities.
  • Check the laptop’s video output and USB-C charging compatibility before relying on hub or power features.

LG

LG is relevant when comparing standard QHD USB-C monitors with more adjustable Ergo-style models. LG UK lists the 27U631A-B with USB-C power delivery up to 15W, while its DualUp 28MQ780-B has a clamp-mounted adjustable stand and USB-C power delivery up to 90W.

  • The range illustrates that charging level and physical adjustment can differ substantially between exact models.
  • LG states that the 27U631A-B USB-C cable is sold separately, and its 15W power delivery may not meet every laptop’s charging needs.

BenQ

BenQ is relevant for screen-intensive text and coding workflows. BenQ UK presents the RD280U as a 28-inch 3840 × 2560 programming monitor with coding modes and a low-reflection Nano Matte panel.

  • Its stated display characteristics may suit buyers looking for a specialised programming-monitor line.
  • BenQ’s claims about coding clarity, focus and eye-strain reduction are brand claims; a monitor does not replace checking workstation position, input layout and individual requirements.

Joybuy product options

Joybuy external-monitor options for a regular home laptop workstation. Confirm your laptop’s display output, cable requirements and desk arrangement before choosing.

iiyama ProLite XUB2792UHSU-B6 27-inch 4K monitor

iiyama ProLite XUB2792UHSU-B6 27-inch 4K monitor

For regular laptop work needing a separately positioned external display.

Stated specifications include a 27-inch 4K display, HDMI, DisplayPort and USB-C inputs, plus 150 mm height adjustment, pivot, swivel and tilt.

Confirm laptop video output, USB-C functions and required cables. A separate keyboard and mouse may still be needed when positioning the screen independently.

Joybuy
CRUA 32-inch curved QHD monitor

CRUA 32-inch curved QHD monitor

For a home setup needing a larger separate display and possible future mounting options.

Stated specifications include a 32-inch 2560 × 1440 screen, dual HDMI and dual DisplayPort inputs, tilt adjustment and VESA 100 × 100 mm mounting.

Height adjustment is not stated. Before using an arm, check monitor-only weight, arm rating and desk or wall fixing suitability.

Joybuy
LG 32UN650K 32-inch 4K IPS monitor

LG 32UN650K 32-inch 4K IPS monitor

For regular laptop work needing a large independently positioned 4K display.

It states a 32-inch 4K IPS panel, two HDMI inputs, DisplayPort, tilt adjustment, VESA 100 × 100 mm compatibility and built-in speakers.

Only tilt adjustment is stated for the supplied stand. Check desk clearance, laptop output capability and suitable cable availability.

Joybuy
KOORUI MB27V29FS2 27-inch IPS monitor

KOORUI MB27V29FS2 27-inch IPS monitor

For a regular home arrangement needing an external display with common video connections.

Stated features include a 27-inch IPS anti-glare panel, HDMI and VGA inputs, tilt adjustment and VESA 100 × 100 mm mounting.

Confirm that the laptop has a compatible HDMI or VGA output and that an appropriate cable is available. Independent height adjustment is not stated.

Joybuy
Gawfolk 24.5-inch FHD curved monitor

Gawfolk 24.5-inch FHD curved monitor

For a compact external-display route using HDMI or VGA with a compatible laptop or PC.

It states a 24.5-inch Full HD curved display, HDMI and VGA inputs, tilt adjustment, built-in speakers and a 100 Hz refresh rate.

Check the exact VESA mounting pattern before choosing an arm, as the supplied product information gives differing mounting details. Height, pivot and swivel adjustment are not stated.

Joybuy

Frequently asked questions

Do UK DSE requirements automatically mean I need an external monitor at home?

No. The Health and Safety Executive says DSE rules can apply to long-term and hybrid home workers who use DSE daily for continuous periods of an hour or more, but an individual assessment determines whether existing equipment is suitable and what action is needed. Workers may not need office-type equipment at home to achieve a comfortable, sustainable posture.

Can I raise my laptop on a stand and keep typing on its built-in keyboard?

For prolonged laptop use, the Health and Safety Executive advises using a separate keyboard and mouse so the laptop screen can be elevated on a riser or similar support. Raising the laptop without separating the inputs does not follow that specific setup advice.

Can an employer charge me for home-workstation equipment identified by a DSE assessment?

No. The Health and Safety Executive states that where a DSE workstation assessment indicates action is needed, such as providing DSE equipment, the worker cannot be charged. This applies to equipment indicated by the assessment, not automatically to every item a worker might prefer.

What must I check before fitting a monitor arm?

Check the monitor’s VESA mounting pattern, monitor-only weight, the arm’s per-monitor rating, the desk or wall construction, fixing requirements, movement range and cable clearance. Do not rely on screen size alone as proof of compatibility.

Does USB-C on a monitor guarantee video and charging through one cable?

No. Check the monitor’s USB-C display capability, stated power-delivery wattage, supplied or required cable, and whether the laptop supports video output and charging through that port. LG states that its 27U631A-B provides USB-C display connectivity and up to 15W power delivery, while its USB-C cable is not included.